We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Resorts Grand Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Resorts Grand Beach to your Saves list
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8317 Lake Bryan Beach Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821 (Formerly A Sunterra Premier Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“New Year Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for 8 nights new year 2014. Two families in a 3 bedroom suites.

Pros: Clean, comfortable, fun, large space, well equipped, nice pools, close to Disney. Comfortable beds, nice lake, some kids activities at the resort. Accomodated early check ins and late check outs.

Cons: For late arrival, parking is far. No restaurent on premises.

Marj and the 2 Mr. Wrights of the front desk provided excellent services.
Ask for building 2 top floor. Close to the pool and lake view.

Room Tip: Building 2 top floor. Also their time share is SUPER EXPENSIVE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    159
    52
    34
    15
See reviews for
326
66
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I, along with our daughter, her husband and twin 4 year old girls spent the week before Christmas at the Grand Beach Resort in Orlando. We used an RCI exchange and stayed in one of their three bedroom suites. We were in unit 122, Building 1, 2nd floor. This is a Diamond Resort and is extremely well maintained, clean and in excellent repair. Even though the resort is adjacent to major roads, it is well screened by tall vegetation and was surprisingly quiet and private.

Our suite was very spacious and consisted of two large master bedroom suites and a third bedroom with twin beds across the hall from a large bathroom, a large kitchen & dining room area, living room (with sofa bed), a large screened porch and full accessories such as stacked washer & dryer and a large pantry cabinet. Each of the master suites had a large soaking tub, large shower, vanity, toilet room and extremely comfortable king size bed. We were told that the beds and linens are especially made for Diamond Resorts. Each bedroom has a large wall mounted flat panel TV and there is a larger one in the living room that is also attached to a DVD (not Blu-Ray) player. The living room furniture is actually pretty comfortable which is also a welcome change from the majority of timeshare units we have stayed in.

The kitchen is well equipped with full size range, garbage disposal in the double sink, refrigerator with ice maker and a good assortment of cookware, glassware and utensils and all Cusinart small appliances. We cooked a lot and there was not a large skillet supplied. I asked at the desk and within 20 minutes a very nice large Calphalon skillet which matched the other cookware in the unit was delivered. There are also propane gas grills outside each building. We have stayed in quite a few timeshare resorts and this was one of the nicest suites we have had the privilege to stay in.

The resort itself has two very nice swimming pools and is located on the shore of Lake Bryan. It is located on route 535 and is extremely convenient to Disney World, Sea World, Universal Studios and shopping of every description. There are two public use computers (very slow) in the lobby and a small exercise facility. There are no restaurants on site, however, there are dozens of good places to eat within a short drive from the resort. While you can get discount tickets for area attractions at the concierge counter in the lobby, we found that the nearby WalMart had lower prices, at least for Disney World.

There is some pressure to attend a timeshare presentation and we did attend one where they were trying to sell a vacation club ownership program. Having heard many bad things about Orlando high pressure sales tactics, we were pleasantly surprised to find that this was probably the lowest pressure sales talk of the many we have attended over the years. We didn't buy and there was no problem getting our $100 incentive gift.

From reading other reviews, it seems that the facilities for those who are not timeshare owners may not be quite as nice as the one we had, but I really can't speak to that. Of course, not everything was perfect. By far the biggest complaint is that they don't have free wi-fi but instead charge an outlandish $6.95 a day for wi-fi access. A couple of lesser complaints concern the knives. All of the "sharp" knives are serrated and dull and the provided knife sharpener doesn't work well on serrated blades. While it is nice that some kitchen knives are provided, these are not of good quality. A decent chef's knife and a non-serrated paring knife would be much appreciated by those who, like us, actually use the kitchen to cook. Also, the center drawer of the large dresser in the master bedroom (Master BR-1 in photos) near the kitchen would not stay closed. We had to wedge it shut with a folded piece of paper. Despite these few issues, though, our experience at Grand Beach was generally very enjoyable. Should we decide to visit Orlando again, we would be happy to stay at the Grand Beach Resort again.

