We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal base for universal and peace and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7110 South Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early - Save 15%
Ranked #77 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“ideal base for universal and peace and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Hotel ideal for peace and quiet and universal. We loved the 24hour coffee. Room disappointing, small wardrobe and 3 draws for a family of 4. not dust free, but bedding and bathroom clean and that's all we needed the room for. But after a day into our holiday the floor felt wet from a/c unit. cleaner surprising never noticed. after a couple more days the wetness had travelled a few feet, so mentioned to reception staff who sent a maintenance engineer up. Of which the maintenance engineer arranged for us to change rooms as was a health hazard. We did wonder what the strange smell was. So off we went a few doors away down the corridor. to then find that evening we was woken up continuously til 2am with the lift noise and people coming and going with no consideration to others.So my husband used to stuff a towel across bottom of the door to help stop the noise. Mr Hampton as we called him as never stopped working we could not fault he should train the cleaners to clean the rooms properly. One thing which did bother us was coming back for a day out to find a delivery takeaway leaflet under the room door. Knowing the hotel allowed people of the street to walk around the hotel scared us as well as knowing they could break into any ones room. Something surely the Hampton Inn could easily not allow. Your a 2 minute walk onto international drive and a 5 minute walk to the nearest itrolley stop. We loved the location, receptions staff, and pool never being over crowded. The free cookies on reception after 6pm was a nice touch. Will upload photos as soon as I can.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Analyn R, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the cleanliness issue that you experienced and know that it is always our goal to follow up with guests in situations such as yours.
However, I am pleased to hear that our staff was pleasing to you as we take pride in providing a friendly and welcoming hotel to all of our guests.
Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to speaking with you.
Safe Travels Always,

analyn_R -FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    353
    83
    32
    16
See reviews for
473
205
15
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel is well positioned near International Drive and five minutes by car from Universal Studios parking. Clean, complete breakfast, free internet, etc. I will certainly consider the hotel on a next vacation travel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent Orlando visit.
and thank you for your candid review of our accommodations and amenities.
We are so please you experienced our Hamptonality - and we look forward to your return!

Safe Travels Always!
-Kelly Marzullo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Using an opaque site for last minute reservation in July we was very happy at this hotel.
Near to the Universal and about 5 miles away from aquatica/Seaworld.
Clean rooms, very quiet (8th floor), free parking and a good breakfast.
We were greeted by a receptionist who appeared to already be waiting for us. We were surprised to see that she was also Brazilian, making it much easier for those who will for the first time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent Orlando visit.
and thank you for your candid review of our accommodations and amenities.
We are so please you experienced our Hamptonality - and we look forward to your return!

Safe Travels Always!
-Kelly Marzullo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The staff were very friendly and the breakfast buffet was very good. Location was excellent. Just a 5 minute drive to Universal. The room, though clean, was a bit outdated and the bathroom was small. The popcorn ceiling was chipping and hanging in several places especially above the beds. Overall a good and inexpensive place to stay if going to Universal.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the popcorn issue that you experienced and know that it is always our goal to follow up with guests in situations such as yours. Also, Good News!! All of our Guest Rooms are in transition to be updated so we hope you come back soon to see the new look!

However, I am pleased to hear that our staff was pleasing to you as we take pride in providing a friendly and welcoming hotel to all of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to speaking with you.

Safe Travels Always,
-Kelly Marzullo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I guess if you are just needing a room overnight it is OK. But the bathrooms are very small and forget the breakfast buffet in the morning. The public areas of this hotels are not large enough to sustain the onslaught of visitors during the high season. If you want a stress free morning to start your day, bypass breakfast at this hotel. It is the most unplanned setup I have ever seen and people bumping into each other all over the place. Put eggs and potatoes out close to end of buffet with no chaffing dishes. Everything got ice cold. At least there was a microwave to heat it up if you could find it. 2 elevators service this 8 floor hotel. Simply not enough for a hotel this size. 5 minutes just to go upstairs, Wow, Cleanliness not bad. All in All have stayed at mucher nicer Hampton Inns on the past

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us, Patrick. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the very busy breakfast room you encountered and know that it is always our goal to follow up with guests in situations such as yours. It sounds like you might have been in our breakroom room during a peak time for both breakfast and check out. I can assure you it is not always like that but it does get quite busy between the last hour of breakfast and check out.We do have a much larger seating area then most Hampton Inns to accomodate our guests and hope you saw the extended area. Thank you again for your feedback.

Safe Travels Always,
-Kelly Marzullo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jax, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to my friends if they are going to Universal Studio Orlando because of its location, cleanliness, price, and friendly staffs. Aside from earning points in my Hilton HHonors, free breakfast is one of the factors that I keep staying in The Hampton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review! We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you again - hopefully in the near future!

We appreciate YOU!
-Kelly Marzullo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We stayed here 3 days while visiting Universal and the location is fine, as in it is close to Universal and allows for quick and easy travel there and back. The lobby is awesome and the breakfast in the morning is the best part of this sort of "remodeled" hotel. That is where the goodness stopped though which made my wife and I think "bait and switch" based on online pictures. The outdoor pool had no towels on any of the days we were there and I had to ask each time for them. Not to mention that pictures show a round pool off to the side of the main one, which looks like a hot tub but is a 1 foot deep kiddie pool. My mistake for not checking, but I felt duped. There were messes on the tables surrounding areas and we found a band aid in the pool which caused us not to go back in for the remainder of our stay. The stairwells were grimy and a mess that was there when we arrived was there for at least 2 days before I saw it was cleaned up. The same could be said about the elevator and most common spaces. The shuttle was not around when we were ready to go any of the days so we ended up just driving which was no big deal. All in all, we enjoyed Universal and Wet N Wild, which is in walking distance, but the accommodations were adequate at best, for the cost. Not up to Hampton Inn standards, in my opinion. Go to the one in Kissimmee (only 15 minutes away) instead. A night stay for me might be ok... but I would not take my family here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the cleanliness issue that you experienced and know that it is always our goal to follow up with guests in situations such as yours. Regarding the kiddie pool confusion, we do not advertise anywhere that we have a Jacuzzi so my apologies that you were confused by the pictures. My favorite thing about Tripadvisor is that guests are able to post their own pictures and it is the best way to see that the professional pictures we have shared match up to the quality that our guests have shared.

In the future, if you decide to return, our shuttles have always had a set pick up time every day and these times are posted at the front desk and at Guest Services.
However, I am pleased to hear that our breakfast and location were pleasing to you as we take pride in providing a friendly and welcoming hotel to all of our guests.

Thank you again for your feedback, we look forward to speaking with you.

Safe Travels Always,
-Kelly Marzullo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios

Address: 7110 South Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Orlando
#60 Family Hotel in Orlando
#63 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#110 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Orlando-s. Of Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.