We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it as a once and done resort....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Contemporary Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Disney's Contemporary Resort to your Saves list
Disney's Contemporary Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Ocoee, Florida
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“I liked it as a once and done resort....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I have always wanted to stay at the Contemporary and we got the chance for our 33rd anniversary. The resort is the iconic symbol of the Disney line of resort hotels with the monorail running through the middle of the a-frame structure.

We arrived on a Friday and were promptly greeted at the door and the front desk. We signed up for the test when ready room service. This service (just like most other times we have relied on the service) failed to work properly. We only found that we had a room ready through a phone call to the resort. HINT - make sure to program the report's phone number in your phone for any Disney resort.

The room was relatively clean - there were a couple spots on the floor from an apparent juice spill at some point in time but everything else was clean - maybe too clean. As we were getting ready for be we found that the tiled entry had wood cleaner/polish over spray on it making for a slick surface. We called the front desk and the maintenance and house keeping folks were up in minutes. They were wanting to scrub and clean the floors that night but we asked if they could just throw a non-slip rug over the area and clean the following day. The cast had our rug up in a matter of minutes. No complaints after that.

The only nagging issue we had was the house keeping would supply four bath towels, two hand towels and three wash cloths. Three? In the summer I would think most folks would bath morning and night - to that may just be me... Anyway, problem resolved with another call to housekeeping and a supply of 10-12 wash cloths.

All in all my opinion of the resort is one of meh. We enjoyed our stay but found that some of the magic of the iconic resort was myth. The location was GREAT. Though this summer the monorail is going through a modernization program so service does not start until 0830... too late for the plans we made. Service was nice once the monorail started each day. The resort is large and elevator service can feel slow. One car is taken out of service nightly for the Cali Grill - compounding the feeling.

I do have one complaint not resolved during our stay with WIFI. The IT infrastructure folks simply goofed on this resort property. Once on gets away from the elevator core the signal weakens rapidly and drops frequently. I ended up using my personal hot spot while in the room. We had no issue in common areas - only the rooms. I did mention this to the GM who we met on Saturday and will also send a message to the staff through an anticipated survey and through the regular feedback channels. In 2014 this is really unacceptable - especially for a property with a convention center.

So as I write reviews I always ask - will I return... the answer on the Contemporary is maybe. I want to like it and as a DVC member I have stayed on the property once before. More than likely we will stay again - if the Grand Flo has availability issues. If a friend asked me about the resort, I would say go if you can get a decent rate but expect to deal with issues that are associated with the oldest resort on property.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    612
    297
    149
    90
See reviews for
1,088
187
24
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Had a Bay Lake View room. Rooms huge, nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Great in room facilities like a fridge, reliable Wifi. Nice pool, decent cafe and shops, 10 minute walk to the Magic Kingdom. Very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the service and the rooms. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: Bay Lake View rooms at the Magic Kingdom end of the building are great. You can nip out through the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The location of this resort is the biggest advantage to this resort. Add to that the huge room size and Disney customer service and you have a gem. Our family of 2 adults and 2 children stayed in one room with a view of the magic kingdom. There was plenty of room for sleeping, playing and eating in the room. With 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa bed, it's the perfect size. The balcony afforded is views of the fireworks display from Magic Kingdom. It is expensive but worth the price!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here over thanksgiving and it was absolutely amazing. Had a two bedroom suite with three double balconies that overlooked the kingdom. Club level was amazing and I believe this was the best location and rooms in all of disney. A short walk to the magic kingdom. Watched the amazing fireworks from our balcony every night!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was an experience unlike any other for my Disney lovin' family!!! This is, by far, THE BEST place to stay for any Magic Kingdom fan or a person wanting to try an amazing Disney hotel. You can walk to it! We booked a garden wing room simply b/c I have always loved that section of the Resort. Our room was ready @ arrival & we got a magical upgrade w/ a bay lake view! Why was this a "magical" upgrade you ask? At night there is a water pageant that was directly outside of our room. This was such an amazing treat for my family. We danced & cheered from our room. We now have such wonderful memories that we will always cherish. The rooms are beautiful in person, honestly better than the pictures,[& when does THAT ever happen?] real marble floors, not a speck of dust, luxurious, beautiful rooms! As always, Disney delivers the best quality service & exceeds all expectations. The 5 stars can not measure the quality of this place, it is so much more than just a hotel. The pool is perfection,with a great water slide. The monorail that runs right through the tower is a huge draw. The entire place is architecturally beautiful. We had such a wonderful time here. If I could change anything it would be that we should have stayed longer!! LOVE.LOVE.LOVE. Thank you to everyone @ CR that made our stay so AMAZING. I know it takes lots of hard work to do so & we THANK YOU so kindly!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good b/c the resort is not huge, it will just depend on what you are looking for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I have been staying at The Contemporary Resort since I was born! It's always magical to leave your room in the morning, jump right on the monorail and get straight to Magic Kingdom. What's even more magical is when your exhausted after a long day in the park, you can beat the crowds and go right on the express monorail for resort guests only! You are home so much faster than the buses and the rooms are so comfy and amazing. The magical Disney touch down to every last detail. Thanks for such great memories!

Room Tip: Stay in the tower where the monorail is…..some of the garden rooms are a very longggggg walk away an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Excellent for family when visiting Magic Kingdom and Epcot because of the monoraill transportation. Rooms where nice and modern,
I only had one complaint and it was that my room was not properly cleaned when we arrived and housekeeping was in a bad mood when I told her that my room needed more attention. Beside that everything worked ok.

Room Tip: In front or Magic Kingdom. The bay side is more quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Contemporary Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Contemporary Resort

Address: 4600 North World Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#38 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#116 Business Hotel in Orlando
#119 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Contemporary Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 655
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat to this ultra-modern Resort hotel and discover award-winning dining, white-sand beaches, spectacular views and dazzling pools. Walk to Magic Kingdom park, or catch the Resort Monorail as it breezes through the iconic A-frame Contemporary Tower. Inside, a 90-foot-tall mural by Disney Legend Mary Blair-responsible for the distinct look and feel of the "it's a small world" attraction-celebrates the Grand Canyon and the American Southwest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Disney's Contemporary Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Contemporary Hotel Orlando
Disney Contemporary Hotel
Contemporary Disney Resort
Disneys Contemporary Resort
Contemporary Hotel Disney
Contemporary Resort
Disney Contemporary Resort
Disneys Contemporary Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Contemporary Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.