We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Lake Buena Vista

Save Saved
You added Wyndham Lake Buena Vista to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Wyndham Lake Buena Vista
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1850 Hotel Plaza Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #156 of 328 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sonora, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Terrific Value and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Husband and I spent two night here in early April and loved our stay. It's proximity to Downtown Disney can't be at and the shuttle service to and from the Magic Kingdom and Epcot Center was quick and painless. Every staff member that we encountered was friendly, helpful, and kind and really added to our enjoyment in this large hotel. (With one exception - a somewhat grumpy woman working in the Disney gift shop could use a customer service refresher course - or at least remember to smile at her customers, even if it's late and she's tired.)

We didn't use the swimming pools, which looked clean and welcoming, and the kids' pool looked especially intriguing. I believe the resort also had tennis courts and other amenities - there were plenty of walking paths, which we utilized our first night there. This would be an ideal place to stay with kids or as a couple and is our favorite resort out of the four that we have stayed at in Lake Buena Vista. We will definitely stay here again when we return to DW.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your recent visit. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can assure you that I will pass along your comments to the Disney Gift store manager. I'm sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you while you were here.
If your travel plans should bring you back to the Orlando area please feel free to reach out to our voice of the customer at hbivans@wyndhamlbv.com.
Sincerely,
Helen Bivans
Voice of the Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,839
    1,328
    779
    341
    224
See reviews for
2385
783
97
629
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (888)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
danville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I just returned home from a family vacation to Disney! We stayed for 3 nights at the Wyndham Lake Buena Vista and I could not have asked for a better experience! First off let me say THANK YOU to Deewan (spelling?) at the front desk. He made our check in quick and easy! I booked thru BOOKIT.COM (which I will never do again) I had a bad experience with Bookit. and he made the stay at the Wyndham awesome. He up graded us and made sure that my sister had a room next door to mine. Each day the hotel smelled very fresh and clean. Our rooms were always cleaned well. Comfy Beds to sleep in. We took advantage of the breakfast buffet and it was great food. Valet parking was awesome as well. I will say that the pool area is perfect for a family with a toddler! I have a 16mo old little boy and he enjoyed the pool and splash area! Easy 5 min walk to Downtown Disney. Defiantly would recommend to others and would stay again!

Room Tip: We had a room (15003) that faced Epcot and Downtown Disney! Great View!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for the very nice review following your recent visit. I'm very pleased to hear that your family vacation was enjoyable. We appreciate your business and thanks for recognizing Dewan in your review!
Please come again.
Sincerely,
Helen Bivans
Voice of the Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

On an average i paid $120 a night for my stay.Which i initially felt good. However the additional charges in hotel like no free break fast, no microwave was a surprise. I was told about these (in a rather subtle manner), so i choose to NOT complaint on this.

Break fast and dinner provided at the hotel is far too expensive for the quality provided.
The main lobby area is so clean , with a nice carpet area. However the walkways are not carpeted with NO flooring.It created a "cheap corridor" to the room. Also lot of guests smoke in the corridor. While the guests are indeed sensitive, it is not fair for any non-smoker to inhale the smoke ...Lack of common smoke area...is an issue for smokers and creates an issue for the non smokers.

The resort fee , i think is reasonable for the shuttle service provided. Decent towels.Good swimming pool, but not open in the mornings.

There is a big credibility gap when the hotel states it is following environmentally friendly practices.

Here is why,

1. Even though the hotel is in sunny Florida, the hotel does not use solar power for water heating.
2. All lights in all corridors are kept on all the time.
3. Even for Lawn,only tap water (not recycled gray water) is used. I stayed for 6 days and during 7 days of my stay i observed it.
4. There is no option to open windows for cooling the room.
5. The recycle-able items and trash are NOT collected separately. There are 2 separate trash bins in the room, however when the room cleaners clean the room, they throw both of them in to the same trash can.

If at least some environmentally sound practices , same or different from the 5 above, are followed, i would be inclined to agree the hotel follows environmentally friendly practices.

There are some notes on when the towels will be washed, when the bedsheets will be washed etc..Even if it was followed by the hotel, that does very little to the environment , at the cost only to the consumer.....

Room Tip: check out the photos where there are stained pillows...that is the reality. Add 25% on top of the st...
See more room tips
Green Features: There is a big credibility gap when the hotel states it is following environmentally friendly practices.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen B, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. We truly appreciate our guest's feedback as it helps us to provide the best possible service to our very valuable customers. I'm sorry if you were inconvenienced with regards to the food prices in our dining outlets and for the unfortunate smoking odor from other guests. Please be assured that your comments will be shared with our management team for their review. Also, thank you for your suggestions with the "Green" environmental information it was very helpful.
If you should decide to provide us with another opportunity to serve you please let us know.
Sincerely,
Helen Bivans
Voice of the Customer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyndham Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Lake Buena Vista

Address: 1850 Hotel Plaza Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #156 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Magical Choice Among Orlando Lake Buena Vista Hotel ResortsBe immersed in magic. Experience the best of the Walt Disney World® Resort at the Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Resort. As an Official Walt Disney World® Hotel, we specialize in family-friendly amenities, impressive facilities, and uncompromising fun and service. Discover why our accommodations are the perfect choice when selecting from Orlando Lake Buena Vista hotels.Immerse Yourself in Magic!The Wyndham Lake Buena Vista is located directly across the street from the Downtown Disney® Area, a world-class entertainment-shopping-dining district. At the resort you can dine with Disney Characters for breakfast on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Staying at this Lake Buena Vista hotel you're a quick complimentary shuttle ride from the Magic Kingdom® Park, Disney's Hollywood StudiosTM, Epcot® and Disney's Animal Kingdom® Theme Park.Splash Into Adventure!There is no need to leave the resort to experience adventure. The Aquatic Playground located at the Oasis, the resort's pool deck, is fun for children of all ages at this Orlando Family Resort. Situated on 13 meticulously landscaped, lakeside acres in the Walt Disney World® Resort in Orlando, Florida. Additionally, the hotel is only 10 minutes away from Sea World & Universal Studios and Just 17 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Wyndham Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Lake Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.