We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8353 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #151 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

I cannot believe the people who make a concerted effort to complain on here when they have paid so little and expect a 5* Sandals resort. This budget hotel costs next to nothing but you certainly feel safe, clean and comfortable! Ok, I agree it isn't luxury but it is clean, spacious and has great facilities (air conditioning, comfy beds, shower) - all you need when you come back from a day out in the theme parks. The international staff (one guy was from Spain and one guy from New York) made our stay in this hotel most memorable as they always greeted you with a smile - even my family members who phoned us had to mention how polite the staff sounded on reception when forwarding their calls. When we arrived our television had some connection problems and imediately we were seen to and changed to a new room. The hotel is in a great location - although we didn't really use the facilities within the hotel (food, bar, pool etc) as there is so much choice in Orlando we would definately stay at this hotel again as it was perfect for our needs.

If there were any negative comments - which is really difficult as there isn't much to say - would be the fake pizza leaflets delivered under our room door every night, surely security could sort this out? Maybe this has been rectified since!

One food tip for all future travellers - go to Bahama Breeze for amazing battered king prawns and stop at Dairy Queen for some gorgeous ice cream!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    607
    304
    87
    48
See reviews for
664
404
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I just came back from a long weekend at The Best Western Gateway in Orlando and had a great time. The hotel itself wasn't the greatest ( but perfect if you are on a budget) The location was GREAT!! Actually, the location was so great that I forgot that the hotel wasn't up to the best standards.

Good:

- GREAT location. It's right across from Wet n Wild, 15-20 minute walk to Universal Studios ( or a $6-$8 taxi ride). It's close to lots of restaurants. There is even a Walgreens 5 minutes away ( which was fantastic for when I needed painkillers).

- Pool was heated and clean. They have 2 hot tubs as well which was nice!!

- ATM on site!! This was really convenient

- A fridge and microwave in the room. Also, a big screen t.V ( I stayed in a standard room)

The bad:

- Halls look kinda old and needed some touching up. They also smelled a bit funky

- Bathtub was tiny

- I didn't like the pillows ( too hard for me)

- The shuttle to the park was all booked. They didn't tell us that we needed to book it ahead of time and in the morning we asked about it and they said they were all booked up. I was kinda upset at first but then I realized that it was only a 15-20 minute walk to the park anyway!!

- Reception didn't really know much about the buses or taxi's. When we asked them to call us a taxi then they called a different taxi company ( different from the regular city taxi's) who charged MORE!! A city taxi into Universal Studios was $6 but this other company charged $8. However, It WAS convenient that this other taxi company was already parked outside the Best Western and ready to take you, so some people may really see this as a good thing!!

Overall, I had a GREAT time and it was the perfect hotel if you're on a budget. I was expecting the rooms to be a bit blah and the bathtub to be small so i wasn't too let down. The location really did make up for everything else!! I would much rather give up a nicer hotel to be closer to everything!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2010

The location of this hotel simply cannot be beat. Just down the road from Universal, across the street from WetNWild, and minutes from dozens of restaurants and shopping. The hotel was very clean and quiet. The rooms large and clean. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful. I stay in alot of hotels and it amazes me how hotel staffs simply don't want to help you once you check in. The Hotel Manager must have alot of experience and motivates his staff correctly. I look forward to visiting this hotel again. And of course my children loved the free character cups upon check-in.


I

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sausalito, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

My Husband and I stay in this hotel for the price and the location, Big Mistake. When the front door open in the lobby area smell like a dead fish, we decided to give a opportunity despite the smell. Here we go, the towels have hair and the carpet smell bad and everything look dirty. We don't sleep nothing that night! So, next day we explain about the situation,they returned our money. If you appreciated your health don't go there.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2010
I certainly apologize for the experience that you had while staying with us during your recent trip to Orlando. I was shocked to read your review of our facilities and have asked our Housekeeping and Maintenance Department to look into what could have caused the issues you described.

While we strive to meet every guests expectations during their stay it was clear that we did not meet yours and I am pleased that our front office took it upon themselves to reimburse you for the nights stay.

