We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Weekend Stay with Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Bundle & Save!
Ranked #191 of 329 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Weekend Stay with Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This hotel surpassed my expectations. It's rooms were spacious enough for double queen beds, for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids, and it did not feel cramped. Lobby and the bar were very elegantly decorated. Staff were friendly. We especially enjoyed the coffee bar/bakery serving Starbucks in the lobby as we had our breakfast there every morning. The location is ideal as well in downtown, close to several excellent restaurants, and the trendy HYDE PARK district. The only disappointment was the pool area, a small, squarish pool , very unappealing. But since we spent 1 day at the parks it didn't matter.

Room Tip: The higher the better. There is a local train that went by but the noise didn't bother us. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
It is just great to hear that the service and accommodations you experienced at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown exceeded your expectations. Thank you for sharing your comments and letting us know about everything you enjoyed during your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    244
    185
    86
    42
See reviews for
166
150
55
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My truck told me that his room wasn't worth $34 for two nights, and street parking isn't an option at this hotel. Other than that, I liked it. Nice room, short drive to downtown, pretty good Hilton Honors reception, and the restaurant makes an above-average burger. I'd advise that you try to get a room up high and/or on the side of the hotel away from the railroad tracks. The train can get loud.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of the time you have spent with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. While we are glad that you enjoyed our location and accommodations, we regret that you did not find the cost of parking your truck to be the best value. We hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

No frills stay. Carpet stains, bed-lamps installed crooked, room just looks worn. Restaurant under renovations; room-service (shrimp and angel-hair pasta): shrimp huge and cooked very well but "angel hair" was spaghetti and much too salty, but I was too tired and hungry to complain. Decent for a business trip, and safe area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown and for sharing your feedback. As you mentioned, our property is currently in the process of a refresh to further enhance our guests’ stay experience. We hope you will visit again soon to enjoy all of the great changes taking place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

During our stay we were treated very well. David, Sophia and Chris were very helpful and took the extra steps to take care of us. Very kind & efficient. Everyone at the hotel made me feel special. Great job guys!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It is our pleasure to pamper our guests and make them feel special at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We were thrilled to read your review and learn that you were treated like a queen and felt so special. Thank you so much for sharing your gracious comments. We hope that you will return soon as it would be a privilege to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The valet and front desk attendant were very attentive. Complimentary cocktail, cookie, and breakfast along with a very cool room and comfortable bed made my overnight trip well worth it. Every hotel team member was pleasant and said thank you. Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are completely thrilled to hear that your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown was amazing. Thank you for sharing such kind feedback and letting us know about the friendly and attentive service you received from our associates. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I had to stay here for an extended period of time while looking for a permanent residence. I must say that it was extremely comfortable and the perfect place to stay. The only draw back was there was no reasonably priced on-site laundry option. Overall, everything else was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We're very happy that we could provide you with a comfortable place to stay while you searched for permanent housing. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us and hope that one day we can welcome you back for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here for business because it was very close to a meeting I had the next morning in the downtown area. The location is great and the staff was very friendly. I was greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie and checked in promptly.

The room was a little dated and a few things a little wonky - outlets not working properly as well as some issues with the shower. I checked in pretty late, so I didn't worry too much about those things and went right to sleep. The accommodations were not quite as nice as I am used to at other Hilton properties. Worked okay for a one-night business trip, but I probably wouldn't stay again for any length of time. Location to the Orlando downtown area is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We were delighted to learn that our location worked out well for you and that you found our staff to be so friendly. The feedback you have shared regarding your room is truly appreciated. We would like to let you know that we are currently in the midst of a refresh and would love the chance to welcome you back in the future to experience all the upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Orlando
#121 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.