We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good...If You Like Time Shares” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Vista

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott's Grande Vista to your Saves list
Marriott's Grande Vista
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 20%
Ranked #53 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blacksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good...If You Like Time Shares”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

This was our first time staying at a time share resort. After our stay here, we realized, it's not our thing. We like having our roomed cleaned everyday (the room is never cleaned here). The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but this is for people who like cooking in their room and hanging out in the room. There isn't a bar to get drinks (except for a snack bar that closes at 10pm) and the only room service is pizza for pickup. The pools were crowded and to be honest, we were bored. We wish we had stayed on-site for one of the parks to be closer to activity and places to see and do.

The high speed internet is free, which is great; however, it was not very reliable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,416
    778
    241
    112
    63
See reviews for
1,415
460
30
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Mariott Grande Vista is an excellent property sprawling with a large golf course and excellent ameneties. It is worth staying in this property with a two bed room villa and suitalble for all ages. conveniently located and with good deals you can get the room at an affordable rates

  • Liked — The room and the view
  • Disliked — The distance kills
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This was our second stay at Grande Vista. We have tried time shares at multiple places in the US and Canada and have never found any place better. We have a relatively large family, so ample space, cleanliness, variety of amenities available and value are critical to us. This place is fantastic! It has everything -- golf, tennis, swimming, boats, volleyball, arts and crafts, fitness, good dining, easy access to Sea World and Disney, etc., etc. -- and fantastic service. It is relaxing and restful without being boring ... our mix of boys and girls from elementary school through college age all love it. That rarely happens. I couldn't recommend it more, especially to families

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

My husband and I came to the resort to "get away from it all" and we sure did, the grounds are outstanding, absolutely beautiful landscaping gorgeous golf course, the resort offers all types of activities during the day from pool activities to Kareoke at their restaurant/bar, and a complimentary photograph by the resorts photographer. The rooms have jacuzzi's near the master bed and a separate bathroom and shower, perfect for two.
It's a beautiful place and one you won't be disappointed in.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

Just returned from a stay at the Grande Vista and we had a great time. We were using my dad's timeshare and since we stayed a whole week for pennies, that made it great too. We thought the resort was pretty and had nice amenities. We did other stuff during the day so it was really just a place to sleep but we did enjoy the pools and I liked not having to pay for the W/D usage. We were in a studio suite which was a little small for two adults and two tweens but the money we saved using the timeshare made up for that. It may not be the grandest of hotels but it beats a Comfort Suites. Maybe if I l owned the timeshare myself I'd be a little more picky but all I need was a clean place to sleep, close to things I wanted to do, and a nice pool to relax by and I got all of that and a little more.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

When you arrive at Marriott Grande Vista as you drive up to the main building it looks nice BUT looks are deceiving….
The first thing you notice when you walk up the stairs to your room is how dirty the corridors are. In the room there were dirty hand prints on the walls and doors. Stains on the sofa cushions, tried flipping them over and the other side was worse. The noise was unbelievable, you could hear everything that was going on around you, and I mean everything! When the people in the next room set the table you could hear the silverware and dishes being placed on the table, you could hear them washing the dishes, their conversations, their plans for the day, and at night… Well I was just glad the guy didn’t have much stamina (sorry Joe, I heard his wife call his name through what I can only assume were cardboard walls) you could hear the people in the room above walking around their room and using the bathroom. The door to our room did not close properly, you had to slam it as hard as you could to get it closed all the way and lean on it to get the lock to click. Had to call and ask for fresh towels and washcloths, they would forget the washcloths every time. Way too many people for the little amenities that were offered. I heard this place was recently remodeled but I didn’t see that. The only positives, the bed was comfortable and we had a nice view of the golf course. In a word Dump. Consider upgrading to a Motel 8.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2009

First off, the place was great. My family and I have stayed at 4 of the MVC properties in Florida. This was our second trip to Grande Vista.

The Pluses

Very clean and kid friendly. The Pools were very nice, and there always seemed to be plenty of chairs. Pond was GREAT for fishing and Tennis Courts were clay. The room had granite counter tops, and you can request the second bedroom to have 2 queen size beds. Pools were always busy. I got the sense that Grande Vista was the destination for people rather than the theme parks. But maybe that was just the economy.

The negatives.

Nothing major. Make sure you request a building close to one of the two pools. There were units that are at least a 10-15 minute walk from the pools. For how many units they have, they really need to put in a third major pool area. Maid service is 'lite' at best. Beds get made, and dishes washed, and thats it. They didn't even replace towels every day, and I didn't see them carrying vaccums. The advertise basketball and rock climbing. The rock climbing wall was open for 1 hour the entire week we were there. There is a half court basketball, but it's way off by itself. Lots of kids wanting to play. Seems like a pretty cheap addition would be duplicating the two full sport courts they have at Cypress Harbour.

Compare between Cypress Harbour and Grande Vista

Grande Vista rooms are nicer, but quite a bit smaller. The queen size beds in second bedroom is big advantage for Grande Vista. Overall I'd prefer the Grande Vista rooms.

Pools- While both are nice, my kids greatly prefer Cypress Harbour. They seemed larger and better layed out.

Grounds- Cypress Harbour hands down. They have the sportscourts, more spacious pools, minigolf, and overall just seemed nicer. You can't go wrong with either, but my kids really liked Cypress better

Both are nice properties, and much less hectic than staying at Disney. If you have 5 or more in your family, MVC is definitely the way to go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#19 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#41 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#44 Family Hotel in Orlando
#54 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 1616
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.