We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, centrally located. Affordable luxury.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #213 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Largo, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, centrally located. Affordable luxury.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the Palace when it was first open years ago. This past week we had the opportunity to stay there again and was pleasantly surprised. The staff was VERY professional and kind. We arrived early in the morning and requested early check in and was very happy that the room was ready at 8:30am. We received a very good rate. I don't say this very often but it was totally worth every penny. Very Nice hotel! Also nice to walk to Downtown Disney with coupons that were given to us upon check in.

The room was a good size for a family with two queen beds and a nice desk/sitting area that came in handy. The room was very clean, couldn't find anything wrong. Great shower head and water pressure. The bed and bedding was very comfortable.

We stayed on the island which was quite a walk from the main building. There was no parking for those the handicap. But, the pool and entertainment was on the island. Would have enjoyed that if it were warmer.

We didn't have a chance to have a meal at the hotel except the takeout cafe. LOVE the Chocolate Croissants!

The only slight issue we had was when we tried to check out. It is a very large resort with only 4 agents at the desk. During the night it was nice that our bill arrived under the door with check out options. But, None of which worked. The first was to do video check out from our room, that didn't work. Then, to drop the key off at the end of the front desk. We snaked our way through the crowd to look for the key drop box but couldn't find it. I hated to interrupt the front desk since they had a line out the door but asked one of the staff. She informed me there wasn't one and that they normally they put it by the elevator but.... We stayed on the island not in the main building so wouldn't have seen a box had it been put out. A little frustrating. The only other option was to call the operator but we had already left our room and the house phone was difficult to locate. It was a long walk back to the room. The front desk clerk took our keys but it was very awkward. She was very kind about it even though they were very busy.

In the end, we enjoyed our stay and would return. i would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: In the summertime request the island. Pool and children's entertainment is just steps from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,082
    915
    540
    297
    234
See reviews for
1,129
683
98
552
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Service was sub par, food Disney pricey, ants in your bed???

It is a great location with nice pool. But it is pricey with extra fees, our room had ants and we were just underwhelmed with what our vision of a 4 star hotel should be.

Room Tip: Check room before settling in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here to see the ICE exhibit at Gaylord Palms. Very convenient location right across from downtown Disney. The rooms in the Island Resort tower were spacious and plenty big enough to accommodate our family of five, which is typically our biggest challenge at any hotel. The beds were very comfortable, and even had two queens instead of doubles, along with a sleeper sofa. The self parking is a bit far (although we valeted) and it is a bit of a walk to stay in the tower section of the hotel, which can be inconvenient if you are carrying bags and/or need to get something from the main building. They have a great scavenger hunt in the hotel which really entertained my kids. We will definitely stay here again- it's a great buy for the money!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Booked this hotel through Hotels.com. We were very impressed with everything at first. Went to the desk to check in which went smoothly. We were directed to where to park and the parking was terrible. We ended up parking way back in the parking lot and had to walk a pretty good ways to get into the hotel. Got everything in the room and thought we would sit on the balcony to unwind. The balcony was covered in cigerette butts,at least 30. It was late so just wanted to get some sleep. We left early for the park but stopped at the front desk and they said it would be taken care of. We got back late and they were still there. I went back down and they said sorry and would have taken care of. Then we could not get internet to work and they transfered me to tech support,total nightmare. Next morning we went to the park and came back for a break. Still had a balcony full of cigerette butts and agian said it would be taken care of. They offered to remove the resort fee but still does not change the fact that it was disgusting. The inside of our room was clean and the beds slept great!! We usually stay on Disney property and from now on we will stay there. We get free Wifi there and free parking and a great bus system. The character breakfast was not that great unless you plan on spending 2 1/2 hours eating. They are not all out at once so it takes a long time for them to make the rounds,we only saw 2.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Well last year for my Christmas vacation in Orlando, I stayed in a subpar hotel not worth mentioning. This year I thought I'd upgrade to a better hotel and shell out a little more money. I just wasn't aware of how much. I booked with this hotel on Expedia and wasn't aware until after making reservations that there was a $21/night fee or a $75 hold on your card (you choose). I chose to be charged the $21/night fee up front. Then I found out that in that fee, valet parking wasn't included. I was ok with that, however I didn't know I'd have to hike up a mini mountain the first night to get checked in. You basically have to hike across a parking lot (at night in the rain if the conditions were the same as mine) if you don't pay the fee, because they have Alamo rental car signs everywhere except for a few spaces up front if you're lucky to snag one. The others are all handicapped or "Spa/Fitness Room" spaces. I wouldn't have minded the walk if they hadn't made it where it was impossible to just walk up to the hotel. You either had to park way in the back with so-so lighting or park a little "closer" with a ditch so big in between the parking lot and the hotel that you have to walk all the way around. The hotel itself was ok. There were no bonuses and it was clean, which is to be expected. I would've liked for housekeeping to be a little quieter and not express their frustrations by slamming doors in every room. After all, the only thing they did was change the towels. No changing the sheets as they're doing some "recycling" program? All in all, it was a nice room and hotel, but there could've been a lot more amenities included for the money that they charge. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked 3 months ago a nice room for my family, then did a promotion for them on twitter with promise of free upgrade.. When arrived waited for more than 30 mins to check in. Then a RUDE desk clerk checked us in telling me sorry no more upgraded rooms were avaible. So no comp of any kind was given instead a rude attitude. Once in room for 3 adults and 2 teenagers were found only 2 beds in a very small room that barely 2 queen beds fit in.
Called front desk and asked for manager who also was rude and willing to give us a "rollaway bed for free!" Wow! Thanks alot since it wouldn't even fit in tiny room!
I would never recommend or stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for a company event. We arrive late in the evening around 8 pm. Upon check in, we were given our keys and headed up to change for the party.

Except, oops, that was someone else's room. We walked out and returned to check in. The employees seemed pretty passé about it, but apologized & gave us new keys to a room a few doors down and next to the elevator.

Ugh! I thought. But I never did hear the elevator. I was nervous about leaving my belongings in the room even though it was just my clothes.

We put the do not disturb sign up just in case another unsuspecting group was given our room key. Can't really keep out a dishonest person but I know I didn't touch anyone's stuff in that other room.

The room was nice and reasonably clean. It was an accessible room and the hand held shower squealed very loud! Thought it would kill me! I read elsewhere it was outdated and that was not the case in our room. It was updated and nice light colors.

The location is good for downtown Disney, on the very end though opposite of The House of Blues. We did not use the shuttle bus that was part of the $20/day resort fee.

I can't understand why these fees aren't just included in the room price. The room was very reasonable and I've paid 3x's as much for a room at Embassy Suites that wasn't as nice.

I was leery about the key situation and would not feel super cozy about leaving my stuff in my room if I was staying for awhile. But if that doesn't bother you, it was a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa

Address: 1900 E Buena Vista Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#40 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1014
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa offers 1,014 guest rooms and suites. Amenities include 3 pools, lighted tennis court, basketball and sand volleyball courts, 6 restaurants/lounges and a full-service spa. Located inside Walt Disney World, next to Downtown Disney, featuring over 75 specialty shops/restaurants. Guests enjoy access to 4 Disney golf courses and complimentary transportation to all Disney theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Palace Hotel And Spa
Buena Vista Palace Orlando
Lake Buena Vista Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buena Vista Palace Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.