We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated hotel but poor water management” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
December Rates from $89
Ranked #201 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cabo San Lucas, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Updated hotel but poor water management”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at the Doubletree last week. The interior had been updated and the staff was friendly but the walls were very thin and the hot water took 15 minutes to come in. The front desk explained that "the water had to come from the bottom floors" so just let it run for about 10 minutes for the hot water to arrive." In this age of water conservation, I thought it was an grotesque waste of water. I agree with an earlier review that the trains are noisy as well. Room service was very friendly and the food was good. Not a good location for walking to restaurants but there is a shuttle available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in the area. We appreciate that you have shared your thoughts with regarding your experience and we sincerely regret the delay you encountered with the hot water. All guest feedback is taken seriously and we will share your review with our team. One day we hope to welcome you back and exceed all your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    204
    163
    73
    39
See reviews for
143
121
46
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and I are staying at the DoubleTree in Orlando for a Cru conference. We have been here for roughly 8 days and we have been incredibly impressed by the over all level of customer service. The staff are very quick to answer questions, etc., but the most meaningful thing was that after learning it was my birthday, a kind man named Elias brought me a birthday cake from the Double Tree kitchen and served it at our staff luncheon on Saturday, along with prompting our group to sing for me. It was a very thoughtful gesture and my wife and I were very impressed. I wanted to offer a big thanks to the Double Tree for hiring such kind and attentive staff like Elias and his coworkers. Thanks much :)

Room Tip: The tower is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Happy birthday! We cannot thank you enough for sharing such a lovely review. Providing an exceptional level of service is always our goal so that our guests can experience the best stay possible while at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We are so glad that you and your wife have enjoyed your time with us. Thank you so much for your many kind comments; we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The only complaint I had was the Trains that run throughout the day and night. I would like to have known that prior to reserving my room. Because everything else was top notch I was not so upset. Get staff,location and comfort. I wish I could have applied my points towards my rewards but the fact I went through Price line I was not able to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. We truly appreciate your praise for our hotel and staff however, we are sorry that you were unaware of our proximity to the trains and hope that the impact on your visit was minimal. Please visit us again soon as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Today I came back to the hotel after working nearly 13 hours expecting the normal housekeeping experience but I received so much more. I had been leaving all my personal items a mess from being exhausted and nothing had been touched....before today. My face wash moisturizer and other things left on the counter were organized and placed in an almost artistic manner. My shoes were lined up and in order just waiting for me to slip into them. The remote was left on the bed just like I had been leaving it after falling asleep every night. Everything was PERFECT and it felt good coming in to this experience after a long long day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It is always such a treat to hear from our guests and learn about their experience at our hotel. We are delighted that you had such a great stay and we appreciate your praise for our housekeeping staff. The next time you are in the area we hope that you will allow us the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Thank you to the staff of the DoubleTree, Downtown Orlando! You were very hospitable in allowing use to see a couple of rooms before we checked in. We enjoyed our stay and the room had an amazing view! Loved the blackout curtains! We enjoyed the starbucks in the hotel. Will stay Again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL, USA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I live in Orlando, and my house was being tented for termites for two days, so I had to get a hotel. I used Priceline to put in a bid and got this hotel for $60, but with their "fees," I paid $77 a night total, still an amazing price for an AMAZING hotel. I am an Honors member, so I was on the 5th floor. The hotel is impeccable, the staff are so nice, and the room was GREAT. I travel a lot (A WHOLE LOT), and this hotel room was excellent. The bed .... well, I just didn't want to get up on either morning. It's that comfortable.

The only negative -- in my opinion -- is the parking. There is very limited street parking, so you most probably have to use the hotel parking, which is $18 a day. If we were at Disney, etc., I would expect this kind of parking situation, but this is downtown Orlando. I suggest parking in the garage the first day, and then hunt for street parking in the streets surrounding the hotel. It's a safe area, and it's just a question finding a spot.

What to do here? You are very near Winter Park. VERY. So visit the Morse Tiffany Glass Museum, walk along Park Avenue and the local shops, or take the Winter Park boat tour (one hour -- one of my favorite "hidden" things about Orlando). These are all about 10 minutes max from the hotel by car.

Room Tip: I live in downtown Orlando, only about 3 miles away, so the train that passes by this hotel is the s...
See more room tips
Green Features: It's the usual "just hang your towel up on the shower rack if you plan to use it again," etc.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We truly appreciate that you have let everyone know about your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. It brings us great pleasure to find out that we provided you with a comfortable bed, a great guest room, and the friendly service to make your stay with us enjoyable. Thank you so much for your comments and for sharing your suggestions with everyone. We hope that one day we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent experience. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The Hilton Honors perks were well explained and easily accessed. I would recommend this hotel if you are in the Orlando area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTOrlandoDowntown, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and recommendation of the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown. When a guest conveys that they had an excellent experience it is exactly what we love to hear. We are thrilled that we could provide you with the accommodations and service to make your visit with us great. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Orlando
#118 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.