We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smiling staff is great, pool too.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 327 hotels in Orlando
Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A smiling staff is great, pool too.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have stayed twice here, this time due to the construction going on at the Grand Floridian. The first when the Grand Floridian was overbooked. Being so close to the Magic Kingdom is fantastic. The pool is great, the food is surprisingly good too and the service is very good. The rooms are good, and are being updated right now. I hope they update the very noisy A/C, the beds and the safe, the closet doors were bent out of shape and the toiletries are tiny. But without being real luxurious, the advantage of being a stop from Magic kingdom (we were closer to the transportation center than the hotels own monorail stop) and the view of the lagoon and the castle is worth the luxurious price. But they could do better, like having duvets, softer beds, separate showers, quiet A/C units, or new carpeting. But that is not the top priority on peoples minds when they visit. And it actually reminds me of Hawaii. You will enjoy it.

Room Tip: Lagoon View a must. Ground floors have fast access to the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    897
    515
    230
    127
    49
See reviews for
1198
201
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I love the tropics, so this resort was my favorite to stay in! The decorations were so interesting and fun to take pics with. the food was great, and the chef even came out to talk to us about my MIL's food restrictions! So accommodating and friendly. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My family stayed in the Rapa Nui building in adjoining rooms. First the good:

* Everything we needed and asked for from the staff was done with a smile. I cannot say enough good things about the people who work at this hotel.
* The location was so convenient. This building is a 5 minute walk (at most) from the Ticket and Transportation Center with direct monorail service to both the Magic Kingdom and Epcot. We saved so much time being able to get to the parks quickly.
* The rooms were quiet, clean and spacious.
* The tropical theme is well-executed and fun, not silly.

Okay, now the bad:
* The rooms are dark and outdated. Even with every light turned on, I still felt like I was in a cave. Maybe it was on purpose so I would not notice the hole in the carpet, the thread-bare coverlet, or the dinged-up furniture.
* Despite what they advertise, the pools are not heated. It got close to 90 on our trip so it certainly was hot enough to swim, but even my daughter complained about how cold the water was. If a 10-year-old wants to skip swimming because it is too cold, you know you are in trouble. In addition, the "big" pool was closed without explanation several times during our stay.
* The beds and pillows were not comfortable. We stayed for 6 nights, so I really noticed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our family of five had a great stay at the Polynesian. No doubt you are already familiar with all of the advantages of staying on a Disney property. I strongly encourage you to do so, if that is an affordable option for you. Here I would just like to highlight a few random things I didn't know before going to the Polynesian, which you may find useful. (1) The grounds and pools, which are the Polynesian's big draw, are beautiful, however in January it is too cold to take advantage of the pools and beach area, and there is no hot tub for those cold days. So, if you have your heart set on this hotel, consider coming here in another month. If January is your travel date, be aware that you will be looking at these features, not experiencing them. (2) If you are traveling with young children, be aware of two evening events that may disrupt bedtime. The Magic Kingdom fireworks are every night at 8:00 and are wonderful to watch from the resort's beach. If that is the time you normally put young ones to bed, the noise may keep them up. If 9:00 is bedtime for your tikes, then the daily water parade is guaranteed to keep them awake. The music is piped into the resort as the floats go by. It is so loud that if you are lying down, you will have the sensation that it is being piped directly into your pillow. My sounds sleepers were able to sleep through it on the night they went to bed at 8:30, but when I tried to put them down at 9:00 another day, it was a disaster. These are minor issues, but something to be aware of as evening fatigue is often an issue on a Disney trip. Everyone needs their sleep. (3) Just a little shout out to the security staff who rescued my sweetheart and I in record time after we got locked out on our balcony with no phones while the kids were at the Neverland Club. Watch out, those metal hooks can lock on you. Overall we were very happy with our stay and with the convenience of this property. (4) The Magical Express service worked very well for us. In January, crowds are generally smaller, so wait times for the Magical Express were short. The front desk staff was extremely helpful and proactive. We woke up on our final day to find an envelope under our door with our bus information, as well as our airplane boarding passes already printed for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Poly from Jan.17-31.
We were able to check in when we arrived by the Magical Experss around 1:30pm , received the room which I had requested, which was in the Tokelau building. We were able to watch the fireworks at night from our balcony. The room was very comfortable and clean. Our mouse keeper did a great job at keeping our room nice. Having the monorail for transportation to Magic Kingdom and Epcot is a wonderful bonus! The boat ride over to Magic Kingdom is also enjoyable.
Our meals at Captain Cooks and Kona were always good, I would say that Kona is one of the better restaurants on disney.
The quiet pool was so nice and relaxing, good way to spend some sunny afternoons.
I am already looking forward to going back to the Polynesian in January 2014 to see the refurb rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Disney Polynesian, Tonga building, February 2013. The Polynesian consistently exceeds our expectations. We have stayed at other properties, but chose the Poly for our last 3 stays. Quick trips to the Magic Kingdom and Epcot are a breeze with the boat and/or monorail. Concierge rooms are worth the extra pay if you want a quick snack after you return from the parks. We really enjoy walking around the resort area after we come back from a day of playing the parks. The grounds are always clean and you are continuously greeted by friendly staff. We will stay at the Poly again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We just got back from a four night stay at the Polynesian and while there are some perks, we did not think it was worth the price. We even booked during the off-season 35% off special and I think we still overpaid. When we arrived in our room, we found a pile of the previous guests' dirty towels and rags sitting on the edge of our bed. It made me wonder what else housekeeping had overlooked. Also, what other reviewers said about the lack of sound-proofing is absolutely true. I could hear every word coming through the walls. On our last night a family checked into the room beside us with a cranky toddler and the 30-minute crying fits were so loud that I couldn't hear our own TV!

The food court is horribly designed. There are two registers and no space to stand while you are waiting and just a handful of tables to sit at. It took us no less than 30 minutes to get our food and we were there in the slow season. I can't imagine what a nightmare it is in the peak season.

The rooms are nice and the lobby is beautiful. The kids enjoyed the "fake beach" and the torch lighting ceremony in the evenings. Everyone was very nice and helpful. We ordered breakfast to our room on our last morning and actually found it to be very good and not terribly overpriced. Try the Tonga toast - I'm not a fan of bananas, but I still thought it was delicious.

The only real perk is that the monorail runs right outside the lobby, so if you are there for a short trip and want to cut down on transportation time or if you have small children that will need to come back to the room for a nap break, then it might be worth it for you. Otherwise, I would suggest staying in one of the budget resorts on Disney property (All Star, Art of Animation, etc.). They are much more reasonably priced, you still get free parking or transportation and the food courts are designed to handle hoards of people easily.

Hope this helps - have a nice trip!

Room Tip: Request a room in the Tokelau building...it has real balconies on all the floors and is centrally lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#88 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#89 Family Hotel in Orlando
#96 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#109 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Polynesian Resort is a relaxing tropical paradise, featuring lush vegetation, thatched roofs, koi ponds and white-sand lakebeaches and offering a warm, welcoming world that celebrates the spirit of the South Pacific and ensures "Ho'Onanea"—the passing of time in languid tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.