We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very large apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Resorts Grand Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Diamond Resorts Grand Beach to your Saves list
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8317 Lake Bryan Beach Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821 (Formerly A Sunterra Premier Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
uk
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very large apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

6 of us stayed in a 3 bed / 3 bath, plenty of room with a lovely view of the lake. From our screened balcony we could see Epcot in the distance and were also able to see the fireworks in the evening. The apartment had sufficient utensils and washer dryer and a mid week change of sheets/towels. We heard no noise from other apartments just occasional noise from the hallway.

We paid for a weeks wifi, how strange that you have to pay, we have stayed in other Diamond resorts and it is free. Initially the wifi reception was terrible, we called front desk and they sent maintenance up immediately, the problem was the router in the next door apartment needed rebooting, after this was done our access was perfect.

The staff were very helpful and friendly, maintenance issues were dealt with very quickly and the grounds were well kept. We received daily phone messages detailing the resort activities.

This is a very good location with a large Walmart very close by, you do need a car but plenty of parking at the resort.

Our only complaint was the seating in the lounge area and on the balcony, 5 comfy chairs in the lounge and 4 balcony chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    159
    52
    34
    15
See reviews for
326
66
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were very impressed with Grand Beach. The room was well appointed and updated. The kitchen was complete with silverware and dishes. Housekeeping, maintenance and staff were friendly and greeted us when passing by. Marque at the Front Desk was very knowledgeable and extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds are well maintained and beautiful. Even with the cool evenings the pools and hot tub felt great. We stayed here two years ago and could see an improvement since then.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on an upper floor facing the lake. This eliminates parking lot lights and minor auto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

we have been owners here for more than 10 years. This property is well past its prime and the ownership has not fulfilled the promises about improvements that were going to be made. Other than furniture, nothing has changed. There are no amenities like a restaurant, bar, etc on site. The main pool is small and the 2nd pool is away from the buildings. Not even free internet in the rooms. The last time we stayed, the entire shower door fell off and landed on my daughter. All I received was a half hearted sorry. It seems that all they want is for owners to buy more weeks and non owners to buy weeks. I would sell my week, but have not been able to find a buyer. I wish I would have bought at the Marriott or Sheraton. Not a great value for what I pay every year. Look elsewhere before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
diamondresorts, Owner at Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We’re really sorry to read your concerns about the Grand Beach Resort. The resort is currently undergoing an extensive program of refurbishment, and we have recently made improvements to the pools, Clubhouse, business center and children’s playground, as well as adding propane grills throughout the property. We have further refurbishments and additions planned for 2013 as well, including the creation of an 18-hole miniature golf course.

As Grand Beach is primarily a vacation ownership property, we’re unfortunately not currently able to offer a free Wi-Fi service. Most businesses can incorporate the cost of Wi-Fi provision into their pricing and so appear to provide a free service, but in order to do the same within a timeshare resort, these costs would have to be incorporated by increasing maintenance fees and rental costs accordingly, which would also charge those owners, members and guests who didn’t use the internet. We therefore provide Wi-Fi separately through AT&T as an option to our guests who select to use it.

All our accommodations should be maintained to a high standard, and we’re extremely concerned to read of your experience with the shower door during your last stay – please be assured that this has been brought to the attention of the resort’s management team. We hold our staff to an extremely high standard of customer service, and we’re sorry that you had cause for complaint in this regard.

