We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and affordable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Floridian Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
The Floridian Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7531 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Ma
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“clean and affordable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I wanted something close to Disney. After checking online I found this hotel. Checking in the clerk wasn't rude but wasn't friendly either. The rooms were a good size, and clean. There was a small fridge, and they offerred a light breakfast in the morning until 9am. I would def stay here again.

Note we booked on expedia and had to pay a $4.95 + tax resort fee when we got there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write your review. I will make sure our Housekeeping Department knows you were pleased with their efforts. When our team sees comments such as yours it only makes them try a little harder to please our guest.

Our Front Office Manager will review with our staff that we expect smiling, friendly faces and attitudes when our guest check in or have any contact with our Front Desk. Hopefully next time, you will see that from our employees.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being your place to stay if you ever return to Orlando. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    269
    124
    31
    30
See reviews for
247
123
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

stayed last weekend. 4/19 - 4/21 and really enjoyed. we just needed a bed to sleep and a bathroom. we had a clean, spacious room. minumum decor and furniture, but like i said, only needed a bed. we really enjoyed the nook on the window. the bathroom was also pretty big, compared to other economy hotels. best of all - it was clean! thumbs up, because our room was spotless!
constructive criticism - get a big vanity, or double sinks, as we had nowhere to put our toiletries.
get more breakfeast choices (it was just carbs and juice/coffee). yogurt, eggs... would be helpful!
will definitly stay here on our future Orlando get aways!

Room Tip: choose 3rd floor for a quiet stay. you dont hear ppl walking upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear adriana r:

Thank you for posting your positive comments on TripAdvisor, I will pass on to our Housekeeping Department how happy you were with the cleanliness of your room. Comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

We will make the ownership aware of your comments about the breakfast and the bathroom vanities as we are always seeking ways to improve our product and hotel.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be out pleasure to be of service the next time you need a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Nestled in the middle of several name recognizable hotels, this little gem is a perfect spot for families and singles. The rooms are comfortable and clean and everything was in perfect working order. The Front Desk manager, Jadder, made the stay especially positive and willingly addressed our every need! The pool area was spacious given the limited real estate of all properties and the pool was immaculate. Breakfast offerings were simple, but tasty. The location of the hotel is convenient to all area attractions, shopping and restaurants. We would definitely return here!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Goldenlover2012:

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we will pass your comments on to our entire staff. We really appreciate when a guest takes the time to notify us about their experience here at the hotel.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff such as Jadder to try harder to please all of our guests that stay here at our hotel. Jadder indeed is a wonderful team player and truly understands customer service.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you if you ever return to Orlando. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Only had one night at this Hotel. We were greeted at check in by a man who was very cold and uninviting. Had to pay a $6 resort fee ??? Our online booking stated booking included taxes and fees but more money was extracted. We were given a room on the ground floor along a wing that was having floor tiles replaced. There are tiles missing from nearly every room's entry. There are spare tiles lying on the floor in the corridor and also metal strips as well. Not a good or safe thing. This should be blocked off until the work is complete. The room was a Junior Suite. Very basic furnishings, the carpets were not vacuumed very well with dust lines along the wall & specs of scrap all over. The material on the chairs had dried up food spills still on them and one of the bed covers had a stain. It was noisy both from the thin walls and also the floor above you can hear EVERY footstep.... Sleep quality was broken also by an aircon unit (Large) just outside the room's window. Would never stay again. Breakfast was so so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear TOJO57:

Thank you taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced when visiting our property during our renovation. Please know your feedback had been shared with our team and our Housekeeping and Maintenance Department will make immediate improvements.

We will speak to our Front Desk Agents about your greeting at check in; as we do expect all of our staff to be outgoing and friendly to all of our guests. Our resort fee is $4.99 plus tax nightly and it is noted on every web site that it is not included in the room rate. I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the resort fee, be we do not quote any rate that includes that charge.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and to renew your confidence in our hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Good - Pretty photos on website; nice location
Bad - Service, breakfast, no coin laundry, badly managed renovation effort
Ugly - Room Carpet, Pillows, TV, furniture and supplies
Bottom line - You may save a few bucks but may ruin your vacation. Maybe good for couple of nights. Our tour company (TakeTours) booked us for 6 nights - it was a torture.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, Front Office Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear VinnyS220:

Thank you taking the time to write your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced when visiting our property during our renovation. Please know your feedback had been shared with our staff.

