We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really? I have to pay for that?” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld to your Saves list
Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   6677 Sea Harbor Dr, Orlando, FL 32821-8092   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #39 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
FairLawn, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really? I have to pay for that?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Pay for parking? $18 a day? I could understand for people that are going to the park. But for guests? Come on.

Pay for WiFi in the room? We just stayed at a Hampton Inn in Winter Haven and there was free WiFi and free parking there. For this hotel, the Wifi was only free in the lobby. There is a Hilton across the street. I would definitely try that place than this overpriced place.

And the room safe was locked when I checked in. And the fridge wasn't cleaned out. And there was still garbage in the can. Awful. I don't care if you are across the street from SeaWorld. Provide basic service for people.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceGuestSvcs, Manager at Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Our prices for self-parking and Wi-Fi are in line with same category hotels in the area, but we appreciate your feedback. We also regret you experience issues with the safe and fridge in the room. We would like to have the opportunity to rectify the situation, and we invite you to contact Guest Relations at 407-351-5555. Thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,275
    753
    228
    83
    50
See reviews for
991
371
50
587
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed there for 4 nights, for a combination of business and leisure travel. Our review is completely mixed, because we had both great and terrible experiences at this property.

The positive parts: outstanding service at concierge desk by Nicole Johnson, whose recommendations based on our interests & needs were perfect and who made us feel at home; beautiful atrium lobby with fountains, plants, plenty of comfortable seating, cooler with refreshing citrus water for guests, excellent well-stocked gift shop, very good ice cream shoppe plus other dining/bar options; large swimming pool & gardens open 6am-midnight with poolside bar/restaurant; excellent, well located well equipped Fitness Center, and superb Neu Lotus Spa , where we had great services and bought many products (we made frequent use of all of the aforementioned facilities, so we got to know them well.) Room service breakfast was fast and really good, albeit $$$-but it was the only option we ended up considering, since our convention mates told us how understaffed and unprepared Tradewinds was at breakfasttime unless you were willing to shell out $21 for a buffet, and since from our own experience, the lobby Starbucks is crowded, has only the sugary carbohydrates and long lines beginning at 6. The sea motif in the entire lobby is really nice, especially in such a warm climate.

Now, for the negative and unacceptable aspects: older, dirty rooms, 11 am checkout (??!!) staff which pretends to care but does not (we are still awaiting 4 different phone calls to be returned, two of which were regarding theft from room), thin walls, sagging mattresses, problematic plumbing, lazy housekeeping glitches such as forgetting to refilll our tissue box and our meager daily cardboard coffee supply, and having an empty and used lotion bottle in our bathroom when we arrived. In addition, there were old and visibly dirty telephones.

An unpleasant surprise which Marriott Rewards members should know is that there are no clear benefits for loyalty members like there are at all other Renaissance hotels and most of the Marriotts. No executive club, no breakfast vouchers, no offer of a room upgrade, no mercy for late checkout (we were eventually kindly granted a late checkout, not because we're gold level members--they said "sorry, we're fully committed"-- but just because of all the problems we'd encountered.) There was a spa discount, which came as a pleasant surprise.

Also, the advertised shuttle to SeaWorld was completely unreliable, the couple of times we tried to catch it back to the hotel, and a call to the hotel's Guest Services inquiring about from the shuttle stop at SeaWorld yielded no help--after picking up after 20-some rings, the woman who answered offered to call the driver and call me back; that was last Thursday, and I'm still waiting for the call back:)

The same goes for two much more important, promised call-backs which we've still not received: after reporting a lost jacket to the front desk, and later, one of the front desk managers, with promises that Housekeeping plus the off-site laundry company would be contacted, in case my item was accidentally sent out with laundry, then I'd be called back, we STILL have not been contacted, which means that this issue has now become a theft issue rather than a "laundry mistake" issue which the staff is preferring to overlook and ignore, rather than supplying us with insurance or theft report paperwork.

