We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want an honest hotel do not stay here!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area to your Saves list
Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Collegiate Way, Orlando, FL 32817   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #217 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want an honest hotel do not stay here!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

Our company paid for us to stay here during a visit. Supposedly there was a problem getting the proper authorization upon check in so we and them our card to swipe. Verified Friday pm that they had the info they needed to charge the company card. Guy said no problem it was taken care of. Sunday upon checkout they wanted to charge our card because they said they didn't have what they needed for company card. We told them no and were trying to reach local company person to handle this. It was still an hour before checkout and they charged our card anyway. Will never stay at another marriott again. In addition, poor value and WiFi was horrible in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCFMarriotts122, Manager at Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
I apologize for the confusion regarding your company authorization, unfortunately without a completed authorization form we are unable to charge a card not physically presented. It is our standard procedure to collect a card to cover incidentals, in this case the card was also held for the room since the form was returned to us uncompleted. As was mentioned in the Friday conversation, we had contacted the company about the need to return a completed form and we were still awaiting their response, having done what we could on our end by sending them the form and what was needed to utilize their card. As you are aware, the company did contact us the day after your departure with the needed documentation and the charges were removed from your card and placed on the company card. If you have further questions or concerns regarding this matter do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    26
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
7
2
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Went to a UCF football game. After the game we saw this courtyard hotel. We walked in without a reservation and were greeted in a very friendly manor. The rooms were inviting and exceptionally
clean. Our visit to the lounge where refreshments and food was served was very comfortable and relaxing. The staff was great and extremely accommodating. Would recommend this facility for all who travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCFMarriotts122, Manager at Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
I am glad we were able to accommodate you on a game weekend and that you enjoyed our facility as well as our services. The staff will be pleased to hear how their services made your stay inviting and relaxing. We hope you had safe return travels and to see you for future games which are certain to only get more exciting if the season continues how it has been going! Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
202 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Nicely renovated, well located, and lots of restaurants nearby. Just a really really good Courtyard. Has the bistro....and really nice rooms. I'll definitely be staying here again. It's a bit pricey though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCFMarriotts122, Manager at Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to see that you enjoyed our lobby renocation and our location. Until your next visit as our guest I wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

With 2 students at UCF we have stayed in this hotel in the past before and during the upgrades. Nice modern downstairs area, fresh and clean looking. Rooms updated also, except bathrooms. Beds a little soft for my liking, but clean and comfortable.
The staff was exceptionally friendly to work with, as some special arrangements needed to be made and were accommodated seamlessly. I am a big fan of nice towels, and this hotel was lacking in that area. Located close to the campus and tons of restaurants, and even have a UCF rate. My husband and I did not use the pool/hot tub but daughters did and enjoyed.

Room Tip: Pretty quiet hotel- did not hear other door slamming or ice machine- this visit we were on the 4th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCFMarriotts122, Manager at Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you have found our lobby renovations as being modern, fresh, and clean in appearance. I will be sure to alert the staff how you appreciated the accommodations and that they did a "seamless" job in making them happen. We appreciate your repeated business and hope that after our room renovations are completed by the end of the year that you find our rooms to not be lacking and instead to greatly enhance your stay. We look forward to having you again as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just spent a week here, and were very satisfied! Desk staff wonderful - especially Isaiah, All situations (more pillows, towels, etc, problem with a TV) were addressed and resolved with immediate attention. Housekeeping staff very efficient. Clean comfortable room which was still comfortable even with a roll-away bed, when a third person joined us. A/C was not individually controlled and was noisy -- that's our worst complaint. The room was cool enough, though.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the end of the hall so that you have people only on one side of you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCFMarriotts122, Manager at Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
I'm glad that your week staying with us was very satisfying and that you found our desk staff to be wonderful and able to address all situations promptly. I will be sure to pass along to Isaiah how you enjoyed his service and to our housekeeping staff that they were efficient, leaving clean and comfortable rooms.

As for the A/C, our rooms are individually controlled at the unit since there is no thermostat on the walls so I apologize for any. The A/Cs are limited where "Fan" mode is unable to stay On and will remain only on Auto. This is to protect both your comfort and our rooms. If the units are left On, when the room reaches your chosen temperature the cooling will stop but the fan will remain on, pulling the humid Florida air into your room. It is similar to central air in a house where units are left on Auto to decrease the humidity inside.

We hope if you return to the area that we have the opportunity to serve you again as our guest and that I have clarified any confusion regarding our A/C systems. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Lets face it. The surrounding area is dominated by chain dumps catering to the college and the poor families who have to spend time here in central Florida. The business travel must suffer with poor accommodations. I've stayed at all of these rat traps and can say with confidence that the Courtyard is the best. In fact it's quite good. Beds are fine and the place is clean.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCFMarriotts122, Manager at Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to hear that after spending time at other properties in the area that you have found our property to be the best. With our "Courtyard Refreshing Business" model we strive to maintain high standards to make even "road warrior" stays a refreshing comfort. I am glad that your stay was the best you have had in the UCF area. I wish you safe travels and hope to have you again as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Courtyards are generally a safe bet when we travel as a family, especially when not in a metropolitan area. We were visiting relatives outside of Orlando, near the University of Central Florida and needed 2 adjoining rooms for 1 night. The hotel did accommodate our request, after I pushed them to find adjoining rooms. The 1st 2 they assigned us were across the hall from each other. Rooms are good sized and have free Wi-Fi. However, both rooms smelled of mildew (lots of humidity in FL, I understand, but still - it was off-putting).
Friendly service during check-in. Provided directions to local steakhouse. Bathroom vanity area tiny. Hard to fit toiletries for 3-5 people, and the small coffee maker. No in room mini-fridge, which was disappointing to us as we had some perishable groceries.
Large common area and food service in lobby, but we did not use it, as we met family for breakfast at iHop across the street.
All in all, it was average. I would have given it a 4 - Good rating if the rooms had not smelled so bad.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UCFMarriotts122, Manager at Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
I am pleased to hear that you found our space to be sufficient. I apologize for the confusion regarding the adjoining rooms and am glad that the desk staff were able to locate a pair for you. While our rooms do not come with mini-fridges, for future reference we do have them available upon request, based on availability, to be brought to your room for the duration of your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review, we hope on your next visit that we can better accommodate your needs to make your stay even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area

Address: 12000 Collegiate Way, Orlando, FL 32817
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Orlando East/UCF Area is one of Marriott's premier East Orlando locations. The new state of the art lobby at Courtyard Orlando East provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. This East Orlando hotel features our new lobby with inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax in, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather, and airport conditions via our GOBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is the Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect. which provides guests with healthy food and beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Orlando East / Ucf Hotel Orlando
Orlando Marriott
Orlando Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Orlando East/UCF Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.