We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible End of a Long Drive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6603 International Drive, I-4 exit 74A, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #264 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Richmond
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible End of a Long Drive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were twice told to pay a pet fee for our service dog who is clearly marked at all times. Not only is this offensive, it is completely illegal. The rooms were dingy, damaged and dirty. The bottom of my three year old's feet were black just from crossing the room. The bedding had holes in it, the tile was grimy and the walls had scratches and dings. The people next door tried continuously to open the lock adjoining door even after being told to stop. The first gentleman we spoke with was very nice, even though he claimed we had not paid for our reservation and we had to show him email confirmation to make him believe us. The second person was rude, condescending and incredibly difficult. A letter will be sent to headquarters about this situation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest
My name is Laurent Manager at the hotel
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team
I am certainly disapointed that your stay was not all that it could have been
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    110
    172
    94
    117
See reviews for
257
121
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The rugs and curtains where dirty and the room smelled very nasty. Also when you turn on the water on the shower it came out brown.The ice machine in the building I stay was out of order. The price is good, but the condition is horrible!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback and sorry for the inconvnience
We did have some renovations done in your building for the water,
that may be why the water was not really clear at this time but now everything is better
if you feel you would like to give us another chance please contact me at the hotel.
My name is Laurent, Manager at the hotel
thank you and have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Never again I will stay there, first of all it smelled nasty in that room nasty curtains don't even close all the way you could hear everything outside, when I turn the water on to shower and the water was brown and nasty, the pillows were extremely horrible pricing is good but is not worth staying in a nasty hotel like that this is the 2nd time I stay there and I have learn my lesson never again. NASTY HOTEL DON'T RECOMMEND IT FOR NO ONE

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest
I am certainly disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been
I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel and its team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limburgerhof
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

a clean motel in a good location with quiet rooms.Staff recommended easy and cheep
bus connection to Seaworld (Seniors only 25 ct)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking your time to provide your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed here last week (feb 2013). it was clean, located centraly and a lot of parking space.
you have to get you own breakfast, it was tea-coffee-juice-bread-jam-cheese -oatmeal-orange.
I could stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking your time to provide your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEMPHIS
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The room we stayed in was so gross that I would have rather slept in my car. We only stayed in the room for about 6 hours (2am to 8am) bc our vacation condo wasnt ready for check in until the next day but if we had've stayed here longer I would've demanded a refund. The room was filthy, the pillows were LUMPY! (Think sleeping on a cushioned egg carton). The tub was black and brown with caked on dirt. Luckily we only paid $40 for this room but that's $39 too much if you ask me. (they charged my card at midnight the day of check-in too- didnt even wait for us to get there) However, the front desk guy was SO nice! I didn't catch his name but he was so friendly and informative and super nice. Definitely won't be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel
I would like to apologize for your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This hotel really needs some fixing up, chunks missing out of some of the carpets in the hall, some of the stones with room numbers are cracked and missing. Doesn't seem as though the room was cleaned very well at all, there were tiny dead bugs all over the carpet by the air conditioner and around the bottom of the bed, the baseboards in the bathroom haven't been cleaned in a while and the floor around the toilet had hair all over it. The night club is extremely loud! If it weren't for the fact that my husband, myself and two small children had been driving for an extended period of time, coupled with there being no vacancies at any of the surrounding accommodations we would NOT have stayed here!

Room Tip: You won't find a good one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest
I would like to apologize for your stay was not why you expect
if you like to give us a another chance i be happy to give you a discount
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Address: 6603 International Drive, I-4 exit 74A, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#264 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International DriveImagine the fun you will have at nearby attractions when you stay at our Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive hotel near Disneyworld, Sea World and Universal Studios. Take the free scheduled shuttle to those sites from our Orlando hotel, and then return for a swim in the outdoor pool or relaxing rest on the sun deck. In your room enjoy amenities like a microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can post your photos online. If you plan on an extended stay, we offer guest laundry facilities and valet services. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our pet-friendly hotel in Orlando, and there is parking space for your RV, bus or truck. After a much-needed rest, join us each day of your stay for free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive Hotel Orlando
Orlando Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Orlando
Sand Lake Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.