We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at the Polynesian for the second time in April/May and again had a nice time. However, we did have a problem with the room to which we were initially assigned. We were first given a room with only 1 king bed (contrary to our request for 2 queens) and were unable to move until the second day of our stay. The 1 king bed did not work for our family, so we were forced to repack out luggage, check-out and check back in, wasting valuable vacation time. The hotel was not as helpful as they should have been during this process. Our second room was directly across from the elevator and was extremely noisy. We could hear every conversation until late into the night and again starting around 6:30 am. Disney really needs to work on better sound control in its hotels.
The first room was renovated and it was great, especially the updated bathroom. I also much prefer the new comforters to the gross bed spreads in the unrenovated room.
We stay at Polynesian because of its location. With a toddler, it is wonderful to be able to hop on the monorail and be at the Magic Kingdom in no time. The ability to walk to the Grand Floridian is also a plus.
I also prefer the pool and beach set-up of the Polynesian to that at other hotels. The zero-entry pool's proximity to the beach really adds to the resort ambiance. My son loves the Polynesian theming, especially the tiki statutes.
My main complaint with the Polynesian is that you don't get much value for your money. For the prices charged, the amenities should be more luxurious. I'd like to see the Polynesian upgrade to lounge chairs similar to those at the Grand Floridian.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    518
    232
    127
    50
See reviews for
1206
204
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in the polynesian, it had recently been redone! We loved it! Club Level too! Very clean very very pleased with the property. The Volocano pool was a huge hit with our little boy. The Ohanu Breakfast was amazing! Stay in the club level if you can't it truly is worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed in Roratonga which had just been renovated. It was very nice and roomy. The grounds are so beautiful. The location cannot be beat! Two stops from Magic Kingdom and a short walk to the TTC to get to Epcot. It is however very frustrating to pay top dollar for this resort and not even be able to eat at it's table service restaurants. I feel like Poly guests should have some sort of priority over non Poly guests. The two pools are nice. The volcano pool gets packed by noon, but kids love it! The children's entertainment staff if awesome, especially Brielle! My son already misses her. We did notice over the weekend that the clientele at the pool changed. It appears as if some locals take advantage of the fact that no one checks room keys to ensure that you are a hotel guest. Any one can come and go around the pool. I do wish there were wristbands of a gate that required card access. The lifeguards are wonderful too. We had numerous meals at Capt Cooks and enjoyed every one...good quality and lots of variety.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My family stayed here this past April and had a fabulous time! The hotel is gorgeous and relaxing. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The pool is awesome and was so refreshing after very hot days at the park. I like the bus attendant during the week but I feel there should be a few more buses.
One important tip to travelers...if you decline the maid service on the first day, this cancels it until you request it again. They don't automatically schedule your room.
I recommend The Polynesian to everyone and hope to stay here again. I was most impressed with the airport baggage desk on our check-out day. They were the best and most memorable!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, U.K.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were greeted in such a welcoming manner when we arrived on Disney's Magical Express - we were welcomed the moment we stepped off the coach and I was really impressed that the hotel knew who we were without having to even mention our family name. Check-in was very fast and friendly and we had a lovely room - certainly big enough for a family of 5 - two of whom are late teens! The close proximity to Magic Kingdom is a real bonus. One tip if travelling on the monorail to Epcot - walk to the monorail interchange instead of spending 20 minutes on the monorail just to end right back to where you started. The hotel reception area is really in keeping with the Polynesian theme and very well done and with the exception of Captain Cook's 24 hour cafe, where the hot food is really not good, the restaurants are fabulous. The beach at the hotel is lovely and you can watch the firework displays from here. All in all highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a glorious 5 days at the Polynesian in 2012. It is the tip of the top, the cream of the crop. Expensive. Wonderful. Views and gardens are spectacular. Location can't be beat. A couple of tips: 1) Ask for an upgraded room -- we booked a standard room and ended up with an amazing view of the Magic Kingdom, light show on the water, fireworks, and the Seven Seas Lagoon --- 2) Walk to the ferry landing and take the ferry back and forth from the Magic Kingdom. There are 3 ferries -- each named for a Disney infrastructure guru from times past. I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, NJ
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Since our last review last year, we stayed again. I can tell you that, in the club room building, it has again been renovated. New bathrooms, carpet, wallpoaper and beds. Everything is fresh and clean. Could have had a better check in concierge, but the rest of the staff was pleasant.
Worth the extra money to get a view of the castle and free wine every night, breakfast and food all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#31 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#87 Family Hotel in Orlando
#89 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#89 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Polynesian Resort is a relaxing tropical paradise, featuring lush vegetation, thatched roofs, koi ponds and white-sand lakebeaches and offering a warm, welcoming world that celebrates the spirit of the South Pacific and ensures "Ho'Onanea"—the passing of time in languid tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.