We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #202 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Elk River, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Staff very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a very convient location for Downtown Orlando. The rooms are slightly dated. However good overall experience. The food was very good in the restaurant. Make sure your room is not on the freeway side, it will have significant road noise.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
It's always rewarding when a guest's review mentions how friendly and helpful our staff was throughout a stay. Thank for sharing your kind feedback. We are very happy that your overall experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown and at Sixty South Restaurant & Bar, our onsite restaurant, was enjoyable. The next time you are visiting the area we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    181
    144
    67
    35
See reviews for
127
104
39
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
st petersburg, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

not what you really think we did not like the hotel at all and wish we would have stayed on international drive or in winter garden never again will we stay at the double tree downtown our room was very nasty and the carpet was dirty and the toilet never worked rite the ac was not working propertly

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for sharing your insights regarding our accommodations and your experience, as we highly value your feedback. When staying with us, it is our hope that our guests will make us aware of any concerns they may have so we can address them immediately and get you back to enjoying your time here. We regret any inconveniences you may have experienced and would like to let everyone know that our hotel is in the process of a refresh. One day we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the upgrades and exceed your expectations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you need a nice, clean hotel in the Downtown Orlando area, check out the Doubletree by Hilton. We stayed just one night there and it was very conveniently located to the Downtown Orlando area. The hotel staff was very accommodating, the room was comfortable and clean, there is valet parking and self-parking for a few, and all in all, a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
It was truly a pleasure to have you here at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. Thank you for sharing your feedback and letting us know how much you enjoyed our convenient location, accommodating staff, and the comfort of your room. The next time you are visiting the area, we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The hotel exceeded our expectations.

The rooms were clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, the water pressure in the shower was perfectly strong and the amenties were plentiful. The pool area is fabulous. Lots of chairs, not overrun with kids, pool big enough to accommodate a good number of people without it feeling too crowded and lots of towels available. The workout room is standard but sufficient. There were vending machines on nearly every floor that provided ice cold waters after a long, hot day. The staff was attentive and responsive and provided accurate information at the drop of a hat. The hotel restaurant was surprisingly delicious! It was probably one of our favorite meals that we had the entire trip! The other great thing about this hotel is that it has a breakfast cafe that serves egg bagels, wraps and coffees. The hours of operation are perfect for business people and families getting up early to get to the parks. We also really enjoyed the free shuttle van that would take guests to any location within three miles of the hotel. For a couple dollars for a tip this was perfection for us. We used in a handful of times to go to breakfast, lunch, the store, etc. It was great.

Worth noting---when we were looking for a hotel we were looking for one that was within walking distance or at least in close proximity to downtown Orlando. While it's a few miles away and probably safe enough to walk to, we didn't feel like this hotel provided that. We were three woman and while we probably would've felt safer walking the distance if there were a few men with us we didn't feel like walking to downtown would've been the best idea. However, the shuttle was there to take us into downtown---we just had to get a taxi back, which was no big deal.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is always encouraging for us to learn that we have exceeded our guest's expectations. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your accommodations, our staff, dining at our restaurant, and the amenities we offer including the complimentary shuttle service. Once again, thank you for your comments; please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed in Orlando one night to attend a UCF graduation. When we arrived at 3:30 there was quite a line to check in and only 2 attendants to work the crowd. It took quite some time to get our keys. When we opened the door to our room we immediately noticed the filthy carpet in the entryway. The rest of the room was adequate. No one in the lobby was interested in acknowledging us in any way when we were in the lobby. I guess I expected more, since it looked like it might be a beautiful place to stay. I don't need the cookies that badly.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
We are sorry your stay with us was not all you hoped it would be. Our mission is to provide every guest with a great experience which includes the professional and courteous service we strive to offer at all time. Based on your comments, this is not what you experienced during your stay and for that we would like to extend our sincerest apologies. Your comments will be shared with our management team to ensure we take every opportunity to exceed our guests’ customer service expectations. Thank you for thoughts and insights, we hope you’ll consider giving us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I arrived at the hotel and thought I was in for a wonderful stay. At first look I thought I was a grand hotel. But, after a few minutes I realized the building needed work and it's prime had passed in a different era. When I got to the room, the carpets were so stained that I kept my shoes by the bed in order not to step on it in socked or bare feet. The walls and doors in the hallway were scratched and sorely in need repairs and touch ups. At the restaurant where the food was not great but had large servings, I overheard another gentlemen comment on his carpets being dirty as well.

The wonderful staff was the saving grace for this hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful when asked. It was sad to see such a great staff in such an underwhelming facility. It had a very cheap rate for the area so I guess I got what I paid for.

Fortunately, I was only there for a few hours with a 3 am wake up for an early flight out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with regard to our hotel. It’s disappointing that although you’ve shared an appreciation for our staff, we were not able to fully impress you during your stay. Our hotel is currently in the midst of a refresh in which we are working to complete two floors at a time. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future to experience all the upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My husband and I stay a few times a month. We enjoy our stay everytime. The staff is excellent, they welcome us as if we are part of the family.. The room is always clean and updated... We love the beds..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
It brings us great joy to know that you and your husband have continuously enjoyed your stays at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is always a pleasure to have you here and we hope that we can welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Orlando
#123 Business Hotel in Orlando
#202 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.