We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A South Seas Paradise in Central Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A South Seas Paradise in Central Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Walt Disney World's Polynesian Resort is one of my favorite places on Earth. Disney's service is second to none, and the island decor is perfect in every detail. The carved tikis, music, palm trees, gas tiki torches, beach and pool make you feel like you're actually in Hawaii or Tahiti. If you're looking for a great location for a base to visit all of the WDW kingdoms, The Polynesian is perfect. Centrally located on the Magic Kingdom monorail line, it's also right next door to the Transportation & Ticket Center. From the TTC you can catch the monorail to Epcot or busses to Animal Kingdom, Hollywood Studios, Downtown Disney and many other attractions. While you're there, make sure to have dinner at 'Ohana to make your Polynesian experience complete. Aloha!

Room Tip: Stay in the Tahiti or Rapa Nui longhouses to the right of the Great Ceremonial House and you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    536
    241
    134
    54
See reviews for
1,245
208
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
missouri
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What an amazing resort!!!! From the moment you check in you will feel like you have stepped off the plane and landed in paradise!!

You will be greated with a Hawaiian "aloha" and given a flower lei to wear. You are treated with the highest level of respect at all times.

We were given a king size room on the 3rd floor of the Samoa building. We overlooked the pool area. It was breath taking!!! The pool area has a volcano slide that is top for families with kids. The afternoon games by the pool were sure to entertain kids and parents. The white sand beaches give kids a great place to build sand castles while parents relax in lawn chairs and have the bay breeze blow over them for the afternoon. At night, you can watch the movie on the beach, the water pageant parade, and end your evening with the fireworks over the magic kingdom castle!!

The restaurants are top of the line here. I have a food allergy condition and the chef at the quick service Capt Cooks, was more than willing to do whatever he could to accomodate my needs. It was awesome!!!

The boat ride to the magic kingdom is so relaxing, but if boating is not for you, then you can jump on the monorail that goes right beside the resort!!!

If i could give this resort a 10 star rating for families I would. You cannot go wrong with this resort!!!! I love love love it!!!

Room Tip: Samoa building was terriffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Although the rooms aren't luxurious, they are large and clean. The location is excellent with the monorail to the Magic Kingdom being so accessible. The pool area was wonderful. Our kids swam every evening after dinner.
Captain Cook's quick service breakfast was good and being able to eat outside amongst the tropical plants each morning was refreshing.
When we first arrived, I thought it was overpriced but after only a day or so, I really appreciated the convenience of staying there.
We stayed at All Star Movies about 4 years ago (also clean, but not luxurious). The location and monorail convenience of the Polynesian made it worth the extra money for us.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for a volcano view room. We had a standard priced room and we still had a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is my absolute favorite Disney Hotel. We have stayed here 5 times over multiple years: 2001, 2003, 2006, 2009, and 2012. Every time we have loved it. We always pay for the lagoon view, and trust me it is worth it. View of the castle and fireworks from your room, very close to pool, beach right outside the door. Monorail from hotel, 5 min. boat ride from park. Close access to Grand Floridian, Contemporary, and Wedding venue. Transportation center is a 2 minute walk. Fabulous pool, lots of activities. This is the only Disney hotel we will stay at!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Adjoining rooms allowed seven (4 adults & 3 children) to have plenty room mornings and evenings. Housekeepers surprised us with folded towel animals each day and provided excellent service. Food service in the Hawaii building provided our breakfasts and supplemented the Disney Dining plan, particularly allowing for fresh fruit anytime of the day. Highly recommend breakfast with characters and dinner with entertainment at their restaurant Ohana. Our children had many rides down the Volcano slide, roasted marshmallows at the beach campfire, and took turns deciding if we go by monorail or boat to the park. Staying on Disney property means no stress travel between parks and less time spent in transport.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Perspective qualifier: this was our fifth Disney trip in the last five years; our daughters are currently 7 and 9, and we have previously stayed at the Hilton (Downtown Disney), Animal Kingdom Lodge, Port Orleans (Riverside), and Caribbean Beach Resort (Martinique). All stays varied from 6 - 8 nights.

Easily the greatest advantage of this resort is its location. Magic Kingdom was a quick, comfortable ~3 minute monorail trip away. That makes an enormous difference in the morning (easier to make park opening) and more importantly the night after a long day of walking in the sun. Nothing is more draining than a long wait in the line for a resort bus and then standing for 30-40 minutes in a dark crowded bus. That said, there was no avoiding that scenario when travelling to Hollywood Studios or Animal Kindgom. HOWEVER, the bus stop is quite close to the lobby. The monorail station to MK literally runs through the hotel, whereas the different monorail line to Epcot is about a 5 minute walk away at the TTC (think Cinderella's Castle to Space Mountain). Therefore, location reigns supreme here and is really essentially equivalent to Grand Floridian and Contemporary.

All things being equal then, why choose Poly over GF or Contemporary? First, with kids, Poly seems to have the funnest feel to it with the most exotic/tropical atmosphere. Very similar to Animal Kindgom lodge in resort feel, however our room was significantly better. At AK we opted for the bunk beds and 'sierra view' (waste of money on both counts). The room at Poly was WAY better. We stayed in Tuvalu and opted for the park view option. WELL WORTH IT. Our rooms had not yet been updated yet were still great. The best bathroom of any resort we have stayed in however the overwhelming difference was watching the fireworks FROM OUR ROOM. Instead of staying for Wishes and slogging through the cranky stroller wielding mob to exit, imagine watching the firewoeks IN YOUR OWN BED with the lights out?

Character breakfast at Ohana was fun with plenty of food (bacon, eggs, wafles, fruit etc.). Captain Cook's quick service was not really any different than any of the other quickservice 'cafeterias' on any of the other properties.

The pool was a nice manageable size, however the only criticism would be that there are only lounge chairs at one end of the pool, with actual tables surrounding about 2/3 of the available deck space. Despite this, however, we always found lounge chairs and could always see the kids no matter what part of the pool they were in (except the waterslide hehe).

Overall, this is the first Disney resort we found wher we plan to repeat book - no need for us to look anywhere else!

Room Tip: 'Park View' rooms well worth it. Tuvalu was a bit of a hike. Unless you plan to go to Epcot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I would whole-heartedly recommend the Polynesian to anyone who is thinking of staying there! The location is tremendous in relation to the Magic Kingdom and it is a 5-10 minute walk to get to the monorail station to go to EPCOT. Check in went very smoothly and all the check in staff was very friendly and efficient. The room was large for a Disney resort and in my opinion it was very quiet. They are in the middle of renovations but don't let that worry you as we didn't even notice anything except for the signs. The only downside to the room is the price. Even with a Florida resident discount we still paid $400 per night. For us the extra money is more than offset by the feeling you get when staying at a Disney resort.

Room Tip: Samoa longhouse if you want a room by the Volcano Pool. Rapa Niu or Tahiti for something quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#33 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#92 Business Hotel in Orlando
#101 Family Hotel in Orlando
#110 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 847
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Polynesian Resort is a relaxing tropical paradise, featuring lush vegetation, thatched roofs, koi ponds and white-sand lakebeaches and offering a warm, welcoming world that celebrates the spirit of the South Pacific and ensures "Ho'Onanea"—the passing of time in languid tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.