We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7110 South Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Visa Gift Card Offer
Ranked #66 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

stayed here for 2 nights, the front desk was helpful and the breakfast was great. the hotel is really convenient to nearby attraction and is very close to the Universal City walk for all the evening entertainment. The only thing that bothered us was a weird sound coming from one side of the room that sounded like a water pipe built in between walls? ice machine? We couldn't figure out what that was

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
It's so nice to hear that you had a great stay and our hotel location was convenient for your trip to the parks. I apologize for any noise disruptions and our maintenance team will keep this in mind as they do their routine inspections. We hope to see you again next time your in Orlando.

Kind regards,
Kelly Hutchinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    392
    91
    34
    17
See reviews for
524
231
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week for hopping around Orlando and nearby. The hotel is closed to airport which is around 10mins driving. The best thing for this hotel was the breakfast with free of charge. They provide hot breakfast including toast, waffle, ham or bacon, eggs, yogurts and fresh fruit. Those are excellent. The fire alarm got false alarm one mid-night. We went to the carpark as a safety concern. However there was no announcement or staff to explain what had happened.

Room Tip: The breakfast is a really good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your great review and I am happy to see you enjoyed so many of our wonderful amenities including how close we are to Universal Studios and all the shopping in this area and our On The House Hot breakfast. All Hampton Inns offer our “On the Run” bags to our guests every day! These are perfect if you are in a hurry and don’t have time for breakfast. I am glad to see you were treated with our southern hospitality and enjoyed our accommodating staff. I am so sorry to hear that you were disrupted by the alarm; however, we take our guests safety with the utmost care and concern. I would rather apologize a million times rather than risk someone getting hurt. We love having you here and We hope to see you back again soon!!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had to go to Orlando for a funeral and had a hard time finding a room , because it was a holiday weekend. The hotel staff was very helpful and understanding making our stay enjoyable as it could be. Clean rooms and common areas, and most of all a very comfortable bed. The
hotel is close to all attractions even though we did not go to any of them. We plan to stay there next time we get a chance to return.

Room Tip: Check the magazines at rest stops for coupons, we paid $69.99 a night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your great review and I am happy to see you enjoyed so many of our wonderful amenities. What I am happiest to see is that we helped make what is usually a tough time, a pleasant one. I am glad to see you were treated with our southern hospitality and enjoyed our accommodating staff. We love having you here! We hope to see you back again soon!!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Cove
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Or family of four stayed in this hotel for four nights while hopping around Florida on vacation. Location was excellent. Service by emloyees of the hotel was top notch. The rooms were clean, well appointed, and comfortable. The batroom was a tad small, not what we are used to in the newer Hampton's, which made me think this is a hotel Hampton has taken over from another chain and re-branded. Hampton did the best they could with what they have. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and Hampton is a name I always trust.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review!! Our guest love that we have a great place that is fresh and clean and located within many great shops and dining. We hope to see you next time you travel to the Orlando Area.

This hotel was actually built in 1990 and opened in 1991 as a Hampton Inn. It has been owned and operated by the same management from the ground up. Our bathrooms are a little cozy so we do our best to make up for it with our HUGE displays of hamptonality!! We are however aware that people enjoy a larger bathroom now and are working on a solution!!

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at this Hampton Inn 1 night on the way to a cruise. It was clean, Employees friendly. We are familiar with the area so knew where to go for food, shopping etc. Breakfast was excellent. Only thing was the road noise from the interstate. Not a deal breaker.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review!! Our guest love that we have a great place that is fresh and clean and located within many great shops and dining. We hope to see you next time you travel to the Orlando Area

Warm Regards,
Kelly Hutchinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed two nights 2/15/2/16. The room looked clean from the outside, but the bathroom had black mold growing in the shower. Our A/C unit leaked on the carpet, maintenance did come in an put in a dryer while we were out, but I wondered how many times that carpet had gotten wet/dry, etc.
Breakfast was bad, eggs overcooked, sausage/bacon undercooked and cold. Stick with the waffles and oatmeal.
Worst part was the free shuttle -we were supposed to leave at 9:15 sharp. Finally at 9:30 my husband went in to ask where it was. Supposedly it had been pulled over for a surprise DOT inspection. The surprise was we had them call a cab for us and ended up pating $15 bucks for a 5 mintue ride. It was only $7.50 on our way back that night.
Going back to Orlando next month, won't stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We know how many options you have while staying in the Orlando area and we appreciate that you chose to stay with us. I want to apologize for the unfortunate mold and cleanliness issues that you experienced at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. I'm addressing the housekeeping concerns as well as the shuttle transportation issue with our staff and apologize for the inconvenience.

I 'm glad I was able to speak with you directly to discuss your experience and personally apologize.

Kind regards,
Kelly Hutchinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Hook, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I prefer to write positive reviews but sometimes have to say what needs to be said.
Hampton Inns have long been a favorite since the beds are so comfortable and the wall insulation is sufficient to provide blessed quiet. Both wonderful positives.
However recently I've noticed that every Hampton Inn room I've stayed in has had an irksome problem: the curtains are the type that don't fully close. There have been lights on all night outside the window, and other buildings not so far away. While I have bulldog clips in my briefcase that can secure the curtains high enough to block out a good deal of the light - and view into the room - this isn't ideal. I hope this can be corrected.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly H, General Manager at Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Hi Carolyn,

Thank you for your review. Thanks for the tip about the curtain. We know how important a good nights sleep is. Currently we are looking for new promo items and I think you just gave us the answer! Window Curtain clips for our guest rooms!! Thanks for the help and I will also pass your suggestion onto Hampton Brand.

Kelly Hutchinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios

Address: 7110 South Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Orlando
#52 Family Hotel in Orlando
#65 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#99 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Orlando-s. Of Universal Studios Hotel Orlando
Orlando Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Orlando-S. Of Universal Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.