We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Breakfast For 2 Daily!
Ranked #206 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice old hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel was old but well maintained.
It has a small grocery store where you can buy breads, beverage and wines (better not to expect you can find any napa wine there)

It was relatively cold and couldn't use the swimming pool but any how no one would stay at the pool side when they need to venture the Disney World.

The only reason I don't give 5 is that it's old. They did nice job but it's just old.

Room Tip: I was on 6th floor but still the cooling tower noise was quite bothering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,846 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,048
    847
    478
    260
    213
See reviews for
1013
630
93
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here for the Disney Marathon Weekend. The location is definitely excellent. We are right across from Downtown Disney--we could walk the street there & very close to parks. However, check-in was not very good. They gave us a room & upon entry it was DEFINITELY not cleaned. There was trash in the cans, food in the fridge, hair in the sinks, and the bedding wasn't cleaned. We called the front desk & they sent a bell-hop to give us a new room & key. We didn't need help w/our bags, so we just took the key & went to our new room. HOWEVER, it was occupied. They gave us an occupied room. There were personal items and clothes everywhere. Now we were really upset because apparently, they give out rooms to anyone at this place....what if they give out a key to our room? The front desk didn't help us enough. All they did was give us another room.----That's it!!! There's was no discount or voucher offered. We took the 3RD ROOM because we were in a rush to get ready for the marathon, but I will not be returning here. It's too much of a gamble next time.
Also, the breakfast was $12 each for a cold breakfast!!!! Cereal, pastries, fruit----REALLY???
Paper-thin walls too---you can hear everything!!
Also, there's a VERY LONG WALK from the hotel to your car!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed from the 22nd December until 5th January. We picked the hotel for it's location and the free shuttles even though we had a hire car. The room was spacious and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. It was serviced every day but there was a degree of inconsistency as to the amount of cups we had for the coffee maker, some days 1 others 4. Bit of a pain having to ring housekeeping after a long day out to get these delivered. The room could have done with being dusted, we don't think it was done during our stay. Also the balcony needed a sweep. Having said all of this the staff were helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We were a bit concerned after reading some of the comments on here before we went but we believe you only get back what you put in. If you are friendly towards the staff they are more likely to help you. Things won't always run smoothly in a hotel of this size but if you have a problem and it is resolved quickly and efficiently then there should be no cause for complaint.

Room Tip: We stayed in 292. Great position in a corner without a lot of through traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel was lovely. It is a relatively large hotel with a conference center attached, so sometimes the checkin/out lines can be long. However, the staff was very nice and accommodating.

Great things:
Free Self Parking
our reservation came with the breakfast buffet which was delicious
Sundays they have Minnie and friends at breakfast which is super fun
Walking distance to downtown disney and buses for the parks

Not so great things:
Thin walls as to be expected
Small showers
Small hot tub

Overall it was a lovely place for a young couple doing things on the cheap!
Tip: Traffic getting to 4 is usually awful, look at a map and take the back route to avoid it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over New Years, specifically to take in Magic Kingdom on NYE. Reception staff were friendly, and whilst I had wanted a Disney Firework view that was not possible, (I booked a resort view in error many months ago and couldn't upgrade as sold out), We were allocated a DownTown Disney view in the Island building.

The room itself was nice and clean, Extra coffee was provided promptly, Beds were fabulous and the pillows... well if I could have taken home I would have!!

WiFi was available in the rooms, and included in our room charge.

Car Parking is some distance from the hotel, but then I guess this comes at an expense of the location. Our Island Room was also perfectly located for a rear pedestrian exit to the DownTown Disney area. The only problem here is that I am pretty sure there were a group of 'local' boys' messing around in the building and I felt a little insecure leaving our belongings behind on our long day out. I think the hotel needs to put in a security gate to protect all guests.

My main concern was the trip to Magic Kingdom and back. Our outbound trip was very busy, but a bit of a laugh - although not all made the first bus. Not so sure how much longer others had to wait, but our 5-10 minute wait was acceptable.

HOWEVER..........whilst I was prepared for an epic journey back to the hotel, I was no where near prepared for the actuality. Upon leaving Magic Kingdom at 1.15am along with about 1/2million others the trip back over the lake to the bus collection point was so daunting, we were fortunate and got a hot tip to walk to the Contemporary and take the DownTown Disney transportation. What a result!!! We were tucked up in bed an hour later...........Those in the queues for monorail/ferry boat onto buses/cars, well I've no idea how long we estimate 3-4 hours judging from the queues everywhere.

Therefore, whilst the hotel were good to us, and the room pleasant and comfy, I would elect to stay at Disney if returning this time of year again, primarily for the transportation.

Finally, if you want a Disney Firework room, pay for it! Don't leave it to chance, or mistake the booking form like I did :(.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a good stay at this property. Several stores and restaurants nearby that provided cost effective meals. Room was just ok while the daily housekeeping was average. While we're to blame for accidentally leaving $60 in cash out, housekeeping surely "cashed in". We called hotel security and were told there was little to nothing they could do about it. Drag! Lessons learned.

Room Tip: Don't stay near an exit. We could hear maintenance every morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

So.... Yea, the walk from the parking lot was long; but it wasn't anywhere near as long as the amount we walked in the Disney Parks. If you're afraid of a good walk then you're already in trouble. The Hotel and its staff were all fantastic. We loved having a balcony and used it each night to unwind with a glass of wine while looking out over Downtown Disney. Bedtime was great! The beds were fantastically comfy! We will absolutely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Pick a view in the higher tower facing Downtown Disney.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#37 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa offers 1,014 guest rooms and suites. Amenities include 3 pools, lighted tennis court, basketball and sand volleyball courts, 6 restaurants/lounges and a full-service spa. Located inside Walt Disney World, next to Downtown Disney, featuring over 75 specialty shops/restaurants. Guests enjoy access to 4 Disney golf courses and complimentary transportation to all Disney theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.