We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Cheap and Cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6603 International Drive, I-4 exit 74A, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #267 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Cheap and Cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The HoJo on international Drive is ideally located for access to all the Theme Parks and has plenty of Restaurants around (House of Pancakes is great) and it's strange being able to play Crazy Golf under floodlight across the Drive from the Hotel late at night.
The Tram passes the Hotel and is cheap to use to hop on and off. The Hotel is functional and cheap and cheerful for where you are, don't expect luxury but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurent b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking your time to provide yor feedback regarding our Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    116
    192
    105
    134
See reviews for
281
138
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Ok, so the location is excellent; there are pubs, restaurants, fast-food, Wet-n-Wild park and other places literally next door. The down side is that you hear all the noise from the parks. The lobby is small, and doesn't provide a business services (hence, they do not print out boarding passes). The front office ladies we encountered were generally polite but not friendly. The housekeeping staff are excellent! our room was cleaned daily, fresh towels, replenished toiletries etc. The room we had was a large suite room with 1 king bed. The bed was very comfortable! The tvs are the older models but had some good movie channels. We had a microwave and fridge, both worked fine. Our A/C also worked great!
The pool looked clean although we never used it. The laundry room for guests is also the same as for housekeeping. This is a tiny room with only 2 washers/2 dryers and costs $2.00 for each use! Quite expensive so pack accordingly. I agree with most customers, the breakfast was a disappointment. We expected a continental "buffet" like their advertisement states. It is cereal, toast, muffins, apples, coffee and fruit juices. The staff working in there were very friendly. No bagels, no proteins...
Due to this hotel being budget-friendly, you will have those elements of people who have no manners or consideration for others; i.e. yelling across the balconies at 2am, cranking up their t.v. past midnight, kids running up and down the balconies at 11pm-midnight, people partying loudly... Yes, we experienced all of this during our stay...
Improvements; perhaps a freshening up (face-lift), more washers/dryers, more variety in the breakfast meal and perhaps friendlier front desk staff.

Room Tip: Get a room on the other side of the pool (less noise) and upstairs so you don't hear those walki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurent b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback regarding our Hotel can help us I to do better
for you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

My stay at Howard Johnson Inn was not good at all.
There are holes in the ceiling in the front desk and is not a friendly place, the front desk crew was not friendly and this was just the begin of my terrible stay at Howard Johnson.
The bedroom smell bad, the carpet is very old and dirty, the furniture is very very old and broken, the light don't work properly and one of them gave me shock.
The tv is very old and don't work properly, it makes a strange noise.
The bathroom also were terrible, the tub and the toilet was disgusting.
The walls were cracked and with faded paint and had spot of mold.
The towels were old and the bed sheets were so old that some of they had a few patches.
I stayed there for seven nights and in three nights the wifi didn't worked.
After complain a lot with the front desk they changed my room, and the only thing better was the wifi that started work.
The only thing good thing good was the cleaning and breakfast staff that were very polite.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurent b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest
thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback
I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I recommend any one if they had a long day on vacation to stay at howard johnson the customer service we received from anthony at front desk made us feel right at home he gave me and my family a great welcome the place was great and a great location because of anthony services we are considering to move to orlando from india thank you howard johnson for having such a great staff

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurent b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking your time to provide this feedback
we like to see you again at Howard Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juncos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Howard Johnson on International Drive because it was the less priced and not too bad hotel nearest to Universal Studios. The room was comfortable but the air condition system didn't work properly. Also Housekeeping put soap only for the first night and we have to asked for it in the lobby where an almost rude guy was not so happy to gave it to us. The Hotel offers free breakfast (mostly bread and coffee) but they changed the time without announce it so we had to go to Dunkin Donuts. Howard Johnson also has free shuttle to sotme parks but it was too late in the mornings (at 10:30) so we had to call a taxi. As a matter of fact, taxi service is a difficult matter because the lobby girls called and we have to pay $12.00 but when we took the taxi in Universal Studios to the hotel taxi guy charged us only $6.00 and , as I recall, is the same distance. The good thing about the hotel is its location because there are many places to eat at short walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurent b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking your time to provide your feedback
we like to see you again for you next time please call the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Consider very carefully before booking this hotel even if you are only using it as a base to do the parks. Rooms are of a very poor standard and our air conditioning unit in our room (109) was terrible. We were also next to pool which first we thought was great until we discovered that its used until very late even though signage states it shuts at 10pm. Parking is free as is WiFi which is good but personally I'd wish we'd paid a bit extra and gone for the Ramada which is same location. Location is very good close to universal and wet and wild. If you do book I would suggest checking out the room and air con, shower etc before you start to unpack.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurent b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team for your stay
I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

bugs in the hotel- ants in the sink. a/c didnt work. tv was not in good working order. trash in parking lot was not picked up for 2 days. bath towels were very dirty front desk workers didnt care. parking lot was bad.

Room Tip: do not stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laurent b, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest
I am very surprise to read your feedback I no us Hotel are not brand new but
never been like you describe some thing make you very unhappy this is not
the way for us to unproved us Hotel
If you feel you can call me in talk about everything happen in are Hotel
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Address: 6603 International Drive, I-4 exit 74A, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#267 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International DriveImagine the fun you will have at nearby attractions when you stay at our Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive hotel near Disneyworld, Sea World and Universal Studios. Take the free scheduled shuttle to those sites from our Orlando hotel, and then return for a swim in the outdoor pool or relaxing rest on the sun deck. In your room enjoy amenities like a microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can post your photos online. If you plan on an extended stay, we offer guest laundry facilities and valet services. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our pet-friendly hotel in Orlando, and there is parking space for your RV, bus or truck. After a much-needed rest, join us each day of your stay for free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive Hotel Orlando
Orlando Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Orlando
Sand Lake Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.