We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Royal Palms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Royal Palms to your Saves list
Marriott's Royal Palms
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8404 Vacation Way, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #91 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Carlisle, England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very good accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for a week at Royal Palms at the end of November 2012. We received an e-mail a couple of weeks before we arrived asking for any preferences we had in relation to the accommodation. They were able give us two of our preferences - top floor and near to the pool but there wasn't an upgraded 2 bedroomed apartment available. Even though it wasn't upgraded the accommodation was excellent. The only sign of needing upgraded was in the shower and bathroom which was looking a little tired. The second bedroom was quite small but our daughter and her husband said that it was perfectly adequate for them.

Royal Palms is very well situated and the staff were very friendly. We had a problem with the safe in the bedroom as it needed new batteries but this was completed within 10 minutes of phoning and reporting it.

The only negative about the resort was that the pool was supposed to be heated but it was still very cool - however the hot tubs were lovely!

This is the first time we have stayed at Royal Palms and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Request a top floor apartment to avoid the noise of people living above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    71
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
138
38
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We just stayed a week at the Marriott Royal Palms as a family of 4. Everything was fantastic, from the warm and not crowded pool and hot tubs to the friendly staff all around. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. There was a modern and very nice fitness center. I would highly recommend and would definitely stay again on a trip to Orlando,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Palms for three nights, from Thursday night through Sunday morning. There were two couples and a toddler.

Property is well maintained, and situated in the Marriott World Center complex. The room is a 2 bedroom / 2 bathroom villa, with a full size kitchen, washer and dryer, dining room, living room, and screened in porch.

I do not have any major complaints about the facilities or amenities. I used the fitness facility, and it came with some upright bikes and treadmills, along with some machines, and free weights. WIFI is included, however it is fairly slow, around 1mb up and 1mb down.

The complex is located a few miles from Disney, and is a convenient option for staying off of the WDW property.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My poor rating is based on my expectations of a Marriott Vacation Club. I am sure that the Royal Palms, once COMPLETELY renovated, will be a great spot in the Marriott system - but it certainly is not as of December 2012. Yes, this is a perfect location for visiting Disney World. And, yes, the villas are spacious and reasonably well laid out. But we've had a chance to observe the renovations "up close and personal", particularly since our first villa assignment was both adjacent to and directly below villas undergoing demolition (ever hear of renovating an entire section at a time guys?!?). I don't know the extent of the renovations but they appear to be cosmetic only as - based on the materials being staged and transported (no electricians or HVAC folks in sight). So what that likely means is that the bathroom fans will still be deafening, the TV;s will probably still switch off at will, the hot water will appear in 10 minutes, and the toilets will use mega gallons of water as they slowly flush.

Room Tip: Insist on a renovated villa in a section that has been completely renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Royal Palms from 11/29-12/3. The location is the best and even though this is an older resort, the maintenance is suburb. We stayed in a 3 bedroom that was newly renovated. We had plenty of space for 6 people and loved the large kitchen/ living room and screened in porch. The kitchen was well stocked and could not ask for more. The screened in porch overlooked the golf course and was very quiet. The pro of this being an older resort vs some of the new Marriott properties is that it is bigger. I would highly recommend this place especiallyif you are there for the parks. You are two miles away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, DE
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

So close to Disney! The resort is very nice and in a serene setting surrounded by a golf course. You forget how close it is to Interstate 4 and the area's attractions. Our unit was on the 3rd floor and featured 2 bedrooms and 2 baths with a very large kitchen. The 2nd bedroom was on the small side but the master bedroom was a good size and included a large double vanity. Most Marriott timeshares that we have stayed in do not have a kitchen this large. Disney is just minutes away. After a long day at Disney World, it was so nice to have a short drive back to the resort. I would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

My expectations were high as we've exchanged into other Marriott properties. Layout was excellent, decor was pleasant however the details in the realm of cleanliness were overlooked: caked on dirt it corners and filthy drains, minor stains on couch and carpeting. All in all a nice place. Could be better if those housekeeping items were tended. Pool is great, as was the spa. Staff was very attentive

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Royal Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Royal Palms

Address: 8404 Vacation Way, Orlando, FL 32821
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#80 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#115 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Royal Palms 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Royal Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Royal Palms Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Orlando
Marriotts Hotel Royal Palms
Marriott Orlando
Orlando Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Royal Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.