We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel for the price anywhere in Orlando” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8978 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
RATES FROM $129/NIGHT!
Ranked #158 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
FRESTER
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel for the price anywhere in Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

I will make this brief because there are plenty of reviews on here for you look through.We stayed here in December 09 for three weeks and could not fault the hotel in anyway..
The free transport to both Disney and Universal was great as is the free breakfast and free evening snacks and cocktails.
All the staff were great at there respective jobs and very friendly and helpfull but there were two who stood out from the crowd,Robby who sold the theme park tickets was very helpfull even though we didn't need to buy any tickets during our stay.He was happy to chat and give us some handy tips for each day.Robby is so good at his job we feel he is going to waste selling tickets and could be a huge asset to the hotel in another roll.The other stand out member of staff was Dee who was at the front door parking cars and greeting people,You could't ask for a better welcome to the hotel or a more friendly guy.My kids thought he was great always having a bit of fun with them when we were on our way out to the parks etc.He reminded us of Eddie Murphy!Great guy!
The only thing I would say is bewere the hotel taxi service very expensive compered to the yellow cabs even putting extra money on the price once when we were on the way out of the car park.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    282
    127
    67
    43
See reviews for
393
182
27
200
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newfoundland
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Our family, myself, my husband and our two teenaged sons recently spent four nights at the Embassy Suites on International Drive in Orlando. The hotel, with the help of the trusty GPS is very easy to find, and the location is great. Near many resturants, attractions and shopping. Upon entering the lobby the first thing that hits you is the smell. While not disgusting, it is a rather strong musty/moldy smell. Check in was very efficient, and the requested rolling bed was delivered to our suite in a timely fashion.
The suite itself is well appointed with a small to average size living area consisting of a double size pull out couch, a flat screen t.v. and a small kitchen area. No stove, but a bar fridge, a microwave and a sink. The bedroom was roomy with its own sink and vanity area. Lots of storage space for clothing. The bathroom was a big disappointment. It is old and in dyer need of updating. My tall sons commented that the shower was made for little people. I am 5' 6" and even I found that I had to bend over to wash my hair. The tiling was cracked and broken in several places.
The breakfast in the morning is very good. Made to order eggs, and a large variety of other breakfast foods and beverages. During the evening managers reception drinks and snacks are free.
Overall, we all thought that this hotel was a great value and we throroughly enjoyed our stay. It is old and in need of updating but if you are looking for great value this is the hotel for you!

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

We booked into this hotel after checking out of another nearby in order to escape the hordes of football shirt wearing British holidaymakers, who seem to have completely taken over International Drive these days. Compared to where we'd been, it was like paradise.
I was impressed with the whole layout of the place and the suites themselves were fantastic, beautifully clean and very spacious. Ideal for adults with families and who want a bit of privacy. There are two swimming pools, one of which is indoor, and at the time that we were there, both were very quiet. Not a British newspaper or Premier League shirt to be seen. What I found incredible, considering the standard of the place and the facilities, were the rates. Very reasonable indeed. I have paid far more for hotels of a much lesser standard. The breakfasts were very good and inexpensive with a wide variety of fruit, cereals etc and omelettes are made to order while you wait. Meals in the retaurant were very good too. Pleasant and helpful staff and good service all round. The only downside was the noise from outside. We had a room that faced onto I 4 and the traffic noise was bad, even during the night. Also, from a safety point of view, children do need to be supervisd at all times on the higher floors. The balconies from which the rooms are accessed are open plan and the safety railings are only relatively low. From the higher floors, there is a very considerable drop. Other than that, a beautifully peaceful place to find refuge and remember that you have actually travelled over four thousand miles to the United States.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwyn, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I hate to give away my biggest secret in Orlando, but its so hard not to smile after a stay at the Embassy Suites International Drive Orlando. Perfect location, perfect service, and perfert accomodates makes this a trifecta of happiness!

BESIDES getting the Embassy Suites standard of 2-room suites, cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning, lucious indoor atrium, and 2-hour happy-hour at night, this specific Embassy goes above an beyond to make sure that business and family travelers are well taken care of.

While Disney and Unviersal may give all the excitement during the day, this is a fun place to stay were you can feel right at home. The service and staff are supreme and we couldn't find anything wrong. Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

I traveled with my DH for the weekend part of his business trip. We've stayed in Embassy Suites in different areas over the years. This hotel is pretty standard Embassy Suites fare. Be aware that even though it's called "Convention Center" it's over a mile away.

Check-in was easy and friendly. Lobby was attractive and welcoming. Our room was clean and not too bad for the wear. The only thing that needed attention is the bathroom. Paint on door is peeling and overall is looking worn. If you're a light sleeper, the rooms along I-4 are noisy. The traffic noise comes through loud and clear - all night long! I'm sure that if I would have asked to be moved they would have moved us. We were with 2 other couples and just decided to stay where we were.

Internet in the room is $9.95 per 24 hours but in the business center it is free if you only need it occasionally.

Didn't take advantage of the "Manager's Reception". Our past experiences with these have not been the best so we decided not to even consider it.

Breakfast is fair at best. This is the worst breakfast buffet at an ES that we've ever experienced. Food was cold and blah with not a lot of choices. Definitely not impressed.

Only had drinks in the restaurants - which was fine - so can't comment on the food.

Pool was small but nice. There is a separate kiddie pool and a hot tub. They pipe in music all day which was nice to just sit and relax with.

Not a lot of kids (for Orlando that's something) which was nice since we were enjoying some time away. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

staff friendly especially the breakfast staff and doormen!!!! rooms were spotlessly cean at all times. laundry service very expensive 165 dollars for 2 small bags of laundry. drinks reception in the evening was good. this hotel wouldnt be the best suited for children as most guests seemed to be of an older age and i got the impression kids were getting in the way!!! overall a good location and no major negative issues. Charlene in drinks reception was kind of rude at times we tried to make conversation a few times but she was kind of stand offish! maybe she doesnt like the irish although when we gave her a tip she was nice as pie. also when you say thanks to her she says ah ha!! petty i know but seemed kind of mannerless!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I stayed in this hotel in January 2010.. It was nice and clean.. we arrived at the hotel after a 12 hour drive and found that they gave us a wrong room with double beds when we reserved a king size bed it was late and we were tired and they said there was no other room available that night without even an apology for their mistake instead the reception staff talked with an attitude as if it was not their problem.. it was frustrating having to stay in the wrong room and having to move our stuff again the next day.. and on top of that the internet is 10 dollars a day for each laptop .. which is too much considering some hotels offer internet for free.. I would not go there again..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J-Parkinson, General Manager at Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2010
Hello and thank you for your candid comments. It's not typical that I get a negative comment on our customer service, but I can understand your frustration with that situation. Our team normally does a very good job of picking up the ball when an error occurs and exceeding expectations with a resolution. I'm very sorry this did not happen on your trip. Nevertheless, I have already shared this with our Front Office Team to ensure we will be better equipped to handle this situation in the future! I've send you a message via the TripAdvisor response function in the hopes we can dialog this further.

Sincerely,

John L. Parkinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center

Address: 8978 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#116 Family Hotel in Orlando
#158 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Otel, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Orlando
Embassy Suites Orlando
Orlando Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Orlando - International Drive / Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.