We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Floridian Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
The Floridian Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7531 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were looking for a cheap hotel near Disney for my family vacation and we weren't expecting much, but we got a ton. We booked our room for less than the Days Inn or any other cheap chain and our room was clean, large, had an island in the middle with an extra sink, fridge and microwave as well as a brand new TV and sleeping area by the windows. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Ryan F:

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we cannot be happier. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review and we will share them with our team. They will be glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here at our hotel.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here. We look forward to having you return to our hotel should your travels return you to this area for business or leisure. Please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    269
    125
    31
    30
See reviews for
247
123
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We wanted a cheap hotel near International Drive as a base, and thats exactly what we got ; Whilst we might use it again I wouldnt recommend it to anyone else, it really was very basic;

When we arrived all of the windows we covered with polythene , as they were painting the exterior of the hotel ; we had booked a 'suite' ; dont be misled by this, its just a big room with a 'kitchen' island in the middle ; the refurbished rooms have new flatscreen TV's on the wall but the other furniture and bedding in the room is all still in need of a refresh;

Breakfast was free ; very basic - juice,coffee,cereal,toast and little donuts ; only a few tables but you can take the little tray from your room and carry breakfast back there, which we did a few times when there wasnt a spare table ; we even sat by the pool to eat one day;

Pool outside was nice, a few sunbeds ( all worn and broken, they could do with renewing them) - we lay out for a morning which was very relaxing - dipped a toe in the pool - very clean and well looked after

Staff were very helpful and friendly - we wanted to locate a shooting range and they printed a map for us at reception

Handy having a fridge and microwave in your room , so you dont have to eat out every night

Wifi was available but it was very slow and unreliable - that was a real disappointment

Handy for all the main road routes

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Mytakeonthings:

Thank you for taking the time comment about your recent stay at our hotel. We will share your comments with our team and your feedback is greatly appreciated as it will help to us to continue to improve our hotel. We have been making some improvements to the hotel, the painting of the building, and by the end of the April other improvements will have been made.

All of our rooms will have had the bedding replaced, microwaves, and mini-fridges and 32 inch flat screen televisions installed, an upgrade to the landscaping, our third upgrade to the wifi to include more users, new pool furniture, and the parking lot resealed. The lobby is going to be enhanced, all breakfast furniture replaced, the pool deck resurfaced and an ADA pool lift installed.

Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to have you as a guest again during your next trip to Orlando. If you ever return to this area please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Great budget hotel just off international drive. Only 2 or 3 minutes walk to all the restaurants on International Drive and only 5 mins drive to Universal and 20 mins to Disney. For the price its unbeatable and the wifi was really fast and reliable. The rooms, although basic, are quite modern in stye unlike some of the more old fashioned hotels around. I'd certainly stay there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear ACrompton:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We will share your comments with our staff to let them know how happy you were with us. Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be out pleasure to be of service the next time you need a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I've heard so many complaints about their breakfast, but I think it's really fine! There's only six tables at te room but if you wake up early you can have breakfast at the lobby every day! The hotel is being renovated and we saw new mattresses being delivered! I found a cockroach in the room, it was the only one! If I had found it again I would have traded to another hotel. There's no hairdryer, microwave, iron or fridge in the room, and I really care about this items! The carpet wasn't vacuuming most of days! The staff was not friendly but answered all our requests, and that its what matters! The pool was closed and I was charge 4,99 + taxes for Resort Fee! This is not a resort, and this tax it's not fair!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
March 5, 2013

Dear FranGabiatti:

Thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced when visiting our property. Please know your feedback had been shared with our team. The items you detailed in your review are alarming and certainly fall short of our standard. This review has been shared with our Housekeeping Department for immediate improvement.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and to renew your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is situated just one block from International Drive. Universal is a 5 minute drive. Lots of restaurants nearby, there is a Chillis and TGI Friday within a 3 minute walk. Rooms fairly basic but adequate. We had 2 brand new beds, fridge and microwave. Plenty big enough for the 3 of us. Breakfasts were filling but get up early. It's very very busy after 7.30. Staff all very helpful. The hotel exterior was being painted and the pool was closed but they arranged for us to use the pool next door. Overall a good hotel in a good location. We booked through expedia. We got the price of a flight each first, then added a car which increased the cost, then you added this hotel and it cost is just £3 each for the week unbelievably!!! The ticket seller has good prices in the lobby but some do involve looking at time shares for 90 minutes so we avoided. There is free wifi here so we booked online, then used the free printer in the lobby to print our tickets off. Air con in rooms very good too.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
February 26, 2013

Dear 1969ws:

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we cannot be happier. Thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments and we will share them with our staff. They will be glad to know that you enjoyed your vacation here at our hotel.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our team to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

We look forward to having you return to our hotel should your travels return you to this area for business or leisure. Please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parrish, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Used this hotel for quick overnight stay in Universal Orlando area this past weekend. Hotel is on a quiet side street just off International Drive and extremely convenient to Universal Studios and other attractions. I understand it used to be called Baymont Inn & Suites. The hotel and the room were very clean and comfortable, the price was very reasonable, and we also got a reduced rate on the hotel's website for "Florida Resident Rate". Yes, I would stay here again, it was clean, quiet, comfortable and friendly staff. Some nice restaurants within walking distance too. Unfortunately, we could not enjoy the complimentary breakfast on Sunday because it was extremely crowded in a tight area. So, we stopped at McDonald's instead upon checkout. We did not use the pool because the weather was chilly. Even with the breakfast issue, we would definitely stay here again. Great value. FYI, If you book through the hotel's website, there are different rates for seniors, Florida residents, Veterans, etc. for the rooms and/or suites. I found this very helpful and saved extra money this way, rather than booking through alternate websites.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
February 20, 2013:

Dear Diane Parrish:

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review about our hotel. We will share your comments with our staff to let them know how happy you were with us. Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

Even though our lobby is not that large, we are in the process of redesigning it to expand the breakfast area. We will purchase new breakfast furniture for the entire lobby so we can increase the size of the seating area for breakfast. Hopefully this will be done by the end of April or early May at the latest.

