We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great customer service, clean, great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added The Floridian Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Floridian Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7531 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 328 hotels in Orlando
1 review
“Great hotel, great customer service, clean, great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

My family of 12 travelled from Australia recently and stayed at the Floridian for 3 weeks.It was fantastic. Rooms were clean, ac worked well, room service was fantastic and the staff were friendly, polite, and helpful at all times. We all upgraded to the junior suite which was worth it to have our own fridge. The breakfast area was a little small with not a lot to choose from but not really a big deal. We would all happily stay there again next year when we go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mitky:

We are so happy you enjoyed your three week stay here at our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We will share your comments with our team members to let them know how happy you were with us.

Positive comments such as yours only encourage our staff to try a little harder to please all of our guests that stay here. We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please feel free to contact us directly next year as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    224
    100
    24
    21
See reviews for
193
101
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oak lawn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

we stayed 10-12 to 10-15-2012. everything was fine-room,breakfast etc. emily was the lovely receptionist. she was wonderful! she knew where everything was, how far and mapped out the directions for us. it was really nice to have someone like her to go to for help. to randy the manager---- emily is definitely a valable asset to your hotel. sincerely the pinkstons

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Mr. and Mrs. Pinkstons:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We love the positive comments and we will share them with our team. Positive comments such as yours only encourage our team such as Emily to try harder to please all of our guests that stay here at our hotel.

We really appreciate when guests take the time to pass on compliments about our hotel and we really appreciate you sharing your experience with Emily with us. She indeed is a wonderful team player and truly understands customer service.

Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed at the Floridian in August this year and we really enjoyed our stay. The reception staff was excellent. We booked on Expedia.ca and the hotel gave us all of our requests. I had asked to be near the lobby which was great for breakfast as there is limited seating.
The service was very good and the hotel rooms/lobby/pool were exactly what we expected for the price. It is not a 5 star hotel but we new that going in and you really only sleep there with a dip in the pool.
They only had two transfers a day to Universal theme park and it would be nice to have more options but it was free transportation so you can't be too picky!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. We will be sure to share them with our staff as it only encourages our staff to try harder to please all of our guests that stay here at our hotel.

We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you return to our hotel should your travels return you to this area for business or leisure. We appreciate your business and again, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The floridian is a lovely establishment. I had high hopes given the speed of service received via emails with Randy the general manager prior to our visit.

Check in was quick even with it being handled by a training member of staff. Staff at reception were very helpful & friendly.

The breakfast was a bonus however you did need to get there early to get a seat. Most times we ended up taking it back to our room.

The main positives about this hotel are:

1) Location - Canada avenue is quieter than I-Drive itself but you are only a few minutes away from Idrive & trolley stops
2) Staff - All very friendly and a credit to the hotel
3) Rooms - Very spacious & cleaned daily

Negatives would be

1) Breakfast area too small
2) No laundry room on site

Would stay here again in a heartbeat if it falls within my budget in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience and we will share your experience with our team members to let them know how happy you were with your stay with us.

Due to the size of the breakfast area, we do encourage our guests to take their breakfast back to their rooms or go outside to the pool area during peak times. We are in the process of trying to add a laundry room to our hotel, and hopefully it will be open in the next 30 to 60 days.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you if you ever return to this area. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please feel free to contact us directly as it would be our pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel twice this year, most recently for 14 nights at the end of August.

I was extremely happy with the hotel during both my stays. Every area of the hotel that I visited, from reception, to the pool, to my room, was clean and well-kept and the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate for our needs.

The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, in particular Jadder on the front desk who was extremely helpful in assisting us when another guest opened their car door into our hire car and caused a huge dent. Jadder was a great help and made sure that the situation was sorted as quickly as possible and was extremely reassuring in what would otherwise have been a very stressful situation!

The hotel is in an excellent location, close enough to walk to the many bars and restaurants on International Drive as well as walking distance to Walgreens for provisions. It was also close to Universal Studios and near to the I4 for Disney. At the same time it was far enough back from the busier areas that noise was not a problem.

I have stayed in a variety of hotels in Orlando over the years and have to say that this is one of the best I have experienced. I will certainly be staying here again on my next trip to Orlando.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for the positive comments and we will share them with our staff.

We really appreciate when a guest takes the time to pass on compliments about our hotel and appreciate your kind comments about "Jadder". He indeed is a fine young man and truly gets customer service. We value having him on our team.

