We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but probably won't stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Buena Vista Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but probably won't stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This resort has more of a condo feel than a hotel. The property itself is beautiful, and they have some nice amenities like an arcade, two pools, free bus transportation to Disney and a character breakfast. However, it is very spread out. Parking is extremely far away, and then it's a long hike to the room (at least ours, which was located on the "island.") Not knowing this, we left our stroller in the car and it was quite a feat to maneuver our baby, preschooler and our luggage to the room. The room itself was nice and the bathroom had nice, thick towels. However, the shower was downright painful; the water felt like little needles and there was no way to adjust the pressure. One of the most miserable showers I've ever taken.

Aside from the nice features, given the many other opportunities for lodging in the area, we likely won't stay here again. It is too inconvenient to not be able to run to the car if you forget something, and with two small children, this property just really didn't meet our needs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    1,050
    609
    339
    278
See reviews for
1,307
766
105
626
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (713)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walpole, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We Were doing a long weekend trip to go to Disney, so we chose this hotel. The location was great, but the rooms were pretty good. Very nice employees. The mattress was memory foam so that was comfortable to sleep on. The rooms were a little dirty. It is very handy to Downtown Disney. They need to work on the pool area a little because it is not in the best shape. Overall this was a good hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

From the moment you walk into the Buena Vista Palace you realize that this was once a grand hotel. Unfortunately, time has taken its toll on this once former beauty. The halls are scarred from the years of collisions with housekeeping carts. The carpets are stained, pulling at the edges and bunching up. Windows in the halls were covered with handprints and dirty. The café area is cramped, chaotic and expensive ($4 for a coffee, $3 for a bagel). The fitness center, while filled with equipment, is filled with old stuff....rusting!! The internet is a $15 add on that comes out of the $22 a day fee added to the room charge and is absolutely horrible. I ended up getting a better connection using my phone as a hot spot. All that being said, the room was clean and large and the $80 a night I paid was average for being across the street from downtown Disney. Given the choice I would not stay here again but would opt for the Wyndham next door.

Room Tip: We had a handicapped room which had a huge shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great staff! Absolutely everyone from meeting rooms and banquets to housekeeping went out of their way to be pleasant and helpful.
Our room was a king suite which has a separate bedroom and bath from the small living area and half bath. The room has a fold out couch in the living area and a day bed in the bedroom where a child could sleep. Note: the fold out was very uncomfortable so they quickly brought us a roll away with a nice thick mattress.
Our room had a small refrigerator, microwave and safe.
The buildings include many conference rooms, ballrooms and an exhibit hall. They offer a cafe or mini market which serves Starbucks for breakfast, pool bar serves lunch,a restaurant featuring an all you can eat steak and seafood menu and a sports bar for dinner after 5pm. Room service pizza is also available.
There are two pools, games rooms, basketball court, playground and its a short walk to Downtown Disney. The hotel also offers shuttle service to the parks.
There is a daily resort fee of $8 a day if you want to take advantage of the fitness center, spa and wireless Internet. I really feel wireless Internet should be provided to all guests free of charge, but that's just my opinion. Spa and salon options are "resort priced" meaning about double what you'd pay at home.

Room Tip: We stayed in building #4 which is located 'on the island' about a two minute walk from the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield Peverel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Well situated close to Downtown Disney, a short walk across the road. Bus transfers to Disney parks - never precise with times but free and convenient. The pool was a tad cold in March, but a good facility.
The room was well equip with a small fridge. Seating was not ideal for us.
Bar restaurant was good as was Avu-Avu (ask for veggie options as not advertised).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The 1st room we were checked into had dirty sheets. We were given a 2nd room but it made us more aware that the cleanliness of this hotel has really gone bad in the last year. We stayed here in May of 2011 & 2012. We returned because we thought it offered good location & it was clean. Not any more - it really shows as though the staff no longer cares & is in need of a deep cleaning. Toilet dirty, baseboards thick with dust, headboard dirty, carpets really stained…etc.

One other thing that really bothered us is when we checked in around 3 pm there was an in room dining tray in the hall that someone had finished with pizza & other food left on it. We went to Epcot & returned around 10 pm that night & the same tray was still sitting there getting a rotten food smell, totally disgusting! Not one employee cared enough to take the initiative to remove that tray.

I informed the manager at the desk that night that we would be checking out the next day & going elsewhere. We would have left then but we had already put our daughter to bed. We felt really uncomfortable there & neither my husband nor I slept well that one night because in the back of our minds everything felt dirty & uncared for.

This hotel needs work!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Tremblant, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We are Disney lovers and have been staying on sight for years. We usually stay at the beach resort(which we love) which is an Epcot resort. Because of an injury we have not been back to Disney for two years. We are not able to enjoy the parks at this time so we had the next best thing. We went on Hotwire and had a fantastic surprise . The buena vista palace! We are already planning our return for next year. The location to down town Disney and the disney bus transportation is amazing . My only complaint is that it is very dangerous for pedestrians to cross the road to down town Disney. They want you to walk up to the intersection and cross with the lights but we like to conserve our walking energy , since all days include lots of walking.

Room Tip: We had a lake view and bonus Down town Disney view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OrlandoInterested, Manager at Buena Vista Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Reviewer;

Thank you for your kind reviews. I am glad to see you were able to come back and visit after two years.
We do have a great location directly across from Downtown Disney. It is best to cross at the cross walk for safety reasons, but the good news is that as an alternative we do run buses to and from Downtown Disney in the evening.

We hope that you are able to come down and visit us again soon!

Love the room tip:)

Sergio Delpino
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
B Resort & Spa
B Resort & Spa
#90 of 329 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wyndham Lake Buena Vista
#186 of 329 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 stars 4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Hotel & Spa

Address: 1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buena Vista Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1014
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa offers 1,014 guest rooms and suites. Amenities include 3 pools, lighted tennis court, basketball and sand volleyball courts, 6 restaurants/lounges and a full-service spa. Located inside Walt Disney World, next to Downtown Disney, featuring over 75 specialty shops/restaurants. Guests enjoy access to 4 Disney golf courses and complimentary transportation to all Disney theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Buena Vista Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.