We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8353 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #151 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Lutz, Falkland Islands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Good hotel for price, will definitely stay here again. Came with a group and felt safe the whole time. The hotel itself was a little older and could stand some remodeling but rooms where clean and staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Bonnie,

Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. Safety is always important to us and I am glad that you felt safe during your stay. Our staff is great and I appreciate you taking the time to mention how friendly they are. We are renovating the property and our soft goods are next! We will be replacing our room and corridor carpets in August and then our drapes and bedding will be replaced in early October!

I look forward to you returning again soon to see the positive changes we have made.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    607
    302
    87
    48
See reviews for
662
404
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Stayed here for a trip to Universal ect, from all of the hotels i have stayed at on I-Drive this would be my favorite. Just around the corner from Wet n' Wild and very close to all amenities. The hotel provide shuttle buses to most parks which was an excellent feature.

I very much liked the pool area as well - Love a good heated hot tub.

The shop within the hotel is a little pricey but very useful if you don't want to walk to the shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Jos605,

Thank you for making us your "favorite hotel" in the I-Drive corridor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the pool and hot tub to be your favorite spots!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel is not a new.. seems to be a little bit old, but ok for the price of 50USD per day.
they can take your packages if you pay 50USD por 10 packages.
Swimm pool is good... parking is free... next to wet and wild.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear I_want_to_help,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us during your visit to Orlando. We love our Brazilian guests and are centrally located to all of the shopping Orlando has to offer making it a favorite for the shoppers!

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

All the staff were really friendly and helpful, from check in to check out with a hello every time we passed, a special mention for Josh who looked after the pool bar. A great guy.. The hotel is ideally located on corner of International Drive and Universal Boulevard. We didn't have a car and didn't miss one. The courtesy shuttle bus took us to Universal, the I Trolley for most other things and the taxi to Disney was reasonable and quick. The rooms are spotlessly clean, change of towels daily with towels at pool area also. The pool is glorious as are the hot tubs. The only reason I didn't give it a full 5 stars was that their deli was over priced and mediocre. It may only be a 3 star and a little bit dated in areas but for the price of the room, the facilities offered, staff and location I would definitely recommend and stay again. judge for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear AdrienneHD,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was pleased to see that you certainly enjoyed your stay with us. Our pool, hot tubs and sun deck are a great way to spend the day and Josh is right there to help you with a cold beverage should you need it! I appreciate you taking the time to talk about our staff and the rooms as well.

I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Best Western Gateway Orlando is very good value and a nice location for International Dr. Just off the beaten path and walking distance to Wet n Wild. Clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. A no thrills with decent amenities. Great bang for your buck with a clean room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Robert P.

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a very good value and that you got the best "bang for your buck" right here.

I appreciate your comments regarding our staff and our comfortable rooms and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, good price.

You can easily walk to universal (20min) there is a footpath all the way, and wet and wild (1 min) from this hotel as well.

We got upgraded to a mini suite for our stay. Which is essentially twice the size of a regular room with a sofa - really nice, fridge, microwave and a big tv with pretty good HD channels as well, not nasty fuzzy pictures either.

Nicely done BW, we will be back again - thanks

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Martgadget,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Orlando. I was pleased to see that we could upgrade you to one of our mini suites and that you enjoyed the room. Our location is fantastic for whatever you want to do in Orlando!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Overall a handy place to stay but pool is shadowed over during the day and no balcony on the room. The service was good the beds comfortable and the room clean, all you can expect from a budget hotel. If you're not looking for anything too fancy and a comfortable stay close to Universal ect it's worth the visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Phillandmaggie,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your recent stay with us. The sun does peak behind the buildings in the afternoons during the first quarter of the year and that is why we built a sundeck for those who want to work on their tans. The sundeck out at the pool gets all day sun! I can assure you that the sun is shining bright on the pool all day during the summer months.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you again should your travels bring you back to the Orlando area.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#125 Business Hotel in Orlando
#132 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. The hotel is pet-friendly. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.