We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Polynesian Village Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #121 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Virginia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have been to Disney more times than I can count. Stayed at most of the hotels on property, as well as some off, along with villa rentals, too. Nothing in the world beats The Polynesian! Ohmygosh! This was our first stay although we've eaten at Ohana's a bunch so was used to going into the lobby. The longhouses seemed dark and 70sish. At least that was my fox with the grapes attitude. Reality is - they are so up-to-date with fresh linens, looks, great bath. I can go on and on. Up until this trip, I would have said the Contemporary was my favorite Deluxe (Port Orleans Riverside is fav moderate and Pop Century fav value). The kids loved Animal Kingdom. But now, we ALL love the Polynesian. Checking in, we were told we were going to have a magical stay and our garden view room was upgraded to a Magic Kingdom view! To make it even better, the room is HUGE. The beds are so comfortable, the pillows are perfect, and the television is flat screen. Our view was amazing. But no matter the view - everyone (except suites which are even larger) get the same size HUGE room. This is like 100sf larger than rooms at Wilderness Lodge and Animal Kingdom (which have the same size rooms as the moderate Caribbean Beach Resort). And the furnishings are all top notch. We weren't too keen on Captain Cooks for pick up meals - and the in room pizza had a cardboard crust...but that's nothing compared to the great room and lovely staff. OH and it is the most quiet room we've ever had. Can't hear people in the hall or upstairs. Tons of things to do from watching the tiki torch lighting, to renting a boat, to making leis. We've been to Disney so many times, even my girls were asking to stay at the hotel instead of going to a park. It was delightful!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    574
    264
    148
    62
See reviews for
1,333
231
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

We recently returned from a stay at the Polynesian. We loved this hotel. Our room was in the Fiji building and our room was so quiet the entire stay. We never heard noise from any other rooms, the hall etc.

The room is a nice big room with two queens and a day bed which is great. Our building had a bathroom with one sink but that worked fine for us. The fridge is included and is a good size. We ordered a few groceries from gardengrocer.com (they were awesome and the poly will store your perishables until you return from the park) and the fridge can hold small half gallons of milk, sodas, breakfast items like yogurt etc. We ate breakfast in our room every day: muffins, yogurt, milk, fruit etc can all be ordered.

We really enjoyed the Polynesian theme. The grounds are beautiful, lush and tropical. Our kids were exhausted everyday after dinner so we chose to watch the MK fireworks from the beach and swim every night. Our kids are older but lifeguards are on duty every night until 10:30. The kids loved the waterslide!

There is a hair wrap person at the pool and my daughter wanted a hair wrap badly...they are only there from about 12-5 just FYI. We did spend one day of the trip at the pool so she was able to get one.

The Poly has great pool activities for younger kids and older kids with picking out objects from the entry of the pool for the really little kids to a name that musician game for families. They also had a hula hoop contest and dance party. Really fun if you have time to spend an afternoon at the pool. Those start about 2.

Housekeeping was fantastic and left towel art on the bed twice during our stay (we opted for housekeeping only every other day though).

Get a resort mug to refill...it pays for itself just in coffee!

We ate at Ohana (fabulous) and Captain Cooks twice (not terrible). We did not eat at Kona cafe. Saw people eating sushi one night at the sushi bar and it looked great!

Lots of friendly and helpful staff at the Polynesian. We would return in a heartbeat! Loved all the transportation options too

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

The Polynesian has the most wonderful atmosphere. You feel like you are in a Hawaiian paradise along with Disney characters Lilo & Stitch. It is a great place to stay for people of all ages and the staff is always kind & helpful.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

This was my family's first stay at The Polynesian and I highly recommend it. The room was clean and spacious for three adults and a teenager. Mousekeeping left towel animals and leis each day which was very nice. Got a better rate on Orbitz for a lagoon view room than Disney was offering and had a view of the castle and a great view of the fireworks each night. The monorail was very convenient. We only ate once at one of the hotel's restaurants, breakfast at Kona Cafe, and it was good. Everyone from check-in to waitresses to mousekeeping was very friendly. I had heard the rooms were noisy, but we had no noise problems. The longhouses are a bit spread out and we were pretty far back near the TTC, but I liked the quietness of our location. A very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I waivered back and forth on the club level room - and we were SO GLAD we made the upgrade decision. If you have small kids, it is absolutely the way to go. We also had the meal plan - which was more food than we could handle - but what we did was go to a few nicer dinners that used 2 meals and ate 2 dinners in the club. There was plenty to eat every night - we could have eaten there every day. We had breakfast each morning before heading to parks early - it was fantastic. Mom and dad had a few drinks and the kids played with new friends.

