We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6603 International Drive, I-4 exit 74A, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #259 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Im not giving this hotel ANY stars as if I did I would be exaggerating. I would rate it MINUS 5 if I could. I usually read reviews on hotels we are looking to stay in but think I will make my own judgement. This may now stop. Nearly all the reviews were poor and we thought they cant be that bad but..........
Where do I start? ....
The fact that we had to pay for a rollaway bed even after being reassure it was included in the price. If you pay for 5 people, you should get 5 beds, not 4 and have to pay extra for the 5th person to sleep, if thats the case, why charge the same as the other guests? (Admittedly this is a common occurance in Florida but still wrong)
The water was turned off every day, just about, while they work on neighbouring rooms. We were the only occupied room in our block for almost the full 2 weeks. We couldnt flush the toilet or take a shower when we wanted but we could use a different room just for the bathroom then take the key back to collect again when the next person needed it. Why we couldnt be moved into an empty room in another block where that they wasnt renovating is beyond me.
The surrounding rooms were being renovated around us hence constant banging all day long. If you wanted a quiet day in your hotel room, instead of hitting the parks, you had no chance.
The noise from the surrounding area was non stop, all night long. Dust men emptying dustbins at 4.15 one morning, a crane beeping as it reversed in an amusement arcade over the road from approx 10pm til at least 2 the following morning. You could here the cars, lorries etc going along the interstate at the bottom of the hotel grounds. The music from the reception area was very loud on an evening, from around 9pm onwards.Double glazing definitely needed.
We had to ask for enough towels for 5 people. We were given 3 and had to beg for fresh towels to be told we could only have 4. One day the ''clean'' towels were covered in long black hair, my famly have red hair or short brown hair.We had to put a sign on the bed to ask for the sheets to be changed as they only change them as and if you ask.
They left a container of some kind of cleaning fluid in our bathroom, luckily my youngest child is 14 and knows not to touch it but could have been different if I had a toddler.
Continental breakfast was included but you had to be up early to have it, it was served between 6am and 9am Monday to Friday and 6.30 to 9.30 weekends.
The free shuttle buses to Disney and Universal were available yes but the Disney one went at 8.15 and returned around 10 at night, the Universal bus went at 9.45 and returned around 9.15 at night. No other options were available. Free Wifi only worked intermittently.
Lastly our door key was deactivated twice during our stay. First we were told it was deactivated every Monday and we had to go and get it reactivated, then the following Monday we were told we must have it too near our mobile phone and that deactivates it. Funny thing was it was it my purse all the time, never anywhere different.

All in all our prefect holiday was marred by a very poor hotel. We will DEFINITELY not be going back here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest
. I read your feedback I am of abort really to afflict that you had to pass a so bad sejour
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    158
    232
    128
    155
See reviews for
345
169
39
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S� Paulo
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Situated in an excellent location. Amenities were also up to standards.
The building and rooms, however, need some refurbishing.
Services were adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for you feedback we try to fixe or change everything guest tell us again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Howard Johnson Hotel International Drive Hotel Orlando is not recommended !!!
The hotel is located on International Drive is at a motel / inn, the hotel consists of three buildings, the corridorare external, the hotel is not clean, the service is not good, old-fashioned rooms, a small swimming pool as a bathroom, front office is like a sales counter like a small store, the breakfast (If you can call it that ...) served withdisposables?!
In short, a very disappointing hotel experience at a major company such as Howard Johnson!
Look for another hotel ... !

Room Tip: Look for another hotel ... !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamir P, Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear guest we are sorry to see you not realy happy for you experience we do apologize
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive

Address: 6603 International Drive, I-4 exit 74A, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International DriveImagine the fun you will have at nearby attractions when you stay at our Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive hotel near Disneyworld, Sea World and Universal Studios. Take the free scheduled shuttle to those sites from our Orlando hotel, and then return for a swim in the outdoor pool or relaxing rest on the sun deck. In your room enjoy amenities like a microwave, refrigerator and free Wi-Fi Internet access so you can post your photos online. If you plan on an extended stay, we offer guest laundry facilities and valet services. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available at our pet-friendly hotel in Orlando, and there is parking space for your RV, bus or truck. After a much-needed rest, join us each day of your stay for free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive Hotel Orlando
Orlando Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Orlando
Sand Lake Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Orlando International Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.