We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for the upgrade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Disney's Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ask for the upgrade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a glorious 5 days at the Polynesian in 2012. It is the tip of the top, the cream of the crop. Expensive. Wonderful. Views and gardens are spectacular. Location can't be beat. A couple of tips: 1) Ask for an upgraded room -- we booked a standard room and ended up with an amazing view of the Magic Kingdom, light show on the water, fireworks, and the Seven Seas Lagoon --- 2) Walk to the ferry landing and take the ferry back and forth from the Magic Kingdom. There are 3 ferries -- each named for a Disney infrastructure guru from times past. I can't wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    842
    479
    217
    121
    49
See reviews for
1129
182
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, NJ
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Since our last review last year, we stayed again. I can tell you that, in the club room building, it has again been renovated. New bathrooms, carpet, wallpoaper and beds. Everything is fresh and clean. Could have had a better check in concierge, but the rest of the staff was pleasant.
Worth the extra money to get a view of the castle and free wine every night, breakfast and food all day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Walt Disney World Resort more than a dozen times over the past years, staying mostly at the Swan and Dolphin but also at all the Deluxe Hotels, but have not commented on TripAdvisor about any of them until now. Why now? I read the reviews about the Polynesian and thought they were very unfair; this is a great hotel, fantastic service and amenities AND probably the best location in the whole place because of its access to the monorail and walking distance to the monorail to Epcot (so especially great if you have kids!). Disney's service is truly unparalleled,always a smiling face, always ready to solve your problem which you won't always find at 5 star hotels like the Four Seaons or Ritz. Staff at these hotels are good but not as accomodating such as free park tickets or rebooking a missed reservation at a full restaurant!

I would also add that we stayed in the newly renovated rooms (see photos) so that may add to bumping up reviews; these are by far the largest rooms on Disney property- for example I found the Grand Floridian rooms to be quite small - and the restaurants have a great selection of food. I would also add the bathrooms are the largest I have seen on property with double sinks. Plus you cannot beat having a 24 hour dining option both downstairs and as room service.

To those scoffing at the value and saying this is not a 5 star hotel, you are right, this is not the Four Seasons in Hong Kong. What you are paying for is the LOCATION and service NOT the room or posh amentiies, paying $500 a night in a hotel elsewhere would get you all these things, so if you are looking for a great 4 star hotel with the best location on property where you can see fireworks from your room and be one stop away from the Magic Kingdom, stay here. If you are looking for a private butler or grand suite to get your money's worth, don't go to Disney, head to West Palm Beach. This hotel for its excellence in Disney Magic gets an A+ in my book.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony or terrace for great fireworks and water pageant views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Polynesian Resort is our favorite place to stay in DisneyWorld. We have stayed for my huband and daugter's birthdays since my daughter was 3 . We were there in October for her 18th birthday. The Polynesian lobby is beautiful and lush with waterfalls and tropical flowers and plants and always something going on there while you're checking in or out: hula dancing, live music, etc. The grounds and pool area are just as beautiful. Volcanoe slide pool is a blast for the kids and we like it, too. It's easy to get to the Magic Kingdom by monorail from second floor or River boat or water taxi. The last time there, my husband and I never left the hotel because we love it there so much; so relaxing in the hammocks on the beach. At night you can see the water pageant in the lagoon from your beach and also the fireworks in MK. Dine in the evening at Ohana's (Family) with family style service with entertainment, or character breakfast - fun for the kids. Don't miss the Spirit of Aloha luau - a must. Wonderful, beautiful, relaxing, fun - I can't say enough good things about the Polynesian Resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Walt Disney World's Polynesian Resort is one of my favorite places on Earth. Disney's service is second to none, and the island decor is perfect in every detail. The carved tikis, music, palm trees, gas tiki torches, beach and pool make you feel like you're actually in Hawaii or Tahiti. If you're looking for a great location for a base to visit all of the WDW kingdoms, The Polynesian is perfect. Centrally located on the Magic Kingdom monorail line, it's also right next door to the Transportation & Ticket Center. From the TTC you can catch the monorail to Epcot or busses to Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, Downtown Disney and many other attractions. While you're there, make sure to have dinner at 'Ohana to make your Polynesian experience complete. Aloha!

Room Tip: Stay in the Tahiti or Rapa Nui longhouses to the right of the Great Ceremonial House and you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What an amazing resort!!!! From the moment you check in you will feel like you have stepped off the plane and landed in paradise!!

You will be greated with a Hawaiian "aloha" and given a flower lei to wear. You are treated with the highest level of respect at all times.

We were given a king size room on the 3rd floor of the Samoa building. We overlooked the pool area. It was breath taking!!! The pool area has a volcano slide that is top for families with kids. The afternoon games by the pool were sure to entertain kids and parents. The white sand beaches give kids a great place to build sand castles while parents relax in lawn chairs and have the bay breeze blow over them for the afternoon. At night, you can watch the movie on the beach, the water pageant parade, and end your evening with the fireworks over the magic kingdom castle!!

The restaurants are top of the line here. I have a food allergy condition and the chef at the quick service Capt Cooks, was more than willing to do whatever he could to accomodate my needs. It was awesome!!!

The boat ride to the magic kingdom is so relaxing, but if boating is not for you, then you can jump on the monorail that goes right beside the resort!!!

If i could give this resort a 10 star rating for families I would. You cannot go wrong with this resort!!!! I love love love it!!!

Room Tip: Samoa building was terriffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Although the rooms aren't luxurious, they are large and clean. The location is excellent with the monorail to the Magic Kingdom being so accessible. The pool area was wonderful. Our kids swam every evening after dinner.
Captain Cook's quick service breakfast was good and being able to eat outside amongst the tropical plants each morning was refreshing.
When we first arrived, I thought it was overpriced but after only a day or so, I really appreciated the convenience of staying there.
We stayed at All Star Movies about 4 years ago (also clean, but not luxurious). The location and monorail convenience of the Polynesian made it worth the extra money for us.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for a volcano view room. We had a standard priced room and we still had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Resort

Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Disney
Disney Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Orlando Polynesian
Disneys Polynesian Resort
Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#29 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#80 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Polynesian Resort is a relaxing tropical paradise, featuring lush vegetation, thatched roofs, koi ponds and white-sand lakebeaches and offering a warm, welcoming world that celebrates the spirit of the South Pacific and ensures "Ho'Onanea"—the passing of time in languid tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.