We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, not so nice parking fee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Ideal Downtown Location
Ranked #193 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, not so nice parking fee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

My truck told me that his room wasn't worth $34 for two nights, and street parking isn't an option at this hotel. Other than that, I liked it. Nice room, short drive to downtown, pretty good Hilton Honors reception, and the restaurant makes an above-average burger. I'd advise that you try to get a room up high and/or on the side of the hotel away from the railroad tracks. The train can get loud.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kilroy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review of the time you have spent with us at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. While we are glad that you enjoyed our location and accommodations, we regret that you did not find the cost of parking your truck to be the best value. We hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Louis, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

No frills stay. Carpet stains, bed-lamps installed crooked, room just looks worn. Restaurant under renovations; room-service (shrimp and angel-hair pasta): shrimp huge and cooked very well but "angel hair" was spaghetti and much too salty, but I was too tired and hungry to complain. Decent for a business trip, and safe area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown and for sharing your feedback. As you mentioned, our property is currently in the process of a refresh to further enhance our guests’ stay experience. We hope you will visit again soon to enjoy all of the great changes taking place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

During our stay we were treated very well. David, Sophia and Chris were very helpful and took the extra steps to take care of us. Very kind & efficient. Everyone at the hotel made me feel special. Great job guys!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rachaelkenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It is our pleasure to pamper our guests and make them feel special at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We were thrilled to read your review and learn that you were treated like a queen and felt so special. Thank you so much for sharing your gracious comments. We hope that you will return soon as it would be a privilege to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The valet and front desk attendant were very attentive. Complimentary cocktail, cookie, and breakfast along with a very cool room and comfortable bed made my overnight trip well worth it. Every hotel team member was pleasant and said thank you. Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are completely thrilled to hear that your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown was amazing. Thank you for sharing such kind feedback and letting us know about the friendly and attentive service you received from our associates. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I had to stay here for an extended period of time while looking for a permanent residence. I must say that it was extremely comfortable and the perfect place to stay. The only draw back was there was no reasonably priced on-site laundry option. Overall, everything else was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We're very happy that we could provide you with a comfortable place to stay while you searched for permanent housing. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us and hope that one day we can welcome you back for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here for business because it was very close to a meeting I had the next morning in the downtown area. The location is great and the staff was very friendly. I was greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie and checked in promptly.

The room was a little dated and a few things a little wonky - outlets not working properly as well as some issues with the shower. I checked in pretty late, so I didn't worry too much about those things and went right to sleep. The accommodations were not quite as nice as I am used to at other Hilton properties. Worked okay for a one-night business trip, but I probably wouldn't stay again for any length of time. Location to the Orlando downtown area is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We were delighted to learn that our location worked out well for you and that you found our staff to be so friendly. The feedback you have shared regarding your room is truly appreciated. We would like to let you know that we are currently in the midst of a refresh and would love the chance to welcome you back in the future to experience all the upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Downtown Orlando is a fairly confined area. Then there's the outskirts and then it gets a little sketchy and dangerous. This would be in the outskirts area. The hotel itself is just fine. Good staff, clean room, coffe maker and my favorite tea in the room.

Free internet and of course the warm cookie were great. Paying for parking though? Come on, that's just a rip off. Its a Doubletree not a full blown Hilton. That was my only big problem with this place. That and them having downtown in their name.

This hotel is not downtown it is next to downtown. I'd stay here again anytime as long as the rate was right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms, our staff and the amenities we offer including our warm chocolate chip cookie given to guests on arrival. We do however regret if you did not find our parking services to be at the best possible value and offer our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your trip. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Central Business District
Courtyard Orlando Downtown
Courtyard Orlando Downtown
#23 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Central Business District
Embassy Suites by Hilton Orlando Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Aloft Orlando Downtown
Aloft Orlando Downtown
#90 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Bohemian Hotel Orlando, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
#134 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing