We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Under construction, but still a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Dracut, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Under construction, but still a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

The Polynesian is under a big renovation to add DVC bungalows on the water and updates around the entire resort.

The feature pool is closed for renovation but the hotel guests can go to Blizzard Beach at no charge and can bring their refillable mugs and are given towels. We were also given a bottle of sun screen, not sure if that was a promo or they are doing it for all. This was a great accommodation with the feature pool being closed.

Service was excellent as always. I love to stay here when the budget allows and we had a great stay.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    924
    534
    241
    134
    54
See reviews for
1,242
207
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

This was our second stay at the Polynesian and it was even better than the first time. The staff, are as you'd expect from Disney, fantastic: attentive without being intrusive and extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds are the best thing about this resort: the beaches, the tropical setting and at night-time, it's all torch lit. Great for kids (there's a movie on the beach most nights and one of the best theme pools in DW) and you can watch the fireworks at Magic Kingdom across the Seven Seas Lagoon. The convenience of the monorail stopping right at the resort, along with the ferry service to Magic Kingdom make this supremely convenient. Don't miss the weekly torch lighting ceremony outside the lobby and the marina is conveniently located for a boat rental ride around the Lagoon. The only downside is that the restaurants at this resort are so popular that it's virtually impossible to get a table without reserving weeks or months ahead of time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

My family of 5 spent 4 nights in mid August. We knew about the construction ahead if time, but it didn't disturb us at all. Yes the volcano pool is closed, but they give you free tickets to Blizzard Beach ( which we didn't use) so that's more than fair in my opinion!
Staff--very friendly! No wait at check in at ALL! We were greeted with leis and a smile.
They even recommended a pharmacy that delivered to the resort when I needed an emergency prescription!

Room service--very polite and placed my sons Stuffie in cute positions around the room.

Ohana's breakfast with Characters--kids enjoyed it with plenty of photo ops. Food was great and the juice was delicious but still overpriced. You're basically paying for the experience, which was a one-time thing for us.

Captain Cooks--we went with the quick service dining plan and had plenty! We used our extra snack credits for wAters to save $ at the parks. Get the chicken and waffles...oh yes.

We didn't use the pool but we had a perfect view of the fireworks from the lake "beach".

We attended the Spirit of Aloha show and we all enjoyed it. The food was great and you get as much as you want. We did skip out a tad early ( the fireworks viewing on the beach is right there ).

After a day at Magic Kingdom the ferry service is great! The park is packed with people at the front to watch the fireworks and Wishes show but we didn't have to fight for the monorail--we just hopped on the ferry and enjoyed the ride back!

If we go to Disney again we will stay here again! It's nice, convenient, and the atmosphere is great!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Even with the construction going on, the Polynesian was excellent. The only inconvenience was the lack of a second pool- and they certainly made up for that with free passes to Blizzard Beach. The bus was just a few steps away from the main entrance, and it was a quick ride to Blizzard Beach. There was a separate entrance for Poly guests to pick up free passes, towels, and even complimentary sunscreen-- they are really trying their best!

Because of the construction, the Polynesian only has about half as many guests, so it was blissfully quiet. The staff still working there were excellent. Theresa at the front desk really did her best to make our stay outstanding.

The bell staff was also great. When it was time to leave they loaded up all our gear on the golf cart, and delivered it and us right to our car. The kids thought it was one of the best rides at Disney, lol!

Captain Cook's snack bar has reopened, and it was great. You could get anything from a soda to a lobster roll there, until midnight. And that lobster roll was quite tasty! The Kona was also still operating, and the food was delicious as always.

So don't the construction deter you, the Polynesian is a wonderful Disney hotel- you will be glad you stayed there, we were!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I visited Disney's Polynesian resort yesterday for a drink. And I noticed that a lot of it was under construction. And because of this I would advise you not to stay at this moment in tine. Villas are now getting built at this resort I bet they are going to be lovely once the work is done but please do not stay while this is taking place

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We just got back from a 4 night stay at this fantastic resort. Yes, there is construction going on but it's really not a huge deal. They are giving out free passes to Blizzard beach to make up for the main pool being closed. The pool that is still open is still very nice with incredibly warm water. Rooms are fine but the great things about this resort are the service (all the employees constantly smiling and saying "aloha", the location and the restaurants. So easy to take the monorail to the Magic Kingdom or Epcot. It's tough to have a bad stay at WDW and we would gladly stay at this fine property again

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Poly the week of August 5th. This is my second time staying here. Stayed in Tuvalu lagoon view room. We had a great view looking out towards the water. We were able to see the top half of the castle and watch the fireworks and water parade each night. Fantastic! The room was very clean and mouse keeping keep the room looking great each day. My only complaint about the room is that the sliding glass door did not lock properly.

The volcano pool was closed during our stay but the east pool was very nice. We swam each day and the pool was never crowed. We were give complementary passes to blizzard beach for the length of our stay. Even though there was construction going on, we never heard a thing and barely noticed except for the decorative construction walls. It really never bothered us.

The monorail was great and even though it was on limited hours it did not bother us. We did take bus one day to get to CRT. The bus made only one stop at the GF and then to the MK. It took about 10-15 minutes to get to MK from Poly by bus.

Overall, we would stay here again. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#93 Business Hotel in Orlando
#101 Family Hotel in Orlando
#110 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Polynesian Resort is a relaxing tropical paradise, featuring lush vegetation, thatched roofs, koi ponds and white-sand lakebeaches and offering a warm, welcoming world that celebrates the spirit of the South Pacific and ensures "Ho'Onanea"—the passing of time in languid tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.