We couldn't tell if this hotel is mainly intended for the business or family travel niche -- we saw both here-- but the fact that there are detriments and drawbacks for both makes us think the hotel hasn't really figured that out, either. Nonetheless, we can only surmise that, with a property so huge, they're overworked, overwhelmed, and understaffed. It's too bad, because the lovely indoor and outdoor amenities plus the proximity to SeaWorld would make it a great destination if it didn't have all of those other serious problems to contend with.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceGuestSvcs, Manager at Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
We appreciate you review our resort with both good and not so good experiences. We apologized for the challenges you experience during your stay. I would like to have the opportunity to discuss it further with you if you have the chance to contact Guest Relations at 407-351-5555. Once again, we appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance for two nights with our grandchildren ages 3 and 7 so we could take them to Sea World. The four of us stayed last December when we took them to Ice at the Gaylord. They saw the Renaissance’s water park at that time and we told them we would bring them back so they could use the water park and visit Sea World. This trip we had a parlor room that gave extra space with the two children. We spent the first afternoon at the hotel’s water park which the children enjoyed and did not want to leave after three hours. We were able to get a pass for the quick line on some of the rides at Sea World There was a shuttle that took us to Sea World and picked us up at the end of the day.
As always the hotel is very clean and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent and a nice selection of food. The only issue we had was the house keeping service only left enough towels for two guests and not four. We called both days and the towels were delivered within a few minutes. During our many stays at this hotel we have found the service to be excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceGuestSvcs, Manager at Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We appreciate such a wonderful review. We are delighted to know that the food was great at the breakfast buffet and that you found again excellent service during your stay. We can’t wait for your next visit and another enjoyable stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and when we returned one evening my sons ipod was missing from the room! The staff did little or nothing to retrieve it! They passed the information along to their insurance investigators and since the burden of proof was on me they could care less! They questioned the maid and all she had to say was I didn't see it when it's obvious that she took it! Now if the burden of proof is on me and I was going to lie about an ipod missing I would think of something may more valuable than an ipod to be missing! This incident ruined our whole vacation! The hotel has done nothing to make this up to me! They send their laundry out to be cleaned and between the maid and the laundry service no one ever saw or located the ipod Hmm! That's because the ipod never left with the bedding It left with the maid! So if you choose to stay at this hotel beware of the maids who steal lock your valuables up! I will never stay at this hotel because it is apparent that this hotel has no concern or compassion for the people who stay there! Now I have to purchase a new ipod for my son at a cost of $300.00! Thank You renaissance!