Room Tip: From what I know, the three bedroom units are all very nice, so I would try to get one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

After an extremely bad start to accommodation in Orlando checked into this hotel after scanning Boooking.com at 2am and this place was our saviour. The desk clerk could not have been more helpful even though we had no sleep the night before and were not looking our best. The apartments were such a relief. Beautiful. We were placed in large 3 bedroom apartment with full kitchen and laundry facilities. A lovely screened balcony, plenty of room and centrally located. Need a car for ease of transport but everything is close by. Will stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
It is great to read you lovely review - thank you. We hope the we will be given another chance to host you and offer you a great quality stay in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We love this place. Every time we come here the only discussion is "can we come back next year?", and that;s good. so we now are owners and we will be back next year.
The property is very family friendly with two master suites and a kids room/bath in every unit. Every unit has a full kitchen and a washer/dryer. There are gas grilles and play areas scatterered around the property. It is on a lake so you can rent fishing tackle or a kyak for not much. They have alot of stuff for the kids, like face painting and crafts; it's the kind of stuff that looks silly until you see how much the kids like it. The resort is on 535 just across 4 from Dicney Village, and there is a back road "Palm Parkway" just on the other side of I4 that can get you to the I-Drive central area or Sea World or Universal pretty quick. Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!

Room Tip: They're all good. You can askk for a pool view, or a playground view, or coming soon a mini-gol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
We will be delighted to read your compliments as every day we do our best to ensure all our guests have a great time and feel welcome here at Grand Beach. Thank you for your kind words and for your recommendation! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This property is very centrally located. Close to groceries and close to the main entrance for Disney. However, a car is still necessary to get around the area. It is tucked off the main road, so we found it to be a quiet retreat. Orlando was having a cold front the week of our stay, so we did not really get to enjoy the screen porch - although that would have been awesome, as I love to sit out side. Beds are comfortable, showers are strong, kitchen is well equipped. Even had a blender for smoothies. The sofa in the family room was rather uncomfortable. And, furniture in there really only seats about 5 people, so if you have more, you'll be using the dining table/chairs.

Lake was lovely. Pool was adequate. My husband enjoyed the gym every day. Gardens around the walkways are very well manicured. There are nice little hammocks by the water - if you have time to enjoy them.

Overall, a great experience. Staff were very accommodating to put our party right by an elevator because of mobility issues of our guests.

Room Tip: The only negative: be aware that many of their rooms face the street with limited to no view. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We are currently sitting outside in our screened in balcony enjoying wine and listening to the falling rain. This is a lovely spot filled with activities that a family would enjoy. We , as diamond owners, were upgraded to 3 bedrooms but we will return with family and full it. There is close access to everything with Disney and Costco only about 10 minutes away. The kitchen, dining and bedrooms are great.

Room Tip: Go to the Premium Outlets early in the morning and we wish there was a restaurant and a happy hour o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Our aim is to deliver memorable and exceptional vacation experience to our guests by offering them excellent service and accommodation. We are glad to read that you are enjoying yourself! Thank you for sharing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

As CEO of my own company, I understand the complexities of running a business and navigating stakeholders. As such, I was impressed by the 2012 episode of Undercover Boss with Stephen Cloobeck, CEO of Diamond Resorts. He appeared to make some key discoveries about how to better implement the principles of "the meaning of Yes." Had I been thinking about purchasing time share with Diamond, this visit has convinced me not to.

On arrival, the front desk tried to make me pay twice for the room. They also put a $200 security deposit on what should have been a $100 deposit. Noise was a HUGE issue. Building 8 (the only building with 1 bed rooms) sits at the juncture of two major roads with major traffic all night. No restaurant on premises meant driving to find food. There was also significant noise issues between rooms and floors.

There is no restaurant on the premise, which had me struggling to explain "resort" to my children. Equally as misleading is the environmental statement that Diamond Resorts is "taking steps to becoming a more environmentally conscious global coming" and there's no recycling. ???

The LAST STRAW was a phone call at 8 am from the concierge to request that we stop by on our way out for a departure "gift." When I pointed out that a "gift" would have been not waking me up, she said "this is a time share, it's our instructions."

With so many options for lodging in Orlando, I would strongly recommend elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you do venture a stay here, get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are truly and sincerely sorry that your stay here did not meet your expectations. We always strive to deliver exceptional hospitality and offer quality accommodations to each guest that stays with us. It was very concerning to read that your check in experience, noise outside your unit, and contact made by our concierge had a negative impact towards your stay. Although we do not have a restaurant on property, many guests who have stayed with us have found our convenient location provides them with easy access to restaurants and cuisine choices that will not disappoint. A listing of these choices can be found on our website. The real problem will be choosing where to dine. If you would like to give us another chance to make a better impression on you in future; our friendly staffs eagerly awaits to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Resorts Grand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Resorts Grand Beach

Address: 8317 Lake Bryan Beach Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821 (Formerly A Sunterra Premier Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Resorts Grand Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diamond Resorts Grand Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach Hotel Orlando
Embassy Suites Orlando
Diamond Hotel Orlando
Grand Beach Orlando
Grand Beach Resort Orlando
Embassy Grand Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.