We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, noise from highway and train” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
December Rates from $89
Ranked #202 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hoover, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, noise from highway and train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very pleasant, efficient and friendly. My room which overlooked the highway was very noisy so perhaps some type of insulation would help. Be prepared for very loud train whistles at all hours. The food was pretty good and the staff pleasant. I would return but ask for a bit more quiet in my room. The housekeeper was great and left me extra coffee.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and accomodating. We really enjoy knowing that what we do helps you want to return to us, and we are very glad you do! We apologize about the noise issues but please hold on as the new railing system coming in 2014 will greatly help reduce the train noise.

Best Regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    203
    158
    73
    39
See reviews for
142
120
44
266
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great downtown location, near restaurants and shopping. Nice, accomidating staff. Drinks at the bar are expensive but expected for a hotel bar. Great views of downtown. Rooms recently redecorated so looks more modern then it used to. Make sure to get a free cookie!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are happy to hear your appreciation for our location and staff and we thank you for sharing it!
Looking forward to your next visit!

Warm wishes,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel was clean and adequately staffed, but to my dismay the rooms at this hotel were smaller than I am used to. The front desk team was very friendly and helpful and I appreciated the cookies. I was especially impressed how the cleaning lady assisted me every morning with my request for additional coffee and creamers and always did it with the best smile. I won't visit again with my family, but definitely the place for a business traveller.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We appreciate your comments very much and look forward to seeing you on your next businees trip to the area!

Happy Travels,

Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Doris was very helpful and walked the extra mile in little details like mailing my postcards when I could not find stamps in the gift shop. People, not infrastructure, is what makes the difference in these hotel chains that are pretty much the same.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We thank you so much for sharing your good experience! We are so glad we were able to make a difference for you. We hope to see you soon!

Many thanks,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We booked a night at this hotel since we were going to go to a Magic game. It was a nice hotel, they even gave us fresh hot cookies when we checked in! Then, they had a complimentary shuttle that took us to and from the arena. The shuttle driver David was AWESOME, he definitely made the trip to the arena and back very enjoyable! Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the downtown area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We are so glad we helped you to enjoy your visit to Downtown Orlando and we hope you come back to visit us again soon!

Sincerely,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Staying here two nights - tonight and tomorrow - for business. Heather at the front desk is sickeningly polite, interrupting me during check in to repeat if there is anything I need, just ask. But she was unable to help with anything I needed such as the number for Hilton Honors customer service. I don't expect first class service at a DoubleTree, but staff shouldn't go on and on about how they will do anything they can to help guests. Rooms are fine, but the roll of toilet paper in the bathroom is soaking wet - yuck. What's up with that. Calling the front desk means they let it ring for well over a minute before they answer. I called from a house phone and watched them answer. They obviously have no staff other than the front desk, so if they are checking in customers, no one answers the phone. Oh and room service takes an hour to bring the food. Overall, not a bad hotel, but service is subpar. They get two stars from me and fully deserve it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Part of great hospitality is stellar service. Part of offering great service is acting upon it and I apologize we did not proactively or consistently meet this expectation. I'm working with our front office team as well as other members of our staff to address the unresponsiveness, interruptions, and inefficiencies. Maintenance is also currently working on the plumbing issues you mentioned. We hope that you will give us another chance to show you the hospitality we pride ourselves in.

Kind regards,
Stephanie Banks
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very clean. A lovely hotel. an. Staff is very friendly and super efficient. Free morning coffee in lobby in AM. Loved it!

Check in was fast and easy.

We were there for only a quick overbite, and could not use pool, but people were enjoying the hot tub (outdoors). All looked clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie B, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We appreciate this review very much! So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, w ehope to see you again soon!

General Manager
Stephanie Banks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown

Address: 60 South Ivanhoe Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32804 (Formerly Sonesta Hotel Orlando Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Orlando
#119 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown offers prime accommodations near Lake Ivanhoe in downtown Orlando. Hotel guests will find themselves nine miles from Universal Studios® and 16 miles from Walt Disney World®. Attractions within two mile’s reach of the hotel include the Bob Car Performing Arts Center, Orlando Museum of Art, Orlando Science Center, Orlando Shakespeare Theater, and the Amway Arena. Hotel amenities at the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown hotel include a rooftop Olympic-style heated swimming pool and sun deck; a 24-hour shuttle whisks hotel guests to downtown Orlando attractions within the business and culture districts. Indoors, we provide our signature fitness center, gift shop and complimentary 24-hour business center. The hotel offers a lobby coffee bar serving Starbucks® coffee, and a contemporary restaurant. Picturesque Lake Ivanhoe serves as the backdrop to 341 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms, including 22 suites with complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat panel HDTVs, premium cable with on-demand movies, and Sweet Dreams® by Doubletree bedding. Many suites feature views of the pool area and beautiful downtown Orlando and Lake Ivanhoe. The DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown is a perfect pick for an Orlando business meeting or social event, boasting 35,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor event space. Proud to feature the largest hotel ballroom in downtown Orlando, the DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown can comfortably accommodate groups from 15 to 1000 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Orlando Downtown Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Orlando Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.