Room Tip: Lock your valuables up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceGuestSvcs, Manager at Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are terribly sorry that you had a bad experience at our hotel. We apologize for the loss of your iPod and we want to assure you that we have processes and procedures in place when lost items are reported to our staff to ensure a property investigation is completed. We want to restore your faith in our hotel and service team and hope you return again to provide us an opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a great place to stay! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. We walked to Sea World - it is right across the street. The hotel is partners with Sea World so they would give you card for a discount on food at the park. They also give you a pass for the quick line on some of the rides. There was a shuttle to Universal that came 2 times, 10:20am and noon. And picked you up at either 7pm or 9pm. I wish there was an earlier option to go in the morning. The pool is great! Water park is not very big, but it wasn't a big deal. I was there with kids ages 11, 8 and 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceGuestSvcs, Manager at Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing our resort. It is great to know that you and your three kids enjoyed the facilities along with the friendly staff. We hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My fiancee and I stayed here when we went to Sea World. We had another hotel in the area booked, but we cancelled at the last minute and booked here instead. I am so very glad that we did. The hotel is literally across the street from Sea World and we walked there each time we did. The hotel is clean and the staff is extremely helpful and friendly. It is quite the busy place. We ate breakfast at the hotel and the food was good. The sushi bar is beautiful. It doesn't have a very large selection but everything looks very fresh. We were only there for a short visit and we didn't get to enjoy the pool area. The room was very clean and the king sized bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceGuestSvcs, Manager at Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for staying at Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld and share your experience. We love to know that you and your fiancée found our staff helpful and friendly and we look forward for your next visit (longer one so you can enjoy the pool as well).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Seasoned travelers to Orlando. Wanted good value hotel, with large room for first three nights. Many trips have taught me boys (now teenagers 14 & 16) want to go to pool as soon as arrive and always never seem to have enough time at Sea World and and never use the Aquatica portion of our Orlando Attraction Passes! And as the Disney and Universal hotels are so expensive this is a great way of saving some money and spending some quality time at Sea World. Which we did and we loved it even more because of the hotels park benefits which include early entry and fast track passes for some of the rides including Manta which the boys love (get from front desk the night before as limited number available).
Hotel is Huge! Rooms also Huge! The beds were fantastic. Boys instantly loved it and we slept really well. So important after the long journey from the UK. Big pool, (another with fun slides pool but boys too big for it), pool bar serves reasonable value food and spent hot evenings here. Our room rate did not include the buffet breakfast (will be talking to agent who booked) which was a big shock at $20 + tax each, but it did have a huge choice including made to order omelets, so if you like a big cooked breakfast its worth it! There is a Starbucks in the hotel but be warned its busy first thing in the morning. Or you can go to the cafe in Sea World which is just a short walk across the street. Because it was so hot at lunch time we left the park and went to the Florida Mall which has an enormous food court and Five Guys hamburgers which are "absolutely the best" according to no 1 son who doesn't eat much else! We had a car (budget for car parking fee a day) but there is a free trolley service to Disney and Universal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceGuestSvcs, Manager at Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It looks like you and your boys had a great experience this summer. We are very happy to know you choose us and rate us as a good value family hotel. We hope to see you next time you are in Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld

Address: 6677 Sea Harbor Dr, Orlando, FL 32821-8092
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#15 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#23 Family Hotel in Orlando
#28 Business Hotel in Orlando
#29 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld 4*
Number of rooms: 781
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dive in and discover your perfect Orlando vacation at Renaissance Orlando at SeaWorld. Welcomed with complimentary champagne or sparkling cider, you’re the king of the sea when you stay at the Renaissance. Among the largest guest rooms in the area, choose a room with one king bed and sofabed or a room with two queen-sized beds. All include a 32-inch plasma TV and oversized bathrooms with double sink vanities topped with Aveda shower products. Conveniently located to three awesome theme parks, the Renaissance also offers additional coolness for every guest. Health nuts: enjoy the workout facility, accented with personal flat screens on your treadmill of choice. Caffeine-aholics: there’s a REAL, full-sized Starbucks located lobby level. Dining options include Mist Sushi & Spirits serving sushi and handcrafted cocktails; Tradewinds Restaurant serving American comfort food; Palms Pool Bar & Grill which offers free WIFI and casual dining in a relaxing setting and Boardwalk Sport Bar, the perfect place to unwind and enjoy refreshing beverages, imported and domestic beers and light snacks. Competitive siblings: duke it out in a mean game of Foosball or Ping Pong. Luxury-seekers: indulge in the lavish Neu Lotus spa. Catch a wave of family adventure as you splash the day away with the kids in the on-site water park, R Aqua Zone, complete with a thrilling 120-foot water slide, water jets, a rain tree, and more. Papa Penguins and Mommy-mermaids glide in the signature pool or bask in the sun loungers. As night falls, cozy up at one of the fire pits and let your day melt away. Provide your family with the resort that has all the right touches for an exquisitely fun experience. It’s all here. Take the plunge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Orlando Resort At Seaworld Hotel Orlando
Renaissance Orlando Hotel
Orlando Renaissance
Renaissance Hotel Orlando
Renaissance Orlando Resort Seaworld

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Orlando Resort at SeaWorld, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.