We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Floridian Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
The Floridian Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7531 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Well worth the money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went with this hotel because of its' price and it served as an excellent base for the two weeks we recently spent there. It is very well placed, being just off International Drive and within easy reach of all the major attractions by car or bus. The rooms themselves need a little updating; the TV's for example look many years old (they still worked perfectly though) and one of the beds was a little worn out and uncomfortable. The all important air-con worked wonderfully though, and if you're simply using the hotel as a base to do the many activities in the local area, you won't have any problems. Didn't really have breakfast (I find the American idea of a breakfast somewhat unappealing!) so can't comment, but I have to say that the staff in the hotel were its' greatest asset. Firstly, the ticket/information office situated in the lobby is excellent if you want tickets booking for you or anything like that. The guy behind the counter let us know about the free shuttle bus that runs to Busch Gardens - not bad for an hour and a half ride each way - before calling them up and booking us on it. Secondly, the staff who work at the main reception desk were more than helpful. On the last day of our stay we realised an item we'd bought would be too big to take back on the plane. Having asked the staff how much it would cost to post the box home they then spent around half an hour sawing down the packaging to the correct hand-luggage size (and getting white foam absolutely everywhere), finding another box to put it in, and then proceeding to wrap and pack it all up again for us. We were hugely thankful and very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear James:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your two week holiday here with us, and we will pass your comments on to our staff. We are in the process of making some improvements to the property that will include the public areas and the guest rooms and hopefully it will be done by March.

We really appreciate when a guest takes the time to pass on compliments about our Guest Service Desk and also our Front Office Staff. We are so happy they help resolve you issue with your package, and you were able to carry it on the plane. Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    290
    151
    37
    53
See reviews for
280
142
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked this with a package through Expedia. It is a budget hotel so if you're looking for a no frills hotel, this is perfect. That being said, it would have better value if it received a little TLC. Carpets need to be replaced, furniture is well-worn and extremely outdated. Beds are simple enough but would benefit from a new set of sheets. The bathroom felt like it had received a face lift.

Service was great with quick communication from the manager before we arrived. Continental breakfast offered something for everyone and was perfectly adequate. It fills up quickly, but had no problem taking it back to our room. Location is only moments away from International Drive and Universal Studios.

As many have pointed out before, you get what you pay for. If you're looking for something to meet a cheap budget, this will suffice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear David:

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience and we will share your experience with our staff and let them know how much you enjoyed the service. We are in the process of making some improvements to the property that will include the public areas and the guest rooms and hopefully it will be done by March.

We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 weeks, from september 1st until september 22nd. We had a great stay. The breakfast was very good, you should be thankful for getting a breakfast in a two star hotel. It is basic, but good enough. The dining area is extremely small, but we didn't mind taking our breakfast to our room and eating in front of the tv. The room was cleaned every day and the reception personel was extremely friendly! They helped us any way the could. One thing we had a bit of a problem with is the distance to Disney. We didn't have a car during our vacation, so we had to use the public transport. The busses had a schedule but were hardly ever on time! Sometimes they didn't even show up! And we had to transfer 3 times to get to Disney, which took us about 1,5-2 hours to get there. This was the reason we didn't get to see the firework shows at the parks, because the last bus to orlando left around 9 p.m. or 11 p.m., when the fireworks was around 11 p.m. So remember that when you are debating on getting a car for your trip.. Overall, We had a great stay and are already looking for availability next year!!
One tiny minor detail, the day we were to check out, there was a cockroach in the bathroom. I went to the frontdesk and before I got back to my room, which was around the corner, there was already someone waiting for me to take care of the roach. They immidiately wanted to fume the room, I asked them to wait after we checked out and they did. Great service and hotel for an awesome price!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Latoya:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your three weeks in Orlando. We plan to share your comments with our staff to let them know how much you enjoyed your stay. We do apologize for the encounter you experienced on the day of check out, but I am happy to see our team responded to resolve the issue for you.

We look forward to having you return to our hotel should your travels return you to this area for business or leisure. Please contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I went with this hotel because the price and reviews were good. When I got there, the lobby is like a great room. The front desk, ticket counter, waiting area, breakfast dining area, tables/chairs, and desktop computer was all in one place. It definitely looks way better on the outside than the inside. The room was very dated, still had those big box TV set that sat on top of the closet; wasn't so sure if was going to stay up there. The carpet was old and there was a hole in it. There was no refrigerator and only one chair. Good thing there was a big cushion on the window sill so you can sit and watch TV. It was seemingly clean and didn't smell. The bed was squishy, the springs stuck out and you only get 2 whimpy pillows! When we asked for more, they didn't have any. Housekeeping isn't around 24/7 but asking for something at the front desk can be miscommunicated as not wanting your room cleaned because you asked for supplies. You can hear everything around you, so if you don't want your neighbor to hear you, keep your noise level down. The breakfast consisted of mass produced boxed donuts and muffins, cereal, coffee, tea, juice, instant oatmeal and apples. I would not recommend this place unless you have no preference and just want a place to crash.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We apologize that you had a disappointing experience here at our hotel, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We value you as a guest, and we want you to know that your concerns are our concerns.