Once again, thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to have you as a guest again during your next trip to Orlando. We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be out pleasure to be of service the next time you need a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I'm typing this review from our hotel room, on the last night of a four-day stay. This is a "real time" review, while I'm still here, so everything's fresh on my mind.
My mom and I are in Orlando for visits to Epcot and The Holy Land Experience,knew that we'd be out exploring each day, and just wanted a place to sleep at night. Compared to other finds online that were much more expensive, we opted for this property. It's centrally located, within walking distance of "the world's largest McDonalds", a Perkins Restaurant, and LOTS of other restaurant options nearby. This hotel is about a mile for I-4. All said, a VERY convenient location to things, about 5 mi. from The Holy Land Experience, 10 miles from Epcot/Disney (a quick I-4 trip), around the corner from Wet & Wild amusement park.
About the hotel .......upon check-in on Thursday evening, it was discovered that my reservation was for the designated dates of Feb. 13-17....of 2014. Yikes. Thanks Hotels.com. Anyway, the front desk clerk Carmello (Shout-out!! REALLY appreciated his customer service!) called the online company and explained the date "typo" on the reservation. He rectified the situation immediately, and promptly checked us in. Interestingly, it's two days later, and we just returned two hours ago from a long day at Holy Land Experience, to discover that our key-cards wouldn't open our room door. I visited the front desk about it, and was told by a different clerk that our check-out date was TODAY. No, I explained, it's supposed to be tomorrow, and I recapped the events of Thursday's check-in scenario for her. To her credit, the very accommodating clerk didn't grill me about it, she just reprogrammed a set of cards and handed them to me. Gotta hand it to the staff at the front desk....they're problem-solvers.
About the room....it was basic, as expected. Two queens, with a cushioned window seat. We are on the first floor, which we like. The bathroom is fine. Free wifi, which I use daily with no problems. Note: the mattress is comfortable, but the pillows are hard. I enjoy large, fluffy pillows, and I luckily brought two from home. Bedding includes a fitted and top sheet, with a very thin bedspread. Don't depend on the bedspread for warmth. Suitable for us, though, no complaints. The AC digital unit is located under the window and creates a "white noise" throughout the night, which we like....but I know that others don't like the sound. Bring ear plugs if the sound bothers you. The TV has 32 channels, including HBO.
About breakfast.....we're NOT picky eaters, and we understood that b'fast would be continental. BUT, after the first morning, we opted for grabbing breakfast elsewhere. The breakfast serving/dining area was teeming with humanity at 8:00 each morning, undoubtedly the family crowd looking to eat and depart for 9:00 theme park openings. This is February, when kids are in school, so I cannot imagine what summertime at this hotel would be. It was very difficult to navigate the area with so many people trying to prepare their trays/plates. Not enough tables/chairs, so many were taking their food back to their rooms. The b'fast offering was lacking and on the cheap. Lots of sweet pastries, two varieties of dry cereal, bread for toasting. Fruit juice selections. Coffee (Mom notes that the coffee condiments are scattered about, and not in "order" for easy access). No bagels. No yogurt. The fruit selection each morning is a bowl of small oranges, and apples IF you get to b'fast early before they're snapped up. No bananas, no tangerines. Just drive through McDonald's nearby, and you'll be fine. The so-so b'fast isn't a dealbreaker.
Everything is clean, the staff is nice. I'd definitely come back here again! I just won't book it online, since I learned on site that I could have called direct and gotten the same rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review

February 20, 2013

Dear Terry DC:

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about our hotel and your stay with us. We will share your experiences with our staff members, and let them know how happy you were with their service.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our team such as Carmelo to try harder to please all of our guests that stay here at our hotel. Carmelo indeed is a wonderful team player and truly understands customer service. We are in the process of expanding the breakfast area furniture to other parts of the lobby to increase the seating area. Hopefully this will be done by the end of April or early May at the latest.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be out pleasure to be of service the next time you need a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Floridian Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Address: 7531 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Floridian Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is conveniently located one block east of International Drive just minutes from Universal Studios, Sea World, Walt Disney World, Pirates Dinner Adventure, and many other area attractions. We are a 129 room, interior corridor hotel, and our standard rooms feature two queen beds. We also offer our Junior Suites with a two queen sized beds separated by a kitchenette. We are located within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in Orlando and the I-Ride Trolley. Our hotel offers a Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet access. Relax in our lobby with a Complimentary Cup of Coffee available 24 hours a day. We also have an outdoor swimming pool and a lobby computer for your enjoyment. Our friendly and helpful staff will welcome you and assure that you and your family have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Floridian Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Floridian Hotel Orlando
Baymont Inn International Drive
Baymont Inn Orlando
Orlando Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Floridian Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.