We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save
Ranked #195 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Comfortable bed and quiet room. The check-in and check-out process was easy and the front desk staff were friendly. We were able to get a nice restaurant recommendation for dinner, just down the street. No problems during my one-night stay. I enjoyed the continental breakfast with my co-workers in the morning.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from the train tracks are quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for mentioning our friendly team, they truly appreciate your kind words!
Hope to see you again soon!

Warmest wishes,
Stephanei Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    233
    178
    82
    41
See reviews for
159
140
51
291
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, TN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nice, Clean Room. I didn't use any of the amenities but I had a great view of the pool from my room and it looked nice. I read reviews about the expensive parking, so I knew not to rent a car. Shuttle service was fast and takes you anywhere within 4 miles at no charge. Front desk is also great about getting a taxi or car service. Complimentary wifi was nice as well. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
So glad to hear about your great stay and we would love to have you back!!!
See you then!

Sincerely,
Stephanie Bnaks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had very good internet connection when you want to keep in touch or take care of business; simple, but tasty breakfast; a Starbucks which came in handy when I had to meet people at the lobby. Spoiling it was when I had an upgrade where the room had a jacuzzi in the middle; room was clean and comfortable, lobby nicely accommodating and not too crowded; the bed was comfortable as in many Hilton hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly service, it was our pleasure having you stay and we hope to see you soon!

Best Regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Beautiful, clean, modern place to stay in downtown Orlando.
Everything was great until they told me parking on premises would cost me $17.00 per nigh.
I understand they don't own the property and have no control over this, however, they should defer the price into the room rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for the fantastic rating of our hotel, we really appreciate it!
We hear you loud and clear regarding the parking and it is something we continue to strive to work with the parking company on, to make this better for our guests. In the meantime we try to be the best value for our guests by having the parking be an optional choice.

Sincerely,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We are a group of doctors who had come here from India for a medical conference. Overall the service was good, rooms were big and cosy. The front desk was quire courteous and I used to get my coffee pods even at 5.000 AM when I asked for them. Our tour operator had arranged for breakfast, lunch & dinner from a catering service ( I guess Tabla Restaurant) so that we all could eat Indian food while we stayed here. I am not writing on behalf of the group. The opinions expressed here are totally my own. The rooms were delightful, the room service was very polite and courteous. The front desk too was helpful. I would salivate on the aroma of the food here but since I am a pure vegetarian and we all ate on the food from the catering service , I am not in a position to opine on food here.

The ear plugs were welcome & commendable, I greatly appreciate the availability of business centre 24x7 and complimentary printing facilities of your boarding passes

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your kind endorsement and hope we will see you visiting the area again some day!

Warm regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Very slow at checking guests in. After you register they tell you you can pay an additional $17 per night to park in "their" parking garage or $20 p/nt for parking w/valet service. There is NO outside parking unless you park on the street which most of the time you'd have to park a city block away or more. I've never had to pay for parking at a hotel that owns the parking garage. This is just a way for them to show a lower price for your stay and to gouge you after the fact. I find it a very poor way of doing business!!!!
Then when you park in the garage the first 2 floors are for valet so you have to carry all of your luggage to the parking garage elevator down to the lobby and take another elevator up to your floor.
Very inconvenient!!!

Room Tip: stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your opinion of the hotel. We appreciate your feedback regarding the parking and valet and we will pass these comments on to the company responsible for the garage as they are a separate entity form the hotel itself. The entire downtown area, like many major U.S. cities, has limited no fee parking and we have to rely on these garages to house our vehicles while in the city center. We do hope that won't prevent you from visiting the city beautiful again, someday soon.

Best Regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Charming hotel, very nice decor. Outstanding customer service, valet and restaurant staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The restaurant serves excellent food, there is a small but nice bar, an Internet hub, a small cafe serving a quick bite and.Starbucks coffee. I didn't use any of the other amenities so I can't opine on those. You can park for a fee, if you self park it's a few bucks cheaper but you have to pay the attendant in cash on the spot because it is a timeshare. I have no complaints, the location is fantastic if you're driving since its right off the highway. This is a great stay if you are in the area on business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel, the team, the food and your stay!
Hope to see you again soon!
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.