We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful grounds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Polynesian Village Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Polynesian Village Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location, wonderful grounds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I went to Disney World to enjoy the all nighter at Magic Kingdom for Memorial Day weekend. Because of that, I checked out of the Polynesian and planned to stay all night at Magic Kingdom (which was open for 24 hours straight). I lasted until 3:00 AM.
Because my plane was leaving at 7:00 AM, I decided not to take a room. What I did instead, was to sit outside and enjoy the flickering of the tiki flames and eat Dole Whips from the 24 hours open snack bar at the Polynesian. It was magical. I loved it! Yes, and I had a coffee too. The Polynesian has to have the most beautiful grounds of any resort at Disney World. Yes, it is a bit dated.....but sitting out at 5:00 AM and watching the sun rise as the birds burst into song was fantastic! If I stay here again, I will definitely sit outside for at least an hour to enjoy the outdoors. I flew home to rain and 35 degree weather. Yes, it definitely was a treat!

Room Tip: If you can do concierge, it's the best.....it's in the Hawaii building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Arrived Sunday June 2, driving down from GA. Had completed online checkin with two longhouses specified, Tokelau and Samoa. Upon checking in I discovered that they had placed us in Raratonga, good location but with a wonderful view of the parking lot. Not good, asked sweetly if they could check the two buildings I had requested and lo and behold, there was a 2nd floor room in Tokelau, (building that had just completed refurbishment). I was appreciative, but why offer requests if you make no effort to meet them? Room was spacious and in very good condition. One complaint is that the bathroom is a little awkward for a family of four, everything in one square room. toilet is behind basically a quarter wall, I would definitely not call it a half wall as the entire bowl area is visible from the door. Also, no full length mirror anywhere, which would be nice with teen aged girls. Building was considerably quieter than our last stay in Samoa years ago, or else parents are containing their children better ;) Tokelau is convenient to the quiet pool, the great ceremonial hall and the ticket and transportation center for easy monorail access to both Magic Kingdom and EPCOT. From our balcony you were able to actually see Wishes and the Water Pageant and the resort pipes in the music as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcraw45425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We took advantage of online check in prior to leaving home. Once we got to the hotel, we were greeted by the front desk cast member and handed a folder with our keys and hotel info. The whole process took less than 5 minutes. Our room was in the Rarotonga building, which had been recently renovated. The new look is brighter than the old. The bathroom had 2 sinks and a larger countertop. The old bedspreads had been replaced with white duvet covers. Monorail access to the Magic Kingdom and Epcot make this hotel worth the money. Although Disney calls the Polynesian one of its "Deluxe" resorts, it isn't on par with a Four Seasons or a Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanKni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My family of 5 recently stayed at the Polynesian and we were totally impressed. First of all we were greeted by two employees before we even stepped inside the resort and ushered right into check in. To our surprise our room was ready at 11:00 am, and we were given room 2828 which was recently renovated and right next to the Grand Ceremonial House. Our building (Raratonga) was steps from the monorail and Captain Cooks quick service food. The room itself was very large and clean and we could find no fault with anything at the resort. It was the most beautiful and relaxing stay, but our favorite things about the resort were the monorail to the Magic Kingdom and Epcot and the fireworks from the beach every night! My husband also really enjoyed taking the small ferry boat from the resort to the Magic Kingdom. We would stay here again in a split second. We have two special needs children and they also loved this resort because it had a calming vibe. To us it was well worth the room price for the convenience alone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brooke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I am a HUGE Disney fan PERIOD. Unfortunately, the magic only gets less magical. I expected better, especially since I was staying here. I was greeted nicely when I drove up to security. Only to my surprise, they sent me straight to valet, sure valet is great, but if they are going to charge they should tell you first, not ASSUME.
I did not have any one cast member WOW me as they usually do. I found myself saying hi to everyone else. I mentioned I had a stroller (a baby) therefore please put me down for the closest room and on the first floor, if possible, of course. I got the furthest building from EVERYTHING. Oh and on the second floor. Rapa Nui is the name of our building.
To eat was possible one of the biggest missions not to mention how expensive EVERYTHING is. I'm not really sure where I am trying to go with all this, however Disney really needs to do something drastic, it's just not a magical experience, even more so when they are charging an arm and a leg.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't have asked for a better, more convenient hotel considering the monorail was upstairs in the main house. Fireworks can easily be seen from the beach areas. However, the investments in the resort were disappointing. No hot tub could be found. Pool promptly closes at 11pm (only two pools.) Renovated rooms were very well done and spacious, but king rooms are not set for a romantic getaway.. a strange bed/convertible sofa combo on opposite walls creating a maze at night if used. (Fortunately we didn't have to) Everyone on property was extremely willing to give 200% but systems in place (housekeeping and front of the house) went down just as we found out we were e-checked into the wrong room type reserved. They apparently had rooms of our type available but couldn't assign them to us until the system came back on line. Once this was solved, our room keys didn't work and it took two calls to get someone to respond. That is a real headache for staff, but tremendous waste of a day for guests just wanting to get on with our day. Check in took two hours when rooms were clean and available. We purchased artwork at downtown Disney and had it sent to the Polynesian. We had to chase it down after being told it wasn't there. Bottom line, the employees work ten times harder than they should have to because of poor planning for digital and organizational systems. I'd give it a 7 out of 10.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrislhough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Polynesian is categorized by Disney as a "premier resort", after a 5 night stay, I would say it is moderate at best. Much of the original charm from its 1971 opening is still apparent. While other reviews report recent updates, they only brought the rooms into the 1990's. The building next to ours was under renovation during our stay (May, 2013), it was wonderful to wake up to sawing and banging daily. Maybe this renovation will upgrade the rooms to modern "premier" standards. The positives: the volcanoe pool (especially the water slide), the reasonably priced/convenient dining at Captain Jacks, the easy access to the monorail and the friendly staff. Another bonus, the Magic Kingdom's 10pm fireworks are visible from the Polynesian's beach area. I highly recommend the "Spirit of Aloha" dinner show, a bit pricey, but an overall good meal with a great show. You truly cannot beat staying within the Magic Kingdom Resort area. The negatives: the dated and less than plush rooms, the bus system and the crowded pool area. Regarding the buses, the Polynesian shares bus service with the Contemporary and Grand Floridian Resorts. Guests of the Polynesian appear to always be last on [to an already packed bus] and last off [making for extra long rides-typically while standing]. While the pool is excellent for kids, it is undersized for such a large resort. The pictures make it appear huge, it is tiny by comparison to average resort pools and many of the pool partiers did not appear to be staying in the Polynesian. All in all, I would not return to the Polynesian. The high price pushes the negatives to far outweigh the positives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Villas at Disney's Wilderness Lodge
1.0 mi away
Bay Lake Tower at Disney's Contemporary Resort
0.7 mi away
Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Disney's Contemporary Resort
3.8 mi away
Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge
0.7 mi away
Disney's Wilderness Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Polynesian Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Village Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#105 Family Hotel in Orlando
#120 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Village Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the spirit of the South Pacific at this oasis of tropical palms, lush vegetation, koi ponds and white-sand beaches. Conveniently located on complementary Resort Monorail, enjoy moonlit nights on our torch-lined waterfront to the exotic tastes of our world-class restaurants, discover the signature tropical ambience that's made Disney's Polynesian Village Resort a favorite Disney destination since 1971. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing