We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No no no until renovations completed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Disney's Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“No no no until renovations completed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is undergoing extensive renovation. It will be fantastic when finished but at the moment it isn't fair to be paying top disney prices to stay here when there are so many other great disney hotels. Several areas are boarded up and there isn't really much of a disney feel and several facilities are closed.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    521
    234
    129
    50
See reviews for
1,214
203
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were here for a long weekend last month and had a pleasant experience. We have two small children and the proximity to Disney and the monorail was ideal. We knew about the renovations beforehand, so it wasn't a shock. I read some of the complaints before our stay, and frankly I think those are the type of people who just like to have something to complain about. The main pool was still open at that time, I don't know if I would want to be there after its closing. The entire staff, from front desk to housekeeping, was extremely friendly and helpful the entire stay. The dinner at Kona Café was excellent, the quick service restaurant on the first floor was better than average. The luau was fun for the whole family. I would recommend this resort, but not until the main pool re-opens.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is great because it also has access to the monorails! I usually stay at the Contemporary, but sometimes it fills up. The tropical theme is cute, and the lush garden like landscape is a nice touch. I haven't used the pools, but the grounds are nice and the rooms are nice. Be careful staying in the garden rooms! They can be EXTREMELY far away from the monorail and lobby, making for a long walk after a long day in the parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

It's a nice themed hotel but compared to the others I've stayed in the parks I found the layout complicated, maybe because it was under renovation on the main areas. It was raining at times so getting to and from the room was a hassle. The pool area is really nice with water slides and a great view of Magic Kingdom's fireworks at night.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel is really nice and service is great. It's right inside the Magic Kingdom which is an excellent choice to begin with. You can either use the monorail or ferry to get to and back from the Magic Kingdom. Also, you can use the monorail for Epcot as well. The only time you need to use the shuttle is for Hollywood Studios and Animal Kingdom. It saves you time, which to us was great. Room service is awesome. I would recommend this hotel, even with the construction, to my family and friends. :-))

Room Tip: I like the rooms close to the marina or the aloha show area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days, it was relaxing, comfortable and very clean. We stayed in the lovely Rarotonga. There were works being carried out, but were enclosed and didn't interfere with our comfort. Friendly polite staff. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our kids are younger and still of the age where Magic Kingdom is their favorite. If that is your focus, this is by far the best hotel choice, although it is on the expensive side. It is so much better to get in and out of Magic Kingdom, with several choices (monorail, boat), but also to be able to take a break from the park and go ride back in. We were able to spend more quality time in the park and avoid meltdowns by breaking back at the Polynesian. Plus, the atmosphere at the Polynesian is far better for kids than the other monorail resort choices. The kids absolutely loved the pool area and must have gone down the slide over a hundred times while we were there. The water parade, movies on the beach, all of it is right there. The rooms are nice and lot of renovation continues. The restaurants are mediocre and nothing to recommend, but that is true across Disney. I have yet to find a restaurant that I would highly recommend, they are all average or about the same depending on whether character dining interests you.

Room Tip: The biggest drawback to the Polynesian is the cost. It is one of the most expensive Disney properti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
#90 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#103 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Polynesian Resort is a relaxing tropical paradise, featuring lush vegetation, thatched roofs, koi ponds and white-sand lakebeaches and offering a warm, welcoming world that celebrates the spirit of the South Pacific and ensures "Ho'Onanea"—the passing of time in languid tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.