We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“filthiest hotel I've ever stayed in--bar none” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd to your Saves list
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6435 Westwood Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #250 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“filthiest hotel I've ever stayed in--bar none”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

This Hawthorne Suites rates as the dirtiest grimiest hotel I've ever stayed in--the US and Mexico, Europe included. The front desk staff were curt and nearly surly upon checking in--perhaps because they are unhappy about the moldy smells and the dirt. The hallways and carpet leading to the elevator are fair warning that you are in a place where cleanliness is not valued. Our room was a suite on the 5th floor. The carpet in the hallway had big dirty folds in in running along the hall. The room smelled like mold and the carpet in the room was actually tacky.
After making coffee in the morning, the rings from the dirty cups were still on the sink when we came back. We would have moved but were part of a large medical conference and all the hotels near the conf. center were full. So, we suffered for 3 nights. When we left my skin was crawling--all I wanted to do was bathe and wash everything that might have been exposed to the filth in the room. When I printed out my boarding pass, I was appalled at the smears of guck on the monitor and the tacky feel of the mouse. Purell to the rescue. We shared our concerns and experiences with the front desk clerk upon leaving. He said nothing...not even an apology. Do not go to this hotel--a tent in the park would be better, cleaner and more comfortable

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    175
    123
    94
    71
See reviews for
291
71
11
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crewe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We have just returned from staying at these suites and they are in a great location,very clean and the breakfast was a good but not as much choice as you would ,if you had paid for a 'buffet breakfast'.
The receptionist was very polite and also very helpful with any issues we had.
The pool was lovely and warm but not very big,and free coffee and soft driks for the kids was on offer 24/7.
We would definitely return to these suites as they are very big and have cable t.v. as well ,in the lounge area and bedroom.

Go and try these suites they are excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

The Hotel / Suites are situated just off Westwood Boulevard about a 3 min drive to Sea World and Aquatica, great location for Int.Drive. Late booking dictated our accomadation, fearing the worst after reading reveiws etc. Pleasently supprised with the overall appearance and cleanliness of the hotel. If all you require is a base for your your vacation then this is the place. Housekeeping visit daily with clean towels bed linen and complementary toiletries etc. Breakfast is self service, basic, but offers cereals, fruit, toast coffee and juice.(Plastic cups, plates and cutlery - not the ritz, but keeps the costs down) Air con in room worked efficiently albeit a bit noisy at night.
Pool area clean lots of loungers and chairs etc. plus towels if you need them.Small gym has a treadmill, crosstrainer and weights machine, all sturdy and well maintained. Rooms clean but are let down by some of the kitchen appliances and light fittings not working.
I can understand why this place has had poor reveiews in the past , but the bottom line is this is a cheap budget hotel . However there are signs of refurbishment and improvements , new carpets, decorating and new furniture.The staff were friendly and helpful.
Overall - no frills, clean, good value for money. Ok if you dont mind compromising on a few luxurys to save a few quid !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We reserved 3 rooms and this hotel was terrible! Hawthorn Suites should be ashamed. The rooms were dirty , hair in the sheets, hair and dust on all horizontal surfaces. Old dirty carpet in all the hallways except the first floor. Playground in shambles, not safe for children. The carpet outside the bathroom was wet, from something, when we told management, their solution was a big fan to dry it. They did not offer to give us another room. We were not going to spend one night in this terrible hotel. We asked the front desk manager if he would waive our cancellation fee if we found another hotel. He said yes. We found another hotel (which was hard since everything seemed to be booked) and went to check out at 4:30 the same day we checked in. The manager I spoke with had left and the clerk at the desk said he would not waive our cancellation fee. Mind you check-in is 4:00, we were leaving at 4:30. All three families left the hotel and figured we would work later on getting our refund. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampabay
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

If you want to stay at a lower class type suite, here you have it!

Honestly, I thought from the pictures and the other reviews I have read this place would be worth it. Mind you, there are other places you can stay at for $80.00/night that is better ie. Days Inn, Best Western, and other hotels. I booked from www.bookit.com ; won't do that again. We left one night earlier because the noise from your neighbors, the banging of the doors was unbearable. For the beds, they are doubles (no queen) they are also worn out. You can feel the sinking of the mattress, not comfortble if you have a bad back.

Yes, the bathrooms are old, carpet is gross and not so clean as you would expect.
The one possitve of this was the work out room as not bad. Don't expect to watch any TV because its not clear nor was it big either. The reception of the cable was pretty bad. Don't expect to watch any news or late night show before retiring to bed.

Well, that sums it up, I hope you won't stay there. The nasty lady at the front desk won't even ask you how your stay was...she probably knows you booked it online and doesn't care.

Good luck! I know that's the last time we'll visit this hotel or use www.bookit.com; Unfortunately, you don't get your money back on any pre-paid bookings.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

Me and my family (10 of us) go out to Florida every other year or so to visit relatives. We have stayed here on many occassions, although its not really all that modern, the customer service here is excellet from the duty manager to the housekeeping girls. If they can put up with my lot they can handel anything! They were also very accomadating for my mother as she is disabled and they went out of there way to get them a closer room to reception.
Danny deserves a gold star for the work he does there. His team really do make a difference to your holiday. The location is at the furthest end of IDrive near sea world, but it is serviced on a regular basis by bus. On all our visits there we have found it to be hygienic and spotloss, just well used.

  • Liked — the customer service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new port richey, florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

This place is old and is being remodeled, but don't even stay here because this place is disguisting and not worth the money.
The bathroom shower was leaking out of the wall and all over the floor. The carpets are disgusitng and I hope watching t.v. isn't part of your plans because I think the 20 inch t.v. is the same one my great grandmother use to own and doesn't even offer cable. The breakfast is not to great either. There are so many better places to choose from, don't even bother staying here. It's sad that Hawthorn would even want their name on this one.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd

Address: 6435 Westwood Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Suites By Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd Hotel Orlando
Hawthorn Suites Orlando
Orlando Hawthorn Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Orlando, Westwood Blvd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.