We will also make our ownership aware of your comments regarding our current and ongoing renovation. Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and to renew your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here in February just gone, with 3 family members and a friend.
The room was comfortable, very clean and cleaned regularly and thoroughly.
We had no problem with regards to breakfast, we ate toast and cereal, drunk fruit juice and coffee and always managed to grab a seat in the breakfast area.
The television, air condition and Wi-Fi all worked, with no problem whatsoever.
The hotel location is just off I-Drive, but do be careful crossing the roads, they tend to be very busy and boisterous.
There are plenty of dining options all within roughly 10 minutes of the hotel.
The staff were courteous and very attentive, even when our room keys were deactivated a day early, but that was rectified asap but the hotel staff with no fuss at all.
For the price we paid for the trip, the hotel was more than worth it, infact, I have already booked to stay again in November!
Only one of our party is a driver, we hired a car and found plenty of spaces to park, even when it was busy, we discovered more spaces around the back.
The only complaint I do have is the taxi company the lady on guest services booked for me and my friend.
They were very expensive and we paid over $30 to head to Downtown Disney, she spoke to them on the phone as if they were friends - tourist trap!
I can not wait to return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Snafu77:

We are so happy you enjoyed your holiday with us! Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review and we will share it with our staff. They will be glad to know that you enjoyed your holiday here at our hotel. Positive comments such as yours only encourage our team to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

In April, we started with a new transportation company and we have their prices posted so you can see in advance what they charge to go to various areas of the city. The guest service desk also has to use the same transportation company and cannot recommend any other service or company.

Please contact us directly if your travels ever return you to the Orlando area, as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed in Floridian Hotel & Suites for 2 nights. This hotel was chosen because of its location just opposite Quality Inn from where a lot of tours offered free pick-up service. The hotel was around 30 minutes from the airport, very quiet area, basic hotel with a small swimming pool. TV had about 20+ channels. Free Wifi was offered throughout the hotel and there was a complimentary computer and printer at the reception. Breakfast was basic with good juice from the machine, various kinds of doughnuts, small cup cakes, toasts and fresh fruits of apples and oranges. Complimentary beverages were offered 24 hours at the reception which was very good. There was also a tour desk and discounts of around 10% were being offered for most tours. There were also complimentary shuttles to a couple of theme parks. One thing no good was lack of safe in the room and a restaurant in the hotel. Location of the hotel was about 20 minutes walk from downtown Orlando where all the activities and restaurants were. However, the walk was very pleasant and safe even around 10 p.m. as Orlando is a very tourists friendly city.

Orlando Van Transportation offered excellent service at very competitive price. Return journey from airport to International Drive area only cost US$20 per person with good service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear cutiedoggie13:

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and we will share them with our staff. They will be glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation here at our hotel.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our team to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

We look forward to having you return to our hotel should ever return to the Orlando area for business or leisure. Please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Floridian Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Address: 7531 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Floridian Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is conveniently located one block east of International Drive just minutes from Universal Studios, Sea World, Walt Disney World, Pirates Dinner Adventure, and many other area attractions. We are a 129 room, interior corridor hotel, and our standard rooms feature two queen beds. We also offer our Junior Suites with a two queen sized beds separated by a kitchenette. We are located within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in Orlando and the I-Ride Trolley. Our hotel offers a Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet access. Relax in our lobby with a Complimentary Cup of Coffee available 24 hours a day. We also have an outdoor swimming pool and a lobby computer for your enjoyment. Our friendly and helpful staff will welcome you and assure that you and your family have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Floridian Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Floridian Hotel Orlando
Baymont Inn International Drive
Baymont Inn Orlando
Orlando Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Floridian Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.