We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been Happier!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Polynesian Resort

Save Saved
You added Disney's Polynesian Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Polynesian Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Jasper, Alabama
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been Happier!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Loved the Polynesian Resort! Everything was beautiful and our rooms were neat and clean everyday! Room service couldn't be beat! The kids Neverland club was an excellent choice for our parents night out. Our child didn't want to leave because he was "having too much fun!" Loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,783 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    878
    505
    226
    125
    49
See reviews for
1175
196
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent July 17-23 at Walt Disney World and stayed at Disney's Polynesian Resort. I was a little concerned about this property due to some of the nasty comments on here, but I went with my gut and stayed here anyway. I was quite relieved that this resort met my expectations. I think a lot of people try to rate each hotel exactly the same. For example, compare a hotel in Vegas or Manhattan to a hotel at Disney World. They are not the same; each offers its own pros and cons. It's like comparing an apple to an orange. The resort as a whole is an awesome experience. Polynesian music softly playing as you take a stroll on the tiki lit path by the white sandy beach complete with hammocks or the volcano (SUPER FAST) water slide into the noisy/fun pool. The great ceremonial house has awesome food and shops, places to sit and relax next to the atrium floral and water falls. And of course, as most people have mentioned, the convenience of the Monorail stations at the Polynesian. The room was descent. The bed was comfortable and the amenities adequate. No, there is no jacuzzi tub or fireplace in room (a standard room). No, there is no mini-bar in the room. However, this is Disney World. The whole purpose of the room is to get a good night's rest (or afternoon nap). The rest of the money spent is for outside of the room. If you are wanting to spend the week in the room, then Disney World is not the place for you. Disney World is the anti-hang out all day in your room vacation. It is going to the parks, eating nice food, doing some shopping, and hanging out at the pool/beach. It is watching a luau show, fireworks, or riding the monorail. So please keep that in mind. Now some details about the resort:
Rooms- The rooms are standard rooms, 2 queen pillowtop beds, a "day bed" futon, and a chair. There is a couple of small closets when you walk in the room, and a safe for your valuables in the closet. In our room, the linens looked very clean (no stains). The downfall to the room was the shower faucet needed to be dipped in that CLR stuff. Apparently the water at Disney World is very hard with lots of minerals, and said minerals had collected on the shower faucet causing it to spray in all sorts of directions. I had heard rumors about bed bugs and other nasty creatures. I didn't (repeat DID NOT) see any of that in my room or any of the common areas.
Pools- There are two pools and both have their specialities. The "Quiet Pool" is basically a huge oblong 3.5 ft pool with no fun toys, etc. It has many lounge chairs and covered cabanas that you can sit around and read/enjoy the quietness of it all! However, don't expect quiet around 3 in the afternoon, as many a kiddos go to the quiet pool with their reading parents at this time (still wasn't too noisy---and again, this is Disney World. If you don't like kids, I would highly suggest going somewhere different.) The "Volcano Pool" is totally awesome. It has this giant water slide that you soar down. I saw people from about 3 years old all the way to 60 years old going down it. Your hair will get wet at the bottom; some people you could tell were shocked when they got to the bottom of the slide and went under for a brief second. But, you pop right back up and everything is good---you exit the pool and do it again!!! The beach is right next to the quiet pool, and my wife enjoyed reading in a lounge chair on the beach while I continually utilized the volcano slide.
Great Ceremonial House- We ate at Kona Cafe and Capt. Cooks (didn't do Ohana because we did the Luau dinner for our nice meal at the Poly.) Capt Cooks has just as good of food, and it is cheaper (even on the dining plan its cheaper because you don't have to tip!) Capt Cook's has DOLE WHIP which is nothing but Awesome. If you don't get over to Poly, you can also get Dole Whip at Aloha Isle in the Magic Kingdom. Tonga Toast is available at both Kona and Capt Cooks....exact same meal....$9 at Kona and $5 at Capt Cooks. The shops in the GCH were very nice, and you could practically do all of your souvenir shopping on location.
Grounds- immaculate and relaxing. I especially liked the Tiki torches and Hawaiian flowers.
Spirit of Aloha Dinner Show- This was fun and the food was good (I didn't really like the dessert but the fresh pineapple, salad, bread, and all you can eat ribs and chicken were great). The show was entertaining. Basically while you eat they do some stuff to interact with the audience. Then the last hour is traditional luau dances from the different Polynesian Islands. It is ended with the "fire dancer."
Marina- We didn't use the Marina (opted to go to the Grand Floridian Spa instead), but it looked very nice and kept.
Health Club- Everyone says you have to use the Grand Floridian Health Club. This is true, per se. The health club, titled "GF Health Club and Spa" is actually half way between the two hotels on a nice path by the beach. So, technically the folks at GF have to travel just as far....so don't fret that the Poly has no health club or spa.
Monorail and other transportation- This is a great amenity. If you have the park hopper option.......you want the Monorail access. We would get back from somewhere, rest awhile, and then go over to Magic Kingdom and ride 1 or 2 things before dinner/after dinner. It takes 10 minutes to get to MK. We saw that whole park in the evenings and one morning......you never have to stay at Epcot or MK for an entire day because you are only 15 minutes from your room at any time....easy to rest. We spent a good amount of time riding buses to get to Downtown Disney, Animal Kingdom, and Hollywood Studios. Those parks are definitely worth the bus ride, but I can't imagine how much time we saved with the monorail to Epcot and Magic Kingdom. Another option if you aren't a Magic Kingdom fan is the Epcot resorts; they have convenient boat rides/walking paths to Epcot and Hollywood Studios that would probably an equal amount of time saved.
Would I stay here again? ABSOLUTELY
Any regrets? NONE
Any other hotel recommendations? Contemporary, Floridian, Boardwalk, Wilderness, and Beach Club Resorts all are awesome in the common areas (haven't been in the rooms).

