We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, decent accomodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
December Rates from $89
Ranked #201 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location, decent accomodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed here for business because it was very close to a meeting I had the next morning in the downtown area. The location is great and the staff was very friendly. I was greeted with a warm chocolate chip cookie and checked in promptly.

The room was a little dated and a few things a little wonky - outlets not working properly as well as some issues with the shower. I checked in pretty late, so I didn't worry too much about those things and went right to sleep. The accommodations were not quite as nice as I am used to at other Hilton properties. Worked okay for a one-night business trip, but I probably wouldn't stay again for any length of time. Location to the Orlando downtown area is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We were delighted to learn that our location worked out well for you and that you found our staff to be so friendly. The feedback you have shared regarding your room is truly appreciated. We would like to let you know that we are currently in the midst of a refresh and would love the chance to welcome you back in the future to experience all the upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    204
    161
    73
    39
See reviews for
142
121
46
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Downtown Orlando is a fairly confined area. Then there's the outskirts and then it gets a little sketchy and dangerous. This would be in the outskirts area. The hotel itself is just fine. Good staff, clean room, coffe maker and my favorite tea in the room.

Free internet and of course the warm cookie were great. Paying for parking though? Come on, that's just a rip off. Its a Doubletree not a full blown Hilton. That was my only big problem with this place. That and them having downtown in their name.

This hotel is not downtown it is next to downtown. I'd stay here again anytime as long as the rate was right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed the cleanliness of our rooms, our staff and the amenities we offer including our warm chocolate chip cookie given to guests on arrival. We do however regret if you did not find our parking services to be at the best possible value and offer our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your trip. The next time you are visiting the area we hope that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

When I arrived to my room my room keys did not work. I had to call to the desk, and someone brought replacement keys within 10-15 minutes. Once the door opened to my room there were very unsightly bubbles in the carpet. The room looked clean..new furniture, but the carpet was unsightly. I asked the clerk if it was normal to put a guest in a room like this, and she said NO. She also said that I should not have been sold this room. She went downstairs to put me in another room and would bring up new keys. She returned in about 20 minutes. The new room was acceptable. She explained their hotel was going through a renovation, and offered me a complimentary breakfast ticket. I explained to her that I do not have time for breakfast, but she only suggested they open at 6am, and it was really good. I would have preferred a dinner ticket. I am not a breakfast person, and didn't suggest a dinner ticket. I did not go down for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
While we appreciate your feedback, it was disappointing to learn of your experience. I'd like to extend my heartfelt apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced with regards to your initial room. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We hope that in the future you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back and surpassing your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a very convient location for Downtown Orlando. The rooms are slightly dated. However good overall experience. The food was very good in the restaurant. Make sure your room is not on the freeway side, it will have significant road noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It's always rewarding when a guest's review mentions how friendly and helpful our staff was throughout a stay. Thank for sharing your kind feedback. We are very happy that your overall experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown and at Sixty South Restaurant & Bar, our onsite restaurant, was enjoyable. The next time you are visiting the area we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st petersburg, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

not what you really think we did not like the hotel at all and wish we would have stayed on international drive or in winter garden never again will we stay at the double tree downtown our room was very nasty and the carpet was dirty and the toilet never worked rite the ac was not working propertly

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your insights regarding our accommodations and your experience, as we highly value your feedback. When staying with us, it is our hope that our guests will make us aware of any concerns they may have so we can address them immediately and get you back to enjoying your time here. We regret any inconveniences you may have experienced and would like to let everyone know that our hotel is in the process of a refresh. One day we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the upgrades and exceed your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you need a nice, clean hotel in the Downtown Orlando area, check out the Doubletree by Hilton. We stayed just one night there and it was very conveniently located to the Downtown Orlando area. The hotel staff was very accommodating, the room was comfortable and clean, there is valet parking and self-parking for a few, and all in all, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
It was truly a pleasure to have you here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. Thank you for sharing your feedback and letting us know how much you enjoyed our convenient location, accommodating staff, and the comfort of your room. The next time you are visiting the area, we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel exceeded our expectations.

The rooms were clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was perfectly strong and the amenties were plentiful. The pool area is fabulous. Lots of chairs, not overrun with kids, pool big enough to accommodate a good number of people without it feeling too crowded and lots of towels available. The workout room is standard but sufficient. There were vending machines on nearly every floor that provided ice cold waters after a long, hot day. The staff was attentive and responsive and provided accurate information at the drop of a hat. The hotel restaurant was surprisingly delicious! It was probably one of our favorite meals that we had the entire trip! The other great thing about this hotel is that it has a breakfast cafe that serves egg bagels, wraps and coffees. The hours of operation are perfect for business people and families getting up early to get to the parks. We also really enjoyed the free shuttle van that would take guests to any location within three miles of the hotel. For a couple dollars for a tip this was perfection for us. We used in a handful of times to go to breakfast, lunch, the store, etc. It was great.

Worth noting---when we were looking for a hotel we were looking for one that was within walking distance or at least in close proximity to downtown Orlando. While it's a few miles away and probably safe enough to walk to, we didn't feel like this hotel provided that. We were three woman and while we probably would've felt safer walking the distance if there were a few men with us we didn't feel like walking to downtown would've been the best idea. However, the shuttle was there to take us into downtown---we just had to get a taxi back, which was no big deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is always encouraging for us to learn that we have exceeded our guest's expectations. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations, our staff, dining at our restaurant, and the amenities we offer including the complimentary shuttle service. Once again, thank you for your comments; please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.