We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential but run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Whitefish, Montana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Has potential but run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This hotel is in a nice location and the standard 2 queen lake view room was spacious enough for 3 adults and a child. We were able to get a rollaway bed into the room and, unlike many hotels, we were not tripping over it or having to squeeze past it. The pools were nice, as were the views. We had some fun times in the arcade with our 3 year old, racing cars and motorcycles! Both the restaurant and the sports bar were unimpressive. Service in the restaurant was very bad the first night, and our server in the sports bar was not at all friendly. I opted for room service on two mornings. The first morning, everything arrived on time and was delivered with a smile. The second morning, I had to call them back twice before they got it right. I should also note that the room service carts were FILTHY under the nice white cloth they used to cover it. Overall, this seemed to be a trend, as our room was not as clean as I would have liked. One morning, I discovered a used tea bag stuffed between the paper coffee cups, and nobody in our room was drinking tea! YUCK!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth C, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We get many positive comments on the size and layout of our rooms and I thank you for highlighting those items in your review. Almost all of our 1000+ rooms have balconies with great views--pools, lake, Downtown Disney, fireworks--your choice!

I'm sorry your experience with our restaurant wasn't as pleasing. Your comments will most definitely be shared with the appropriate managers.

Respectfully,
Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    915
    540
    297
    234
See reviews for
1,129
683
98
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

The location is walking distance to downtown Disney and they offer shuttle service to the Disney parks. It's an average hotel, but it's the location and convenience you are paying for. The sports bar/restaurant was horrible....very poor service and terrible food. However, since our food was still frozen in the middle, they did comp our meal. The spa is average, but the therapist (I believe was the manager) was awesome, request him if you go to the spa. The room price was competitive, we used priceline's bidding service, so we didn't actually pick this hotel. But, for the price, it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear TGjax;

Thank you for your review. We do have a great location in the Walt Disney World Resort. We do appreciate your comments about our property. We do have exciting news as we just re-concept our restaurant. one80 Sportgrill & Bar featuring a casual menu with amazing appetizers, salads, and entrees.

We do hope you will come back and try us soon, and our restaurant.

Cindy

P.S. Its warm and sunny in Orlando today:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great location, very good view. the parking was very far from the hotel and there is no good walking path. the room is not that clean. the room was so noisy that we couldn't sleep because we were hearing the people voices from the next room and doors's voice were so loud. and also the internet was not working in our room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Heaba;

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are glad you like the location and the view. I am so sorry that the room did was not up to our standards. Please understand that we take your comments very serious and I have passed them on to our Director of Housekeeping.

We do hope you will try us again on your next visit to Disney World.

Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great location to downtown disney and easy reach of theme parks. Rooms large with nice private balcony. Not all staff friendly and IT system constantly down so had to wait for hours for room allocation. Conference centre very good.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth C, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for the positive comments in your review. We have enjoyed being able to provide our guests with an excellent location, nice sized rooms, plentiful convention space and upscale amenities. Our goal at the Buena Vista Palace is for our staff to provide our guests with a higher-than-expected level of customer service. I'm sorry you didn't experience that during your stay.

Respecfully,
Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The only positive about this hotel is the location. It is walking distance from Downtown Disney and from the balcony you could see Downtown Disney, some of the parks, and the fireworks from Magic Kingdom. However, this is only if you have a room facing the right direction. The pool and outdoor area looked like it would have been nice, but we were visiting at a time when it was in the 30s at night, so there was no swimming.

I generally am not a freak about the cleanliness of a hotel room, but this one was disgusting. As soon as we got in the room, I used the restroom. There were over 10 hairs I could visibly count on the floor in the bathroom which makes me wonder about the germs I couldn't see. There were giant stains on the carpet and smaller stains on the sheets. There were also hairs on the pillows. Gross! You can tell the hotel was outdated, so they attempted to make cheap fixes to update though they were not executed well. For example, the vent was full of rust.

The hotel bar/restaurant food was gross bar food. I would recommend fast food over this food and I don't usually eat fast food. The chicken strips were extremely dry and looked as though they were frozen with freezer burn and then cooked in some type of oven as the were burned in spots. The front desk gave us a book of coupons for Downtown Disney that ended up expiring weeks prior. There was also a hidden fee when we booked on Priceline. We thought we were getting the hotel for $80 a night, but when we checked in we were told there was a $22 a day mandatory hotel fee for various things. So really we were paying over $100 a night since the fee was mandatory. Feels like a trick to make you think you are paying less. It was also a far distance from the parking lot to the hotel and there is no good walking path. Had to walk over grass or up the front driveway. And to top it off the fire alarm went off several times during the day and in the middle of the night.

It was an overall awful experience. Would not recommend and would not return to this hotel. Will definitely be staying in a Disney resort next time because we learned the little bit extra is definitely worth the Disney standards of quality.

Room Tip: Firework balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Meagan;

We are so sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We do have a great location and view. I do want to apologize for your room not being up to standard in the cleanliness level and your restaurant experience . We are reviewing your comments with our housekeeping and restaurant staff.

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and note that we will definitely work on our guest experience.

Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owens Cross Roads, Alabama
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Perhaps I had the only room on the expansive property with these issues, but I don't think so. First, the hotel staff was very pleasant and wanted to help, it appears that property managers may not be as supportive as the general staff. The property is just worn out. My toilet leaked on the floor from its base for three days. After four calls and one note to the manager, which he/she never responded, the leak was reduced to a trickle. The room phone worked on occasion. You don't let your children walk outside without shoes, nor should you on this carpet. It is old, dirty, and smells. I normally would have left, however, I was in meetings all day at the property. Never again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Otto;

I am so sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are reviewing each of your guest room issues with our managers to fix the issues. Please know that the property managers along with the associates do care and take pride in our hotel

Thank you for letting us know as this is how we can improve our services.
So sorry you were disappointed.

Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This resort is great ! Clean Rooms , great view what else can u ask for . I think when u go on your vacation u basically go for attraction around the city its not like u gonna spend your whole time in the room . So that said I think rooms are great. When it comes to food we really didn't try any of their food cause we spend our whole vacations in Disney so we only slept there. The only complain that I can make is that the last night of our stay there was lot of noise from the people next door to us . They were opening and closing door like maniacs. My husband got up and yelled at them but 1 hr later u still hear the same thing . We also rented a car so we enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garth C, Guest Relations Manager at Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Reviewer:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us (and aren't you glad you got out of the frigid weather and snow for a while?)! My apologizies for having noisy neighbors. Most guests are aware that they have neighbors and respect them enough to keep the noise to a minimum. I'm sorry this wasn't the case with you.

Again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Respectfully,
Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1014
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa offers 1,014 guest rooms and suites. Amenities include 3 pools, lighted tennis court, basketball and sand volleyball courts, 6 restaurants/lounges and a full-service spa. Located inside Walt Disney World, next to Downtown Disney, featuring over 75 specialty shops/restaurants. Guests enjoy access to 4 Disney golf courses and complimentary transportation to all Disney theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.