We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Plan Ahead & Save
Ranked #194 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The valet and front desk attendant were very attentive. Complimentary cocktail, cookie, and breakfast along with a very cool room and comfortable bed made my overnight trip well worth it. Every hotel team member was pleasant and said thank you. Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are completely thrilled to hear that your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown was amazing. Thank you for sharing such kind feedback and letting us know about the friendly and attentive service you received from our associates. Please visit us again soon as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    229
    176
    80
    41
See reviews for
158
136
50
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

I had to stay here for an extended period of time while looking for a permanent residence. I must say that it was extremely comfortable and the perfect place to stay. The only draw back was there was no reasonably priced on-site laundry option. Overall, everything else was great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We're very happy that we could provide you with a comfortable place to stay while you searched for permanent housing. It was a real pleasure to have you stay with us and hope that one day we can welcome you back for a visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here for business because it was very close to a meeting I had the next morning in the downtown area. The location is great and the staff was very friendly. I was greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie and checked in promptly.

The room was a little dated and a few things a little wonky - outlets not working properly as well as some issues with the shower. I checked in pretty late, so I didn't worry too much about those things and went right to sleep. The accommodations were not quite as nice as I am used to at other Hilton properties. Worked okay for a one-night business trip, but I probably wouldn't stay again for any length of time. Location to the Orlando downtown area is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We were delighted to learn that our location worked out well for you and that you found our staff to be so friendly. The feedback you have shared regarding your room is truly appreciated. We would like to let you know that we are currently in the midst of a refresh and would love the chance to welcome you back in the future to experience all the upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Downtown Orlando is a fairly confined area. Then there's the outskirts and then it gets a little sketchy and dangerous. This would be in the outskirts area. The hotel itself is just fine. Good staff, clean room, coffe maker and my favorite tea in the room.

Free internet and of course the warm cookie were great. Paying for parking though? Come on, that's just a rip off. Its a Doubletree not a full blown Hilton. That was my only big problem with this place. That and them having downtown in their name.

This hotel is not downtown it is next to downtown. I'd stay here again anytime as long as the rate was right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms, our staff and the amenities we offer including our warm chocolate chip cookie given to guests on arrival. We do however regret if you did not find our parking services to be at the best possible value and offer our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your trip. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

When I arrived to my room my room keys did not work. I had to call to the desk, and someone brought replacement keys within 10-15 minutes. Once the door opened to my room there were very unsightly bubbles in the carpet. The room looked clean..new furniture, but the carpet was unsightly. I asked the clerk if it was normal to put a guest in a room like this, and she said NO. She also said that I should not have been sold this room. She went downstairs to put me in another room and would bring up new keys. She returned in about 20 minutes. The new room was acceptable. She explained their hotel was going through a renovation, and offered me a complimentary breakfast ticket. I explained to her that I do not have time for breakfast, but she only suggested they open at 6am, and it was really good. I would have preferred a dinner ticket. I am not a breakfast person, and didn't suggest a dinner ticket. I did not go down for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
While we appreciate your feedback, it was disappointing to learn of your experience. I'd like to extend my heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced with regards to your initial room. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope that in the future you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back and surpassing your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a very convient location for Downtown Orlando. The rooms are slightly dated. However good overall experience. The food was very good in the restaurant. Make sure your room is not on the freeway side, it will have significant road noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It's always rewarding when a guest's review mentions how friendly and helpful our staff was throughout a stay. Thank for sharing your kind feedback. We are very happy that your overall experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown and at Sixty South Restaurant & Bar, our onsite restaurant, was enjoyable. The next time you are visiting the area we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st petersburg, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

not what you really think we did not like the hotel at all and wish we would have stayed on international drive or in winter garden never again will we stay at the double tree downtown our room was very nasty and the carpet was dirty and the toilet never worked rite the ac was not working propertly

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your insights regarding our accommodations and your experience, as we highly value your feedback. When staying with us, it is our hope that our guests will make us aware of any concerns they may have so we can address them immediately and get you back to enjoying your time here. We regret any inconveniences you may have experienced and would like to let everyone know that our hotel is in the process of a refresh. One day we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the upgrades and exceed your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.