We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, friendly staff, perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8353 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #151 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, friendly staff, perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My family and I stayed here during our vacation to Orlando. The room was very nice and the staff was friendly (even when coming in late from playing all day!!). The breakfast buffet was the perfect way to start a full day at play. The location is ideal - close to all the theme parks. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Too bad it wasn't warm enough to enjoy the water park that is within walking distance from the hotel!! We'll plan another trip for sure.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2010
Thank you for your kind review on TripAdvisor, we are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and clean comfortable accommodations at reasonable prices. I will pass your comments on to our staff as they enjoy hearing from our many satisfied guests.

We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    607
    303
    87
    48
See reviews for
663
404
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed for a night last weekend. The location is great if you're going to any Universal facilities. The hotel has been remodled one too many times. The hallways are dirty looking. We stayed on the 1st floor with a door that opened to the pool. It was very loud! Even though it was 40 degrees outside, there were still people out in the pool past 10pm. They were so loud, they may as well have been in our room with us. The bed linens are nice, but the beds were hard. The TV was very large and nice. The bathroom was ok. New sink/vanity area, but the tile was gross w/ mold on the edges. Overall it was just ok. I will probably not stay here again. This was the hotel we got through Hotwire.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your poolside room. We have a limited number of these rooms and they are clearly one of our most popular room types as they lead directly to the pool. Many guests enjoy the convenience of opening the sliding glass door and having direct access to the pool. The pool does close at 11:00 pm so, yes, there would have been people out by the pool.

I will have our maintenance staff look at each poolside room to see what the issue with the tile in the bathroom was. We recently renovated each room and you should not have encountered a room where the tile was dirty.

The beds were replaced in the renovation and are brand new, I'm sorry that you did not find them comfortable.

Again, thank you for your comments, I will take them to our staff so that we can review them and see where we can improve upon our product and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

The room was shoddy and there was a musty smell, the staff was nice but didn't have a clue about things. They don't communicate with each other so that they all have the same information. They tried to charge us for a roll away bed but never told us about the charge in the beginning. It is convienent to theme parks and the pool was nice. There was free wifi but it didn't work unless you plugged the ethernet cord directly into your computer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a reveiw on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry that you did not completely enjoy your stay wih us. We pride ourselves on our service and the friendliness of our staff. Most of our staff, especially at the Front Desk area, has been with us for many years and I was surprised to read about the communication issue. I will make sure that our front office manager is aware of this issue and have her take the necessary steps to insure that it does not occur again.

In reference to the free wifi, we have wireless internet service throughout all of our public areas and have a hard wired solution in the rooms. At this time, we do not have wireless access in the rooms that is why you needed to use the ethernet cable for internet service. In the future, hopefully by the end of the summer, we hope to have wireless available in all of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I just stayed at the BW Gateway and overall it is an excellent hotel. the room was large, the bed very comfy, loved the 37" TV, in room safe was nice to have. Most importantly everything was fresh and clean. Staff was very friendly, nice touch to call after check in to be sure everything is satisfactory. Location good for those going to Wet n Wild or Universal, easy access to I Drive trolley.

I booked the internet only rate, which required a prepayment. When I checked in I questioned the small print on the form that mentioned a $3.50 resort fee (near where you initial you accept charges for losing the safe key or smoking in room). I had seen a previous review on TA that mentioned the fee. The desk cleark said "You don't have to worry about that since you are prepaid". She's right, my credit card was charged at time of reserving, for an amount that included the $3.50 :-). I know that the estimated charge on the reservation has a tiny footnote that says the hotel can add additional charges. And the form at check in mentions it. However, what really annoys me is that if the fee is not optional, is charged to everyone, then it should be part of the base rate. I'm not even sure why there is a resort fee - yes there is a pool, a tennis court , a fitness center, but these are standard amenities. I really hate when hotels charge these add ons, it makes it difficult to compare prices between hotels when you don't know what extra fees will be tacked on.

Another annoyance at many Orlando hotels is the high pressure ticket sales counter in the lobby, or worse, time share salesmen. They even have the rack for the local attractions handouts next to the ticket seller, so if you try and pick up a brochure you are subjected to a sales spiel. You have to be down right rude to get away from them. And for those of you coming to Orlando, please be aware these ticket sales are very seldom a good deal. You'd be much better off going to the internet site for the atrraction or thru AAA.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I will make sure that I pass them on to our staff as they certainly appreciate being recognized for providing superior guest service.

Our service fee is one of the lowest in Orlando. We make every effort to make sure that each and every guest is made aware of the fee regardless of how the room is being booked, our intention is never to deceive the guest but make sure that they are aware of all of the charges at the time of their booking. I apologize that you did not notice the fee at the time you booked your reservation. As you mentioned, the fee covers the tennis court, basketball court, jacuzzi's, sundeck, wireless internet and parking fees that many hotels charge individually for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortingall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stayed a week and paid peanuts for an hotel with friendly staff, a good restaurant and large, well-serviced rooms. It's not the very last word in luxury but then you don't have to pay steep prices. It's clean and spacious and I have no complaints about any aspect and I'm quite fussy about cleanliness. There may be a faintly musty smell from the a/c - but nothing that makes you think twice. The location is excellent for I-Drive and the parks.

I left this place after a week to stay at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge (where one night costs much more than a week in this place) and now wish I hadn't. That's how good this place is!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We arrived at the hotel late in the evening after almost 20 hours of traveling, check-in process was quick and easy and reception staff very helpful and friendly

Rooms had everything you could need for the type of holiday Orlando is, they had tea/coffe machine, fridge, safe, satalite TV with lots of channels, free internet point and 2 double beds. The rooms were cleaned every day unless you left the do not disturb sign on and the staff would always contact you later on in the afternoon to see if you would like your towles changing.

Location of hotel is excellent, straight off I4 and opposite wet N wild and only minutes walk from the busy international drive. We didnt eat in the hotel bar/restaurant as we wanted to try different places every day, but the snack shop that serves a variety of hot and cold food and drink was really good for a light snack. A must to try is the huge slices of cake they have in there for $5 you get enough to feed a horse and the carrot cake is absolutely lush.

The only negative we had about the hotel was that the swimming pool didn't get much sun shine round it due to the positioning of the hotel to the pool but there is a good size pool and 2 hot tubs

next time we go back to Orlando we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

Shuttle made a full bus of people wait 20 minutes for 4 others, while hotel staff chatted with them. Telephone connection was horrendous. I could not get room service dinner at 8 pm or anyone to speak to, since there was only 1 person on duty in the restaurant and he was helping someone else - had to call back numerous times and phone just kept ringing. No wireless in room. Wired internet didn't work. Wireless in lobby worked intermittently. Only 1 packet of coffee in room. Coffee maker squirted hot water everywhere. Couldn't get a quick breakfast at cafe shop. Coffee creamer in shop curdled. Just a nightmare.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatBWOrlandoGateway, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Thank you for your comments reagrding your recent stay with us.

What you are describing is a nightmare and I apologize that you had that experience while staying at our hotel. We make every effort in making sure that our guests are taken care of in every way and we obviously did not meet your expectations. I will make sure that your comments are handed to the proper department managers and that we take the necessary steps to find out just what went wrong and correct them so that it does not happen again.

Again, I apologize for the issues you had with your stay and hope that you will contact me directly when coming back to the Orlando area and I will personally make your hotel arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#125 Business Hotel in Orlando
#132 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. The hotel is pet-friendly. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.