We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of best For kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Indianapolis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“One of best For kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Can't beat this place if u want to make the MK your park of choice at WDW...both monorail and boat are timely to MK...beach is nice and great for watching fireworks...kona grill was better than expected...kids really liked capt cooks not so much the adults....pool is great for kids...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    886
    510
    228
    126
    48
See reviews for
1188
199
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Having stayed off-property many times, this was our first on-property stay. As others have noted, what Disney considers "Delux" is nothing more than a run down Holiday Inn. We were in the Tahiti longhouse. While the location was close to both the beach and TTC, the room was extremely dark and did not look like it had been updated since it was built. Moreover, the much touted Disney atmosphere was severely lacking - no lei greeting upon arrival; despite early check-in, our reservation was lost, etc. Overall, the room was very much a disappointment. Halfway through our stay, we thought why did we not stay at the Residence Inn, which had 2 bedrooms and a free breakfast for less than half of what our Poly room cost. We will not be going back to the Poly anytime soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We are Disney Vacation Club Members and have been vacationing with our family at Disney for the past 21 years. Oddly enough we have never stayed at the Polynesian. We've stayed literally at all the properties except a couple. Needless to say - I wish we would have stayed at the Poly years ago and discovered this original Disney gem. One major discovery that we made was that the Polynesian is the only Disney property that from the pool and the beach and walking the grounds you can see Cinderella's Castle, The tops of the buildings on Main Street, Space Mountain and the Contemporary Hotel all iconic Disney landmarks that constantly remind you of why you are on vacation at Disney. Not to mention all this is view able from your pool that is crowned by a volcano slide, grounds that surround you with tropical flowers and landscape, tiki torches that line the picturesque winding walk ways. The Polynesian also faces the Main lake of Disney so all day long you will see ferry boats transporting park goers. At night head to the Polynesian beach and watch fireworks over the magic kingdom crowd free. Also every night at 9:00 the Water Pageant Parade Light Show floats by. A huge bonus for park goers is that the Polynesian is serviced by the monorail system. You can catch the monorail right at the front door of the hotel and within 10 minutes you are effortless dropped at the front gates of the Magic Kingdom. Continue on and you can stop at the Contemporary or Grand Floridian for shopping, dinner etc. You can also take the monorail to EPCOT. This is huge, no Bus! No Transfers. You will however need to take a bus to the Animal Kingdom and Hollywood Studios. Optionally you can take a very easy and enjoyable boat ride to the Magic Kingdom right from the beach of the Polynesian.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Samoa Building room 3650. We had a square on view of the pool and the volcano and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just returned from 4 night trip to Disney. Rooms are a little tired and need updating, but we didn't spend that much time in the room. The building location is very convenient with quiet pool adjacent. Short walk to great ceremonial house w/restaurants and monorail stop. Also short walk to transportation and ticket center where you can get easy connection to Epcot. Buses to other theme parks, and downtown Disney are available right in front of the resort. The resort is so convenient to Magic Kingdom via monorail. Didn't get to eat at Ohana, but heard that the food is awesome. Captain Cook's has fast food service and the famous Dole Whip. Kona Cafe just okay food. Room service was good and efficient. Coconut crusted chicken was delicious and came with huge salad. Volcano pool was very nice w/water slide. May try Grand Floridian for next on site trip.

Room Tip: Tokelau building is in the center of the resort. Stayed in room 3948 and had view of Cinderella'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for the first time at the Polynesian and were not disappointed. We kept hearing how it was outdated - which it was but it seemed to be part of the charm. We were in Hawaii club level with a perfect view and patio - rooms were spacious. Concierge services were nice but have to say they seemed bored and not always as helpful as they could have been considering the prices we were paying for the rooms. With all that said I would definitely return - great vacation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My wife and I along with our two children stayed at the Polynesian for six nights in late September. It was our first trip as a family to Disney and we wanted to stay at a Deluxe resort to be on the monorail line and be near the Magic Kingdom. I had read many reviews of Disney properties before choosing the Poly and most definitely believe we picked the right place.
We did on-line check-in and requested a third floor room in the centrally located Tokelau building. We received exactly what we wanted. The rooms in Tokelau are among the largest on the property. Two queen beds and a sleeper sofa that my daughter found very comfortable. Our room was clean and housekeeping was very good. The walls are a little thin though. There was only one sink in the bathroom but I believe that is changing in 2013 as all rooms on property are being refurbished throughout the year.
Our kids loved the pool with the volcano slide. The atmosphere is hard to beat with nightly movies on the beach and marshmellow roasting. Sitting in the pool or on the beach area and watching the Wishes fireworks show and Cinderella's castle across the lake is amazing. You're paying for the atmosphere, activities and proximity to the Magic Kingdom. For us to experience the best of Disney the price was worth it.
The last night of our stay we dined at Ohana and it was outstanding. The kids went to the Neverland Kids Club which is on the property and had a great time watching movies and doing arts and crafts. We look forward to returning to the Poly and definitely recommend it if you are willing to pay Deluxe prices.

Room Tip: Request the Tokelau building. Centrally located and great room size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Concierge Building
The resort is very pretty, lots of tiki torches, beach chairs and hammocks. Both a boat or a monorail whisk you to the magic kingdom in minutes. The pool wasn't too crowded but the days were slightly chilly so I don't think that's generally true
The Concierge level is okay. The presentation room is nice - it overlooks the castle and it's a great spot to watch fireworks. The food in the lounge is so so - it's mostly the same every night. We have stayed at the Beach Club Concierge before and the food there was so much better. Also here it was kind of like ask and you shall recieve but it's weird that if you want chocolate milk, yogurt, peanut butter and jelly etc. The housekeeping is terrible, barely passable. And most of the staff is surly. Just not WDW helpful
The staff is also very passive - disgusting wet kids grabbing piles of cookies with a parent in sight and the staff would just shrug. People definitely let their kids run around this lounge like animals and the staff just lets kids stick their hands in hummus and ignores it. Gross
All in all you pay for the convenience not for the service here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#82 Family Hotel in Orlando
#96 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#97 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Polynesian Resort is a relaxing tropical paradise, featuring lush vegetation, thatched roofs, koi ponds and white-sand lakebeaches and offering a warm, welcoming world that celebrates the spirit of the South Pacific and ensures "Ho'Onanea"—the passing of time in languid tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.