We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2007

Stayed 3 days/2 nights with my GF in ealry January. Room was booked for a discount through Site 59. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are amazing. Huge flat screen TV. The most comfortable mattress I've been on. Coffee Maker in the room. Balcony with great views. Modern bathroom. As another reviewer said, they just refurbished the rooms. One negative: No directions to the rooms yet. So you get off the elevator and you are left wandering around looking for your room. Took us 10 minutes!

They have shuttles to all the theme parks and that's great. Keep in mind, at 21h30, tooks us one hour from Epscot to here. It's a 2 minutes drive!

Parking is FREE: but the walk from the parking to the hotel is a small hike. Nothing to change your mind about the hotel for. When you think that the SWAN charges 9$ for every In/Out.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,146
    983
    582
    322
    254
See reviews for
1,213
730
101
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2007

Stayed at this hotel 24 Dec 06 to 1 Jan 07 - this is the third time I have stayed at this hotel in about ten years and it is always a reliably great place to stay.
I agree with all the previous posts - rooms have been re-furbed to a good standard ( my only beef is that they have made the shower bigger than the closet - not really enough room for two - the closet that is ! )
Proximity to Downtown Disney is a big plus, free internet on level 3 ( four PC's) , two bottles H2O in fridge each day, gym included, nice restaurant - The Outback - tennis, beach volleyball, basketball courts, new Sports bar opened since my last visit, Mears transportation to Disney parks every 30 mins.
I noticed there is a $12 daily charge if you book through website like Expedia etc.. - this gives you gym use and water.
We booked a package with Virgin so did not pay this.
We took a trip to the main Disney hotels to see the Christmas decorations etc.. and if we should have upgraded our accomodation - but they were so incredibly noisy and busy - it was like you had not left the parks. When we got back to the Buena Vista , we were so glad - it is an oasis of calm and tranquility compared to the Floridian, Poly and Contemporary.
Checked out the Boardwalk hotels too and I would still go back to the Buena Vista Palace.
Nice breakfast buffet too ( $20)

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2006

We went to the Buena Vista Palace for our honeymoon from the 7th until the 17th December. We could not have been more impressed.
The lobby area is very impressive, immaculately clean and lovely seating areas. As it was Christmas there was a lovely Christmas tree and the fireplace was also very festive, it really did look lovely.
Check-In was quick and easy and easy. Upon entering our room we were really pleased. It’s newly refurbished with flat screen HD TV, REALLY comfy beds and pillows, and a lovely balcony area. The room was spotless, especially the bathroom. Our balcony had a great view of Downtown Disney and the pool area; you could also see MGM fireworks on an evening. The hotel grounds are that pretty I think the views from all the balconies form all angles of the hotel will be lovely, with them all having different things to offer, being it views of the hotel, views of Disney or views of Downtown Disney. The room also had a great Air-Conditioning system, not that this was needed in December but would be great in the Summer! The maid service was also very good, they would be up and about early but if you put your do not disturb sign on the door they would not bother you and would come back to clean your room when you were out. We got fresh towels and bed linen everyday. They also provided you with free bottled water and would top your fridge up with that on a daily basis.
Downtown Disney is a 5mins walk through a walkway then simply over the road which was great. The transport to Disney from the hotel is provided by Mears, they were fantastic, and busses are approx every 30mins, but it never felt like we were waiting long at all there are two busses that go to and from the parks all day long from an hr before the parks open until and hour after they close. There are 2 busses that go back and forth one to Magic Kingdom then Animal Kingdom then the other goes to Epcot then MGM . Buena Vista Palace is the last pick up to go to the parks but the last drop off on the way back (it firstly stops at the Best Western and then Grosvenor both are just round the corner), however this wasn't a problem as it was nice to sit back on the bus on the way back to the hotel on an evening and relax from your busy day in the park.
The front staff are friendly and very helpful too; they would always call taxis for you and would be waiting for you to return to help you out of taxis after shopping trips - very helpful.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone, we really were impressed and do not have a bad word to say about it. It looks like a lot of money has been put into the hotel and everything looks very new and fresh, the rooms, lobby and the whole general appearance of the hotel. We did not try the restaurants however did make lots of use of the free internet on the very bottom floor which was great to email friends and family, and it was never too busy either. Would go back without a doubt.

  • Liked — Everything about it looked georgous and it was lovely
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carifolnia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2006

Although we were charged resort fee ($13.50. we did not expect),but this hotel was very pleasant.
great service, beautiful entrance, excellent room. I love this hotel with good value.

Also there were a few PC for quick internet user at first floor. It was free. They have self parking with no charge.

I believe this is 4 star.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, FL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at this hotel. I had originally booked a double-bed room but really wanted a king. The nice woman at the check in desk upgraded us to a room in the tower for an extra $30. It was a fantastic room -- we had a view of Buena vista, a very large room with spa tub and walk in shower. All very clean and nicely decorated.

I will stay here again and bring the kids.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed, view from the room, friendly service
  • Disliked — The bathroom could have had better lighting/a mini bar or fridge would have been nice.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check for online discounts. I'd avoid spring break since I live in Florida.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2006

I'll start with the negatives, because I know that's what makes these reviews interesting, but really, there wasn't anything worth complaining about. The exterior looks a little dated, and the lobby is rather unattractive (like a Hoilday Inn that wanted to be upscale). The self-parking is a bit out of the way, and the valet parking is overpriced (in my opinion either offer complimentary valet or don't). We were there strictly for Disney, and once we parked the car, we weren't driving again until we went home, so we opted for the self park. That's it for complaints.
The rooms are a good size (at least ours was), and the decor is very modern, but still very comfortable. The big LCD TV was nice, but it would be better if they did offer HD service (kind of pointless to have a widescreen HDTV and still only analog service), but that didn't really impact our stay all that much. My wife loved the Rusk products in the bathroom, and I liked that they divided the sink area from the shower/toilet area (many hotels have done this, it makes it easier for two people to get ready at the same time). all in all, the room was very comfortable (we slept great!), very attractive and well-appointed.
Location was great. They offer transportation to the Disney parks (which we took advantage of), and are within a fairly easy walk to Downtown Disney and Pleasure Island (but they offer transportation there as well).
On the rest of the hotel, I can't say too much. We didn't eat at any of the restaurants or stop in the bar. We did (when entering through a side door) stumble accross some evidence that renovations are still in progress, but if we hadn't been looking for a different way in, we would have never noticed.
We'll stay again.

  • Liked — Great room
  • Disliked — Out of the way self parking
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gainesville fl
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2006

Not a good value for the price. Lack of concern on behalf of the staff. Food and sundries were very expensive.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for early checkin--tell them you are sick and need your room early or you will be waiting all day for a room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1014
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa offers 1,014 guest rooms and suites. Amenities include 3 pools, lighted tennis court, basketball and sand volleyball courts, 6 restaurants/lounges and a full-service spa. Located inside Walt Disney World, next to Downtown Disney, featuring over 75 specialty shops/restaurants. Guests enjoy access to 4 Disney golf courses and complimentary transportation to all Disney theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.