One last thing..... While you should probably see Wishes up close and personal at the Magic Kingdom at least once (so you can see the Electrical Parade, too), the Polynesian Beaches are absolutely just as good of viewing, minus the mass sums of people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

The best resort in the "World", we will definitely be back! Our family of 7 just returned (7/16/11-7/23/11), we had 3 rooms on the first floor of theSamoa longhouse. We've stayed several times at the Beach Club, and by far the Poly is the best. Yes, the pool is shallow and small, but it was enough to cool us off! Try room service, theTeriyaki steak was excellent, not to mention O'Hana's and 24 hour Captain Cook's! The MK can be seen from here, fireworks!!! My request for the Samoa longhouse with connecting rooms on the 1st floor was met! Can't say enough..we all LOVED IT! Only 1 complaint, the monorail was down one evening, making us late for Le Cellier...too late, it was after 9pm and they wouldn't honor our reservation!
Oh yeah, Brazilian groups were in all the parks, like flashmobs..they were rude too!

Room Tip: We usually like a balcony, but chose a patio this time. You can hear footsteps from upstairs, but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011 via mobile

Were excited to see that prices dropped to below $400 a night. So booked for wifes birthday celebration. Got in about 1 pm. Great entrance and lobby. More Hawaii than Hawaii was when we were there. Pretty impressive and beautiful. Parking is free for self park (lot is close not 2 mile trek like some places) and $12 a day for valet. We self'd it and found great spot. Room wasn't ready. So we dropped bags and went to pool. They said would send a text when room was ready. Pool is pretty cool. Has a bar and volcano slide. Also beach with hammocks on the lagoon.
Stayed 2 nights. The rooms were nice. Clean, 2 queen beds - and a fold out couch.
Other reviews have it right. Most of the service not too hot. Nothin set any of it apart from a holiday inn. You are basically spending $350 a night for convenience of monorail and pretty sweet pool. Wife and I both noted that other resorts were friendlier an better service.
Asked for late checkout - even to pay for it, denied. That irked me as they had us wait till 3 pm for our room upon check in, so obviously was available. Passholders, birthday, I tried it all - to no avail.
So we checked bags that morning and went to animal kingdom till about noon, came back and jumped in the pool in leiu of the shower we had hoped to take. 2-1/2 drive home all sweaty not fun.