The kids loved running down the hall for a snack or a drink - it gave them freedom and minimized the time we all spent cooped up in our room.

Watching fireworks from the lounge was also a big plus.

I am a big advocate for the upgrade!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Poly is one of my favorite Disney resorts. You can watch the Electric Water Pagaent and Magic Kingdom fireworks from the beautiful sandy beach every night! This means you don't have to fight the crowds after fireworks and wait for the boat to take you back to your resort - you're already there!

The rooms were recently all re-done, and have large flat screen TV's and the beds are super comfy. You really can't beat staying at a Disney resort when you visit Walt Disney World. You can either take the monorail or boat to Magic Kingdom. You can walk over to the transportation center for the monorail to Epcot.

The dining is great too. You can even get Dole Whip in Captain Cook's! Kona and O'hana are both upstairs, and you can see the MK fireworks from their large windows at night as well. Next to Kona is a coffee bar, with excellent coffee and all types of donuts for breakfast if you want a quick meal on your way out. Otherwise, try the Tonga Toast at Kona Cafe ...Banana-stuffed Sourdough French Toast rolled in Cinnamon Sugar
and served with a Strawberry Compote and your choice of
Ham, Bacon, or Sausage - yummy! (You can see menus on the Disney World website.)

The pool is really cool too, it's zero-entry with a volcano. They don't have a kiddie pool, but the zero-entry park is perfect depth for kiddos. You can watch the fireworks from the pool at night too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Having never been to WDW and not planning to rent a car, we had been strongly advised to stay on-site, considering WDW is the size of Detroit. Thankfully, we had heeded to the advice. The Polynesian Resort is one of the three hotel stops along the monorail. From the hotel, the Magic Kingdom is the second stop. Shuttles in front of the resort to Animal Kingdom, the Disney Studios, Downtown Disney, and the water parks are about a 15 minute bus ride. The monorail to Epcot is less than a five minute walk. The resort itself is quite spread out into different buildings with none taller than three stories. Though I wandered around aimlessly the first night trying to find our building for about 20 minutes, due to the poor lighting and the similarity of the buildings, I quickly identified certain paths and became oriented. As mentioned in previous reviews, the rooms are dark and probably due for a makeover. However, they are large and spacious. Our room had two doubles and a daybed, so we never felt cramped. The beds are comfortable and conducive to sleep, especially after a long day at one of the parks. Our building was located by a smaller pool, but noise was never a problem, though our third floor room overlooked the pool. The central pool maintains the Polynesian themewith a volcano and waterfall. It is also part of the Seven Lagoons which provides a wonderful view of the Magic Kingdom fireworks. The only meal we had at the resort was a serviceable breakfast @ Captain Cook's. Because we had purchased the Dining Plan (strongly advised if you plan on eating your meals on-site and don't have access to a kitchen), we wanted to take advantage of the various restaurants in the resorts and the parks. We made reservations at the restaurants months in advance, again strongly recommended. Our favourite restaurants were the Grand Floridian Cafe, Mama Melrose, and the Cat Cora restaurant. Another advantage of staying on-site is having access to the Magic Express. Upon our arrival, we just hopped onto the shuttle, and our luggage was in our room by the time we returned from the Magic Kingdom that night. Because we were flying to Miami to board a cruiseship, we were able to check in our luggage at the hotel and pay for our baggage fees. As first-time WDW visitors, we had a great time, the direct result of relying upon the precision like planning of Disney.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#114 Business Hotel in Orlando
#136 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Village Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.