We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good, only one incident with an employee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8353 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #151 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“All good, only one incident with an employee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Everything went well there. Rooms are clear and full of light. Most employees are nice, including the manager Jerusa.
However, during checkout we wanted to split the bill and have separate invoices and a girl at the counter created a major problem with that. She said it was not what she had been profiled and would not do that. You know, one of those employees that do not go beyond their scripts for being afraid of taking action. We had another problem with this girl before so that was a bad experience.
On the other hand, there was a nice girl called Diana Henry that managed to solve all our issues. We asked to change rooms to accommodate a friend, we needed information, and she was always super helpful. Even with the problem I told you before, she was the one to take responsibility and solve the invoice issue. i hope the hotel rewards her for this good behaviour. You need more people that act like leaders.

another thing you should know: they charge for you to get packages in the hotel from the post office. I did not know that and they wanted to charge 50 dollars for a book I got delivered there and cost only 10. So, remember to ask before you send something to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Bernardo F.,

I thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologize that one of our associates was unable to complete the transaction you requested, but happy that Diana was able to take care of you. Our Front Office Manager did make sure everyone was trained on splitting up folios so that future guests that wanted that completed would not have an issue getting it done.

We do charge for packages, however, the first package is free of charge. We receive thousands of packages each year and store and catalog them for our guests prior to their arrival.

I will pass on your great comments to Jherusa and Diana and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    606
    300
    88
    48
See reviews for
662
401
59
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Pros:
Location is great. Right in the middle of a variety of entertainment that Orlando has to offer.
Friendly staff.
Easy check in/out process.
Free wifi/parking.
Good recreation facilities.

Cons:
Loud air conditioner.
Water had to run a long time (2 minutes +) to become hot.
Bathroom could use updating.

Would stay again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Craig B.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay with us. Our guests love our pool area, location and friendly staff. I will make sure that we look at the hot water issue, we have ample boilers on property and there should not be an issue with guests needing to let water run to get hot or even warm.

I look forward to your returning to the Orlando area and staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VALDOSTA, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I stayed at the Best Western Gateway for four nights for the HIMSS conference in Orlando. The hotel is approx. 3 miles from the conference center. The staff were kind and helpful. The accommodations left something to be desired but were clean and quiet. I would stay here again if the price was right. There is no free breakfast, but there is a restaurant and a snack bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Taryn H.,

Thank you for your business and for taking tome to review our hotel. I appreciate your comments regarding our clean and comfortable accommodations and our friendly staff. We will be completing a soft good renovation this year that includes, carpet, drapes and bedding. hopefully, you will stay with us again in the future and see the changes that we have made.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I feel like Hotwire is mostly to blame for this review, but because of the hotel's affiliation, they get to share the wrath.

This hotel was listed as a 3 star hotel comparable to a Hyatt or Hilton. It is under no circumstances comparable on any planet. While it may be a good deal or value, it is not 3 stars.

The rooms are average. We too (like Musical Traveler and his spot on review) splurged for a king suite. Fine but still not 3 stars. All things work fine but the hotel needs some TLC. I don't need your arcade, meeting rooms, or tennis courts. What I do need is parking, taller ceilings, and a bathtub I'm not afraid of stepping into.

There is no parking. Be comfortable with double parking everywhere. Hope for the best with your car.

Front desk staff was a gentleman whose accent was EXTREMELY difficult to understand. He was very short with us and provided no helpful information.

I do not know where this hotel could possibly believe it earned 3 stars in hotel rating systems. It is inappropriate to mislead guests like this. The value would be appropriate as a 2 star hotel but I feel nothing but duped.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Kristina,

I certainly apologize that your stay and our facilities did not meet your standards. We are a three diamond property that gets inspected each year via AAA and twice yearly through Best Western.

Many of our gest do love the arcade, fitness center, basketball and tennis courts along with our pool and two whirlpool spa's. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable and safe accommodations while providing superior customer service to all of our guests. Gerardo, who speaks five languages, receives many compliments from our guests but clearly he was off his game when dealing with you. I will speak with him regarding your stay and I apologize for any communications issues.

Again thank you for your business and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

As a three star hotel this hotel was a little lacking. However, there were positives to this hotel that I really enjoyed. The pool was the best part. I really enjoyed the hot tub and the pool was nicely heated. The room was also nice and the bed was comfortable. The view was great as well and allowed me to see much of the International drive area.
The negatives of the hotel were that about 2 or 3 of the nights I was there there were no towels available to use at the pool area, and the first time that happened I waited several minutes at the front desk before being told by the staff member that they would bring some out. No one ever showed up. The other times I brought an extra towel down so I wouldn't have to mess with asking again. Also the room keys quit working twice while we were there. The TV remote was also difficult to use as you had to directly racing the middle of the TV between the beds in order for it to work.
Overall though I liked the hotel and had a good time there. Plus it is in a great location and close to Universal Studio Resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and we are always looking for ways we can improve our service and product.

I hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great Location. Walked to restaurnts and shops. Pool Area very nice. Bar staff very nice and accomodating. Entire staff very friendly and helpful. Met people from all over the world at the hotel. Very close to all of the attractions. We did not go to the amusement parks but buses left daily from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Donald W.,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent trip to Orlando. I appreciate your comments regarding our hotel and in particular our restaurant and bar staff. I will certainly pass your comments on to them!

We look forward to your retuning to Orlando soon and hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, Brazil
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The hotel is very well located in just some steps (ten minutes away) from Universal citywalk and universal or island of adventures parks. However the hotel is an old hotel and as supposed, the rooms are old too and not so pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill J, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Marcelo F.,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our great location and that you found it easy to get to the parks. I appreciate your comments regarding the hotel itself and know that we will begin or capital renovations of our rooms this year. This renovation will in no way impact our guests during their stay but will definitely change the perception of our property being dated dated.

We pride ourselves on providing each guest with clean, comfortable and safe accommodations at affordable prices and look forward to your returning soon to see that changes that are taking place.

Sincerely,


Bill Jones, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel

Address: 7299 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819-8353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#122 Business Hotel in Orlando
#133 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this stylish Orlando, Florida hotel situated close to SeaWorld(R), Universal Studios(R) and the Disney(R) Theme Parks.Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, the "Gateway to Orlando Attractions" in Central Florida. This full-service hotel offers the best in customer service for both business and leisure travelers. Guests will be minutes from Universal Studios, the Islands of Adventure theme park and the Hard Rock Amphitheatre where visitors can enjoy local concerts. Each well-appointed guest room and suite at this Orlando hotel features cable satellite television with HBO(R) and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will find great dining onsite at the hotel's restaurant or cocktail lounge. The hotel is also ideal for group travel with full-business services and meeting facilities, perfect for conferences, family reunions and other events. The BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel also features a fitness center, guest laundry and tennis and basketball courts. The hotel is pet-friendly. Guests staying at the BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel will be less than ten miles from local attractions such as the Walt Disney World Resort and Theme Parks, SeaWorld, Discovery Cove and Disney's the Wide World of Sports. Corporate travelers staying at this Florida hotel will be close to the Orlando/Orange County Convention Center, Coleman Aerospace, L-3 Communications and Lockheed Martine Missiles and Fore Control. Hotel guests will also enjoy sky diving at the indoor Sky Venture, less than one mile away.The BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Orlando. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Orlando
Clarion Orlando
Clarion Hotel Universal
Orlando Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Orlando Gateway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.