We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Lake Buena Vista

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Lake Buena Vista to your Saves list
Wyndham Lake Buena Vista
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   1850 Hotel Plaza Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #149 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sebring, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my birthday celebration with my husband and our two small children and I can honestly say we will never be back to this hotel. We arrived at check in right on time after we parked and hauled our luggage in we were told at the front counter that we no longer had a room! What? Thanks for the phone call. So there we are with two small kids and tired after driving two hours and they tell us they are moving us to a better hotel. Really? They send us to a hotel that has the paint chipping off all over the room the chairs are literally falling apart and it was filthy. Needless to say we called the Wyndham hotel manager and let him know how unhappy we were with the accomadations and after about an hour of phone calls, they offered us a free breakfast. We couldn't believe it. The manager argued with us when we had a receipt in front of him showing him that we had paid for an upgrade $25 more and we got a standard small room that was awful at a hotel that we never wanted to stay at. I have never had a bad experience in Orlando, its always a great vacation but this was a nightmare. Oh and they covered no extra expenses that we had with the other hotel for transferring over there. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VoiceoftheCustomer, Manager at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have encountered as a result.

Please contact me directly at 407-827-6516 if you have any additional comments or concerns.

Sincerely,

Helen Bivans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,081
    1,484
    877
    375
    236
See reviews for
2,622
892
109
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everyone on the staff made the stay pleasant. All the things we asked for were there and it was smooth sailing. Pricing was good as well. Definitely recommend to others. Another benefit is the ammenities of Disney without the pricing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is our 4th visit to this beautiful resort. It is our favorite hotel in the Orlando / Disney area.

The staff at Wyndham Lake Buena Vista were friendly, courteous, and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was a most pleasant one!

Our breakfast buffet was outstanding! The pool area is spacious and clean and has sunshine all day! The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and accommodating!

My husband and I were very pleased to notice how 'happy' the entire staff was! Happy staff must mean they are treated well and 'valued' highly by the hotel management! It was so refreshing to see 'every' staff member smiling. We especially noticed how they were earger to please 'us', thier guests!

Sanchane, our room /maid service attendant , was super friendly, and always obliged to help us with our needs.

Sam and Karen - Chicago, IL

Room Tip: We liked the 'tower' rooms overlooking the beautiful resort pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My new husband and I wanted to stay one night at a local hotel the night of our wedding because we are not taking our honeymoon until later in the year. I spoke with Helen Bivans at the Wyndham and explained I wanted to have a special night. The reservation was made and when we arrived in our room everything was so perfect. The bed had balloons and congratulations waiting for us as well as strawberries dipped in chocolate in the refrigerator. It was just perfect. The bed was comfortable- the view was spectacular and there were no interruptions from any noise in the hallway or otherwise. Very nice experience. Thank you Helen Bivans for going above and beyond great customer service. We went to breakfast the next morning in the hotel restaurant which was excellent. Oh and an added laugh was having our photo taken with goofy and pluto during the disney character breakfast event going on in the restaurant. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Wyndham Hotel was a pleasant surprise being centrally located only 500 yards from the entrance to Downtown Disney and access to Beuno Vista lake. What it lacks in extras it makes up with friendly and efficient service from it's evervesant,attentive,and very informative staff. Special thanks goes to hotel manager Helen Bivens who was a most charming erudite and charasmatic host, ensuring everything went to schedule and nothing is too much trouble, to ensure not only a comfortable stay but a wonderful memory of a holiday my friends and I would love to repeat.
On the downside for European visitors it's a real surprise that not a single ceramic cup and sourcer was available in any of the rooms or the small cafe in reception or hotel restaurant. The American love for cheap disposable cartons consisting of a single large size paper cup issued for every hot drink, may save on washing, but is very disappointing for such a large hotel catering for international guests in a prime tourist location.

Room Tip: All rooms in the main tower block tend to be large. However, all windows here are sealed units with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Lake Buena Vista

Address: 1850 Hotel Plaza Blvd, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 626
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Magical Choice Among Orlando Lake Buena Vista Hotel ResortsBe immersed in magic. Experience the best of the Walt Disney World® Resort at the Wyndham Lake Buena Vista Resort. As an Official Walt Disney World® Hotel, we specialize in family-friendly amenities, impressive facilities, and uncompromising fun and service. Discover why our accommodations are the perfect choice when selecting from Orlando Lake Buena Vista hotels.Immerse Yourself in Magic!The Wyndham Lake Buena Vista is located directly across the street from the Downtown Disney® Area, a world-class entertainment-shopping-dining district. At the resort you can dine with Disney Characters for breakfast on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays from 7:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Staying at this Lake Buena Vista hotel you're a quick complimentary shuttle ride from the Magic Kingdom® Park, Disney's Hollywood StudiosTM, Epcot® and Disney's Animal Kingdom® Theme Park.Splash Into Adventure!There is no need to leave the resort to experience adventure. The Aquatic Playground located at the Oasis, the resort's pool deck, is fun for children of all ages at this Orlando Family Resort. Situated on 13 meticulously landscaped, lakeside acres in the Walt Disney World® Resort in Orlando, Florida. Additionally, the hotel is only 10 minutes away from Sea World & Universal Studios and Just 17 miles from Orlando International Airport (MCO). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Wyndham, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Lake Buena Vista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.