We truly appreciate your past business and look forward to seeing you again in the very near future. Please feel free to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nb.canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a good stay here.Much better than expected.Paid very good price from expedia.They only have one computer.Breakfast was fine.Near lots of things to do.Only shuttle to universal.Used taxi a bit.Pool was clean.Every one was very pleasant and helpful.Do not care for buying theme tickets as to get low price have time share to see never did.I would go here again if going to universal or parks near by.Had a good stay and every thing clean and nice room .4 dollar a day charge but ok.

Room Tip: Took what they gave use but there is suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at The Floridian Hotel & Suites. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience and we will share your experience with our team members to let them know how happy you were with your stay with us.

We really appreciate your feedback and hope that if you are ever back in the Orlando area, you would consider staying with us again. Please feel free to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for 11 nights at the end of August with my husband. Positives of the hotel:
- location - 2 min walk to international drive & the iTrollet stops, range of different priced restaurants, 10 min walk to Wet n Wild, just off Sand Lake which leads straight to Interstates etc.
- Friendly and helpful staff on reception & the cleaners especially
- low price for the rooms (from the UK we paid £800 each for flights and hotel for 11 nights with Expedia)
- free car parking right outside the hotel so felt secure & had to problems.
- rooms cleaned every day & towels changed
- room had two queen beds in it which were roomy and comfy (& I am a fussy sleeper)

Areas to develop:
This is not a dump as previous reviews have stated but it is what I would describe as a budget hotel. If you have paid allot to stay here you will be disappointed. As we hadnt I wasnt too disappointed - in fact it didnt seem as bad as what some reviewers had said. The hotel is slightly outdated and we did find it noisey at night but only if there was guests in the room next door (as the walls are paper thin) but we only had that for 4 of the nights. There are a few things I think they could improve that would make the hotel so much better.
1) Replace the towels as they were very small ( & I am a petite person) and they did seem quite outdated in colour - despite being cleaned every day
2) Put safety deposit boxes in the rooms
3) Clean the pool so there isnt leaves etc floating in it, buy some new chairs and tables as it didnt seem very appealing to go in or sit around despite being a nice size.
4) the free breakfast is quite small but the area where it is held is very small. This wasnt too much of a problem for us as we often ate out and when we did sample the breakfast we took it back up to our rooms.
5) some of the bedding felt slightly worn e.g. had "bobbles" on it, but in the other bed it didnt.
6) air con is VERY noisey and got too cold if left on for a long time. Luckily we took ear plugs so the sound wasnt too bad and we slept quite well.

I would stay in this hotel again if I wanted to travel to Orlando on a budget. Otherwise I would rather pay slightly more and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Turn right out of the hotel and walk towards Wet n Wild and visit Chillis restaurant - great food an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFloridianHotel, General Manager at The Floridian Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at The Floridian Hotel & Suites. Thank you for the positive comments and we will share them with our team!

We do apologize for the issue with the air conditioner; maintenance will address this concern and it will not be a reoccurring problem. Terry & linens are in the process of being ordered, as we continually replenish our supplies. We do have a limited amount of safety deposits boxes located behind the front desk for guest use on a first come first serve basis. This fall we are planning to replace all hotel bedding, the pool and breakfast area furniture as we continue to upgrade our property. We use a very reputable swimming pool company to service the swimming pool here at the hotel, and we have brought your concerns to their attention regarding the pool.

We appreciate your business and we look forward to the opportunity of being of service to you in the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Please feel free to contact me directly as it would be my pleasure to be of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Floridian Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Floridian Hotel and Suites

Address: 7531 Canada Avenue, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites International Drive)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#180 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Floridian Hotel and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property is conveniently located one block east of International Drive just minutes from Universal Studios, Sea World, Walt Disney World, Pirates Dinner Adventure, and many other area attractions. We are a 129 room, interior corridor hotel, and our standard rooms feature two queen beds. We also offer our Junior Suites with a two queen sized beds separated by a kitchenette. We are located within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in Orlando and the I-Ride Trolley. Our hotel offers a Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Complimentary Wireless High Speed Internet access. Relax in our lobby with a Complimentary Cup of Coffee available 24 hours a day. We also have an outdoor swimming pool and a lobby computer for your enjoyment. Our friendly and helpful staff will welcome you and assure that you and your family have a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Floridian Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Floridian Hotel Orlando
Baymont Inn International Drive
Baymont Inn Orlando
Orlando Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Floridian Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.