We really regret that you’re dissatisfied with your ownership at the Grand Beach Resort and will be happy to discuss your concerns with you if you contact us directly. We hope that you’ll appreciate the changes that we’ve made to Grand Beach, though, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
El Dorado Hills, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We (3 of us) stayed in a 3 bedroom unit. It's my mother-in-law's timeshare. She was only asked once to attend a presentation. Arriving at 8 am, we were pleasantly surprised that we were able to get into our room. Stayed on the 2nd floor in Building 1. The only complaint would be the noise above us. We could constantly hear people dragging kitchen table chairs across the tile floor, or maybe rolling luggage? The unit had a washer & dryer which was very helpful. We never used any of the amenities since we were at Disney World the entire time. WalMart was just down the street for groceries. Unit was cleaned twice in our 8 nights there. Lots of laundry detergent, dish soap, paper towels, toilet paper. Bring your own shampoo & shower gel since they provide a tiny one until they pop in to clean. We were always able to find a parking spot near our unit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We actually stayed as members but that is a different story.. Grand beach is set in apartments and we had a two bed overlooking the lake. Brilliant for family use as had full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer. The rooms were big and well furnished. We also had a screened terrace so no flies there! Situated near the Disney parks, location was great but a car is needed as there's is nothing close by re shops and restaurants, everything is a drive albeit a few minutes. Leisure facilities are good, two pool complexes, both heated and pedalloes etc available.
Down side.... Internet only free at reception on timed machines and otherewise not cheap. Room wasn't cleaned in two weeks other than one sheet and towel change. Desperately needed a Hoover and did ask but none appeared. Son had a one bedroom facing car park and that didn't have washing machine etc or a terrace and was quite small and dark.
We still had a great time there and everyone was very helpful and friendly even if the Hoover didn't appear!

Room Tip: Request lake view. Only go if you have a hire car. Initially finding it can be tricky so have good d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haren, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

As our last family reunion was 14 years ago, we wanted this one to be special, and it really was! Siblings coming from Australia, N-Ireland and we as Diamond-members from the Netherlands we wanted to visit the brother (-in law) and family in Ocala. We spent the weekend in Ocala, and the remainder of the week in Grand Beach. And it was grand! We are used to the luxury of Diamond Resorts, but our family not, and they were truly very impressed. We stayed in a three bedroom appartment with view of the lake, full kitchen, three bathrooms, washer/dryer, beautiful balcony with flyscreens. The only negative point would be the lack of comfy chairs in the lounge. Enough for 4 adults, but we were 6! Same goes for the balcony furniture: 4 chairs for a 3 bedroom unit. Personnel was amazing, very friendly, cheerful, lovely sense of humour, and very helpful. Same goes for the sales people, we never felt pressured - neither did our family members who are not Diamond members. Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a three bedroom suite through our timeshare exchange and it was beautiful. Clean, bright rooms with a beautiful balcony. Check in was quick and the staff were very helpful. Loved the atmosphere, nice pools and hot tubs and beach area. Location is on a very quiet street, so no crowded road to get to the resort, plus only a few miles from Disney. Only drawback is finding the turn in off of 535 is a bit tricky at night. Very dark and no stoplight or sign.

Amenities were nice. There is a small, overpriced shop for odds and ends on site if you're in a pinch, but no restaurant. Coffee and tea are available at all times in the lobby. Pool towels are available for guests at the desk so you don't have to lug your own back and forth from your room. Lots of activities available throughout the week, ranging from ice cream socials to aqua zumba at the pool.

Beds were clean and comfortable. Flat screen tvs with dvd players in every room. Had all the amenities needed such as dishwashing liquid, laundry detergent, etc. Front desk also gives out more if you need it without any extra charge.

If you want to cook, there is a Walmart Super Center and Publix grocery store only about a mile down the road so you can pick up supplies.

Only real drawback is that parking is at a premium. After a day at the parks, you may not be able to find a spot in the lots. We asked at the desk and they told us we could park at the check-in spots with no problem. That solved that issue for us.

I would definitely recommend this resort for anyone going to Disney.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room with a view when you book. View of the lake is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Resorts Grand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Resorts Grand Beach

Address: 8317 Lake Bryan Beach Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32821 (Formerly A Sunterra Premier Resort)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond Resorts Grand Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Diamond Resorts Grand Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Resorts Grand Beach Hotel Orlando
Embassy Suites Orlando
Diamond Hotel Orlando
Grand Beach Orlando
Grand Beach Resort Orlando
Embassy Grand Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Resorts Grand Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.