If you have any further questions or comments you can contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall,England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

We were initially booked in for 2 nights before travelling down to Weston for a week in a timeshare there (Mizner). The Hotel is in a great location and apart from Universal and Wet n Wild being so close,it is within walking distance of restaurants such as TGIF and Red Lobster.The staff are friendly and helpful.The rooms are spacious and very clean.Yes,some aspects could do with updating but so could our home !
On arrival,we had a problem with the shower not working.I rang down to the front desk and literally minutes later,a friendly maintainance man arrived and sorted it.The problem was actually us not being able to work it properly.The system is a bit dated but hey ho,updating 4 or 5 hundred rooms would impact on the good value for money the hotel currently is.
Anyway,we then booked out and headed off to Weston.
What a boring, lifeless,land of the living dead that is !!
We stayed 3 nights and had enough.
I got on the phone and called the Best Western again. The hotel was well booked but after a short wait,we were told they could fit us in and it was at a good rate.So, no hesitation,we headed back up to Orlando and stayed there another 4 nights and the service, cleanliness etc was just as good.
I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel to anyone wishing to stay in that area of Orlando.
Two minor points of advice- the ticket/attraction reception in the main lobby has 2 "sides".
One will offer tickets at a much reduced price -- but -- this is linked to a timeshare sell for a place called Orange Lakes (we have stayed there before and it is very nice but personally I do not want to be bothered with that selling when on holiday).
The "other" side sells tickets at a more realistic price.They are not the cheapest available but for Universal for instance,the hotel also provides a free shuttle, so when Universal charge $18 just to park a car there !!!!!!......it isn"t such a bad deal.

The second point is about a taxi.
The hotel,if asked,will use a "local" firm.This man arrived and the vehicle had no meter at all.He charged us $10 to go the 1 mile or so to Universal in the evening.The return trip,by
"ordinary" taxi,on the exact same route.......$5.
The second time we asked the reception to call a cab.......he turned up again.I asked how much to our destination.He said $15. We said no thanks and walked down the road,flagged down a "proper" cab.Same trip.....$9.
It was also the same amount on our return trip.
I understand this is a firm that the hotel have an agreement with,so whether the overcharging is general or just that one same driver ripping tourists off is yet to be seen.
Reading other reviews on this Trip Advisor site,it looks like someone from the Hotel does read them.....so if you read this....that one driver,or taxi firm is doing you a dis-service.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

I was recently in Orlando arriving march 3rd and chose this hotel for its accessible location and good value ($70 p/n). Was very happy with the choice. Rooms were excellent, good sized and very clean. Didn't try the pool as it was unbelievably cold at the time but all the other facilities were excellent. Great company in the bar and very helpful staff at reception. Though the tourist counter staff were completely in the dark about public transport, no ideas about buses around town etc....

Would stay again and recommend to others. Location good for Golfing and parks if you have transport. Plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. Great mini-golf at Congo rivers 2 locations five minutes away, along with lots of other things on International drive.

Beware of phoney pizza flyers sent under the doors and there have been a few sketchy characters hanging around, but don't let this put you off, this is a good value hotel and an excellent base in Orlando.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

We recently stayed at Best Western Orlando Gateway, The staff was very friendly and nice. We got a room with two queen beds but they were more like full size beds. The room was really too small as was the bathroom. You could hear people in the next room. The grounds around the pool were ok but people would leave their trash around and it wouldn't be picked up right away. By right away I mean a day later the trash was still there in the exact same spot.

There were two hot tubs secluded from the pool giving a little privacy to relax which was a plus. The pool was kept almost as warm as the hot tubs which was ok since it was cool when we were there.

Poor security. There was a gate of sorts leading from the parking lot to the pool area that didn't lock so anyone could just walk in. There was also not a lock on the door from the hotel leading into the pool so anyone could slip into the hotel and get on an elevator which was not in sight of the front desk.

Housekeeping was excellent and they actually changed the bedding everyday. They didn't just make up the bed with the same sheets you just slept on. Fresh towels everyday without asking for them was also nice to have. The rooms always smelled fresh and clean when we returned.

The location was excellent but the rooms were just too small.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#125 Business Hotel in Orlando
#132 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. The hotel is pet-friendly. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.