We were very disappointed to read about your experience with the bedding in your room. We are in the process of ordering new mattresses for the rooms here at the hotel, and they should be in by the end of the year. If our staff failed to provied you extra pillows, we are sorry for that. Pillows and blankets are always purchased, as we continually replenish our supplies. We have followed up with our housekeeping team concerning the issues you mentioned to make sure that they are properly addressed.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and to renew your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Ok we basically just wanted a place to crash for a couple of nights while we went to Universal. We were on a 4 day Bahamas cruise and then were spending a couple of days at the park. Basically what I needed was a comfy bed and a good shower and ironically these were the two points that really suffered. The room was ok. It was big and roomy and the staff was very friendly. But.....the bed was soooo uncomfortable. My hips hurt and I had to keep turning over and woke up several times in the night. They desperately need new mattresses. Also the shower....I was so angry because we got up at 4am to make a 7:15 flight home and it took a good 15 minutes for the water to get warm. After that it was ok but I froze and was miserable in there for the first several minutes. That alone made me decide I will never stay here again. Yes the price was good but we are doing the same vaca next year and I will gladly pay more to have a comfortable bed and warm shower!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience here at our hotel, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We value you as a guest, and we want you to know that we will address a guest concerns.

We were very disappointed to read about your experience with the bedding in your room and hot water situation. We have followed up with our maintenance team concerning the hot water issue you mentioned so it could be properly addressed. We are in the process of ordering new mattresses for the rooms here at the hotel.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again and to renew your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The location is great, the price is fair but you can find better deals in the same area. The room is clean but very outdated. The internet is terrible, if you need work during your stay do not book this hotel. We didn't use the shuttle service. We were in a group with 9 people (3 rooms) and all rooms are OK but note that there's no refrigerator in the room. The breakfast area is very small.

I had a problem on my last day, I checked-out from the hotel but lost my flight, I returned to The Floridian since the room was already paid until next day and asked for return to my room but had my asking denied, the attendant (Carmelo, I think) said that the room was empty but I was unable to get in because the hotel system doesn't allow a guest in a dirty room, I told him that I was OK with that because I was the guest in the room, but he told me that he hasn't a room to me and could not help. I think that a front desk attendant must be more attentive with guests. I ended up finding a near by hotel with a better price and better room.

Next time I won't book the Floridian but other hotel, thanks to an inconsiderate attendant that didn't try solve my problem.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. We apologize that you had a disappointing experience here at our hotel, but we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We value you as a guest, and we want you to know that we will address a guest concerns.

We were very disappointed to read about your experience that you had encountered with our Front Office Staff. We have discussed your experience with our Front Office Manager concerning the issue you mentioned with our staff member. Your comments have enabled us to take immediate and corrective action to insure the deficiency is corrected. Your unfortunate experience will not be a reoccurring problem.

Again, please accept our sincerest apologies. We really appreciate your feedback and hope that if you are back in the Orlando area in the future, you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family of 12 travelled from Australia recently and stayed at the Floridian for 3 weeks.It was fantastic. Rooms were clean, ac worked well, room service was fantastic and the staff were friendly, polite, and helpful at all times. We all upgraded to the junior suite which was worth it to have our own fridge. The breakfast area was a little small with not a lot to choose from but not really a big deal. We would all happily stay there again next year when we go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mitky:

We are so happy you enjoyed your three week stay here at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We will share your comments with our team members to let them know how happy you were with us.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here. We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please feel free to contact us directly next year as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Floridian Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Address: 7531 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Floridian Hotel and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is conveniently located one block east of International Drive just minutes from Universal Studios, Sea World, Walt Disney World, Pirates Dinner Adventure, and many other area attractions. We are a 129 room, interior corridor hotel, and our standard rooms feature two queen beds. We also offer our Junior Suites with a two queen sized beds separated by a kitchenette. We are located within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in Orlando and the I-Ride Trolley. Our hotel offers a Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet access. Relax in our lobby with a Complimentary Cup of Coffee available 24 hours a day. We also have an outdoor swimming pool and a lobby computer for your enjoyment. Our friendly and helpful staff will welcome you and assure that you and your family have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Floridian Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Floridian Hotel Orlando
Baymont Inn International Drive
Baymont Inn Orlando
Orlando Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Floridian Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.