Tips- captain cooks by pool seemed to be open 24 hrs. Has tonga toast for breakfast - is awesome. Forget paying double for it upstairs.
Monorail is cool, but think next time will opt for nice Hilton and save $150 a night.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

As soon as you step into the Polynesian hotel, you are transported straight to Hawaii. The flowers, pool, and your room all make you feel like you are in Hawaii. All of the employees are the kindest employees I have ever encountered. The rooms are o.k. when it goes space wise, but the decor is beautiful. The restaurants there, Captain Cooks, O'Hana.. are all delicious. The shop is also very neat- I sent a coconut back to my teacher! The monorail system is great for a very quick ride to the Magic Kingdom. At night go to the beach and watch the Magic Kingdom fireworks.. beautiful and free!

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a building (as there are several) closer to the Main House but not directly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Due to hundreds of Brazilian teenagers at the All-Star Movies Resort, my family and I (2 adults, one 8-year old) were treated to an upgrade at the Polynesian. We had visited this hotel a few years ago when we had breakfast at O'hana and I was excited that we would get to stay here. The best thing about the Polynesian is the theme, although I wish they would have thrown in a little more Disney into the theme...like a Micky tiki in the room or something. We stayed in Fiji, which is one of the original buildings. We were on the third floor and had a balcony with a fabulous view of the volcano pool and the marina. The room was quiet when the sliding door was closed, and we appreciated that after experiencing the Brazilian night club at the other hotel. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the few problems we had were quickly remedied (rented boat from the marina had no power-they didn't charge us, breakfast was rung up wrong-they fixed it, there were some problems with switching our hotel: 1 dining plan meal was not credited and we were charged, but they fixed it, and we were also not registered for the Magical Express pick up, but they fixed that, too). The major problem we had was also mentioned by another poster: we woke up with bites all over our feet...not sure if this was sand fleas (we didn't really go to the beach) or bedbugs. The manager gave me a number to call to lodge a complaint, and they sent someone to check out the room, so it's being taken care of. The restaurants are nice...the counter service restaurant, Captain Cook's was very willing to accommodate our special dietary needs, as was Kona, and especially O'hana. Captain Cook's was pretty busy most of the time, but not terrible, AND they have Dole Whips (which are lactose-free, BTW). The gift shops were great and had a wide variety of merchandise, including Advil, and I really loved the Wyland store.
Access to transportation was great, although I would have liked it if the CMs had pointed out that the Transportation and Ticket Center is just a short walk, instead of having us take the almost 40 minute monorail ride around the lagoon to get there when going to EPCOT. We were able to take a bus to Downtown Disney, Animal Kingdom, and Hollywood Studios, and to the ferry to Magic Kingdom.
In all, we really enjoyed staying at the Polynesian, although I really can't see spending almost $500 a night, especially for what you actually get. I think next time we will be staying at a moderate resort (Carribbean, maybe) because I'd rather be able to spend the money to stay at Disney longer. In will definitely drop by for a visit to O'hana, though!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meredithj
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Disney's Polynesian Resort is a beautiful resort with a great pool (with a volcano slide), fake lake (can't swim in it), and lush tropical plants all around the grounds. Since I have been to Hawaii before and stayed in several resorts there (and at the risk of sounding snobby) it was hard to appreciate the "dupe" as it looked a little cheap compared to the real thing. But then again, it is just a Disney Resort for families, so I guess it is to be expected. Everything otherwise was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Polynesian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Polynesian Resort

Address: 1600 Seven Seas Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#29 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#79 Family Hotel in Orlando
#97 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Polynesian Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disney's Polynesian Resort is a relaxing tropical paradise, featuring lush vegetation, thatched roofs, koi ponds and white-sand lakebeaches and offering a warm, welcoming world that celebrates the spirit of the South Pacific and ensures "Ho'Onanea"—the passing of time in languid tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Amex, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your Disney's Polynesian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Resort Disney
Disney Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Disney
Polynesian Hotel Disney
Orlando Polynesian Resort
Polynesian Hotel Orlando Fl
Disneys Polynesian Hotel
Polynesian Resort Orlando
Disney Polynesian Resort World
Disneys Polynesian Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Polynesian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.