We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Grande Vista

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Grande Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Grande Vista
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #36 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for one week with girlfriends after obtaining the rental as a Timeshare bonus week. The last time I used a bonus week, we were demoted by the Sheraton to a tiny studio even though the reservation stated one bedroom. This time I called to verify that it was indeed a full one separate bedroom and was assured that it was. I put in a request for a newly renovated corner room on the top level, not expecting to receive, but when we arrived....Voila! Carson had done his magic! The staff could not have been nicer or more courteous and accomodating. It was very slow which I'm sure made a difference, but at least with this last stay, we will definately be back. The one bedroom was huge in comparison to other resorts, complete with granite countertops which included a sitdown bar area, living room with sleeper (my girlfriend's only complaint, that the mattress was too thin and uncomfortable), separate bedroom with jacuzzi tub and double sink area, and bathroom with walk in shower and additional sink space. Tons of storage space! The screened in balcony was very nice and used quite a bit. The room itself was spotless and completely updated. The resort is beautiful, and the pools were very nice. The whole complex was spotless. The food at the bar was very good as well. No need to leave the resort unless you are looking for a nightclub atmosphere. You must try their signature wine, Faldo, named for Nick Faldo's golf course on site. The nightly fire was nice, during the week you need to bring your own supplies for s'mores. The workout facility was adequate and the free internet access in the main lobby area was a bonus. Quite a few places to just sit and relax in pure comfort. Will definately be back to this resort. We have been to many and this is one of the tops by far. Thanks to the staff for such a nice relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,126
    612
    173
    97
    56
See reviews for
1139
349
23
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pflugerville, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, central to all of the big theme parks, especially Sea World. The amenities are good with a spa and pool are, a nice restaurant, a poolside restaurant, and a small sandwich shop and the golf course is in really good shape.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have been vacationing at this property for many years and are never disappointed. The property is huge, never crowded and always well maintained both inside and out. The grounds are impeccable. The staff that you meet around the resort are always friendly and willing to help any way they can. When something goes amiss, as they sometimes do, they always take the opportunity to turn the incident into a positive.

The golf course is always in superb condition. The facilities are fabulous for vacationing with grand-kids or children. Lots of activities to do.

Well done Marriott and the management team at the resort! I'm coming back..

Room Tip: We enjoy rooms about 1 building away from the pools. No noise from happy people at the pools. be car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port St. Lucie, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Grande Vista for six days after Labor day. Definitely the time to go since there were few children there and even the staff remarked that this was their usual slow time. We stayed in a studio with a small kitchenette which consisted of a microwave, refrigerator, and small sink. Check in was very easy and we were very impressed with the staff of the resort as a whole. Upon arriving to our room, we did notice the musty, moldy odor as reported by another reviewer. It became so bothersome that we purchased a room air freshener to attempt to counteract the smell but it did not work well. Fortunately, we did not stay in the room much. The majority of our time was spent at the pool area, which we really enjoyed. They have four different pool areas, and we were situated by the pool by the bar and grill, which was convenient. Their was a nice kids pool area on the other side of a bridge, but a lot of times we watched the children come over to the pool where more adults were, and unfortunately a lot of them were not supervised well. We had photos done by the house photographer and had a lot of fun with her and some really good shots of us. Was disappointed in the quality of the food at both the grill and and on site restaurant, both a bit pricey for the taste. The location of the resort is great, very close to SeaWorld and the convention center, but away from the heavy traffic on Internation Drive. Nice grounds to walk and beautiful golf course as well. They did not offer clean towels or to clean the room, which did not really bother us as we don't like a lot of traffice in our room. Little maintenance items that needed fixed were done promptly and satisfactorily. This resort really seems to be more in tune for children, so we likely will not go again, but we did have an enjoyable time and good memories.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is a great family hotel. There are several pools throughout the village which say open pretty late every night unless there is lightning. The rooms are very spacious and clean and the rates were very reasonable. There is also an ice cream parlor and activities for the kids to do. All theme parks are very close especially Seaworld, which is across the street. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Recently stayed at Grande Vista for the third time. Hadn't been there in a couple years. While still very nice, it is definitely showing it's age. Not so much in the rooms, but the grounds aren't kept up like they used to be. Still a cut above most, but I have to say I was somewhat disappointed.

Pro's

Nicely appointed rooms with plenty of space.
Pools are nicely kept and very family friendly.
On site 9 hole golf course is very nice and easy for kids to play.
Very nice tennis courts that were seldom used while we were there.
Close to Sea World, and grocery shopping.

Con's

Property is vastly understaffed. From the front desk, to housekeeping to the grounds crews. Long waits, and underwhelming service were the rule on this trip.
In addition to long waits at check in, the staff there were pretty dismissive. Maybe because they were so busy, but certainly didn't see any of them 'going the extra mile' for even the most basic of requests. I can honestly say that in a week staying there, we did not once feel welcome by an employee.
Be prepared for exceedingly long walks to the main pool area. Our unit was 1/3 of a mile away from the main pool. Thats fine for the adults and teens, but my 4 tear old grew weary of the hike quickly.

Marriott vacation clubs are always a trade off for my family. We love all the extra space, compared to being on site at Disney. You are a little 'further away from the action,. In the past we reconciled that loss with the fact that we were at a really nice upscale resort. This time that really nice resort wasn't quite as nice as it was in the past. We'll probably go back to staying on property at Disney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The property was fantastic! We were a family of 5 and we were all very impressed by the property. My husband's words after walking into our bedroom "Ok...I'm impressed". The kids loved the pool area! We were up the street from SeaWorld! I loved that we were close to Publix supermarket! We stayed days! Wish we could have stayed a little longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Grande Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Grande Vista

Address: 5925 Avenida Vista, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#27 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#36 Family Hotel in Orlando
#91 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Grande Vista 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to Universal Orlando®, Walt Disney World®, and SeaWorld®, this 164-acre resort features one- two- and three-bedroom Orlando golf villas and three championship golf courses. Villas overlook a scenic lake and feature spacious living and dining areas, full kitchens, washer/dryer, and a master suite with an oversized soaking tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott's Grande Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Grande Vista Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriott Vacation Club Orlando
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Marriott Grande Vista Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Grande Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.