We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cautionary tale” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8629 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #129 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cautionary tale”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and I stayed at the Castle at the beginning of April 2015, on arrival at 10.30 pm we were informed that there was no record of our booking despite the documents we held to prove the contrary.
This was not a problem and the staff said they would find us a room and call the UK in the morning to confirm the booking. In the meantime however they would require my credit card but would not take any money on the card for the night, I was happy to do this and we were show our room.
The hotel itself is very nice with a contemporary decor which sets it apart from other hotels on I Drive, the facilities are fine and the rooms more than adequate for a two week stay with two kids.The housekeeping however was simply not up to scratch no toilet roll, we had to ask for beds to be changed and were give the sheets ourselves.
I spoke to the staff the next day and was assured that the UK had been contacted and that the problem was resolved, so I went about my holiday.
During our stay due to the issues with the housekeeping a $50 credit was placed on our account. On checking out day a bill showing this credit AND NOTHING ELSE was placed under our room door, we understood the credit was an internal hotel credit that was not redeemable.
We checked out flew home etc etc.
Two weeks later my credit card bill arrived ....... with $1451.82 taken on my card by the Castle Hotel on the day I checked out.
I assumed that there had been some oversight and contacted my travel agent, he made inquiries and informed me that NO CALL TO THE UK HAD BEEN MADE, he was very adamant about this.
So we were faced with the fact the funds had been taken without any bill provided or permission asked on the day we left, the UK end were adamant they were not called at any time and I had paid twice!!
I make no claims or accusations but I certainly have my own opinion and just state the facts as they stand, taking funds without permission or providing a bill/invoice is certainly not the way I expect a company to behave and my credit card company are certainly of the same opinion. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND this hotel for this reason, and would be interested in a explanation of this.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    92
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
70
70
6
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I love the Castle hotel! This was our 9th stay at this hotel and we always have a fantastic visit. We find the decor modern and unique, which is one of the reasons we keep coming back again and again. The customer service is always outstanding --- friendly front desk staff, a smooth check-in and check-out transaction. Joe, the doorman, provided excellent suggestions on what to see and do in the area. The pool is beautiful and includes a sea-life waterfalls in the middle of the pool. There are plenty of soft fluffy towels available at the pool, so you never have to use the towels from your room. The two plush cabanas around the pool are pure heaven --- just great for relaxing! There are several drink specials every Sunday by the pool, which are very reasonably priced and yummy. The hotel has a great location and is within walking distance of plenty of restaurants and the Pointe Orlando mall. The hotel has a spa and other nice features. We love the rooms at this hotel because the castle theme is carried out even in the room itself. This hotel has the most comfortable beds of all of the hotels in Orlando. We drifted off to sleep the minute we hit the pillows. Our room was super clean with a nice assortment of toiletries. We enjoyed our stay so much that we already booked another reservation for the month of June, July, August, September and October! We cannot wait to come back!

Room Tip: We always request a room on the 7th or higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel is every little girls dream . We loved the fresh baked cookies in a morning . The rooms are lovely my little girl felt like a real princess . The only thing negative is the pool it's a bit small . But overall fantastic hotel and would definitely go back .

Room Tip: High floor have a good view of international drive
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this property earlier this month. Public areas were really unique - not your average hotel. Lots of fun decorative pieces. Location was excellent; plenty of nearby restaurants and easy driving access to theme parks, but still quiet. Supposedly you can see the Universal fireworks from the rooftop (we were not aware of this until someone asked while we were checking out). We really got no explanation of amenities when we checked in, nor were we even alerted to the fact that they had a daily newsletter at the front desk. Only ate breakfast there as it was included in our rate; portions on the small side for the price, but the food was quite good. The rooms were not up to par: peeling paint in bathroom, non-existent bathroom ventilation, no spare roll of toilet paper, toiletries not replenished during stay, no artwork on the walls. And $15 a day for parking?????

Would I stay here again? Maybe - if they up their game. There is so much potential for this property to be a luxury boutique hotel!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Good Afternoon,

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Castle Hotel. It is certainly regretful that you were not completely satisfied with your stay but we appreciate the feedback you have provided. The satisfaction of our guest is always our highest priority and any information we can receive from our guests that will help us improve our services is always welcomed. If you have a chance I would certainly appreciate any additional information in regards to the challenges that you stated you experienced.

If you have a moment please feel free to contact me back directly.

Thank you,

Jesse Landin
Front Office Manager
Castle Hotel
D: 407-996-3312
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights while working an event at the convention center. The check-in was smooth and the people were friendly and helpful. Uniique decor in the lobby and rooms. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Excellent hot tub to relax in after a long days at OCCC. The location is fabulous as it is close to all of the major activities in I-Drive.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice Hotel on the strip of international drive.

Close to all the restaurants and nightlife international drive has to offer.

Clean rooms and nice staff.

Breakfast was a little challenging in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesse L, Front Office Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Good Afternoon,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Castle Hotel. We certainly do appreciate the feedback that you have provided as the satisfaction of our guest is always our highest priority. If you have a chance I would certainly appreciate any additional information in regards to the challenges that you stated you experienced. Any additional information that our guests can give us to help us improve our service will always be welcome.

If you have a moment please feel free to contact me back directly.

Thank you,



Jesse Landin
Front Office Manager
Castle Hotel
D: 407-996-3312
Orlando, FL 32819
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night and had a good first impression upon entering the lobby. The staff we encountered were all friendly and greeted us warmly. Our room was very clean and nicely appointed. The best part of this hotel was the location - my husband and I didn't have to drive anywhere for dinner. A diverse range of restaurants were all within walking distance along International Drive. After dinner, we even walked to the movie theater nearby, and the same area had a few high-end designer shops. By the time we walked back to the hotel, we noticed the parking lot was suddenly full from guests returning from their day adventures. We were glad we didn't have to drive anywhere for the evening and have to deal with finding a parking spot. I saw another review that mentioned a parking debacle, so beware: the parking lot can be empty during the day but packed in the evening when all the guests are returning for the night.

We didn't get a chance to use the pool but the pool area looked nice -- at least from what I could see from the window in our room.

We had Easter brunch the next morning, which was held in the ballroom. The selection was a bit disappointing for $20 a person, so that's the only reason why I took off one star.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Me184, Guest Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Castle Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you had a positive stay with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy all that International Drive has to offer. We certainly hope that Castle will be your first choice when you visit Orlando, and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 8629 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#36 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#83 Business Hotel in Orlando
#134 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newest work of art from The Kessler Collection. An enriching experience awaits at the Castle Hotel, located in the heart of Orlando’s attractions. Leisure guests, business travelers, and those seeking a distinctive venue for a wedding or social event will find a sophisticated and contemporary retreat in the only Autograph Collection Hotel on International Drive. The Four-Diamond Castle Hotel immerses guests in art, music, cuisine and culture within its Bavarian-inspired walls, providing an oasis to travelers with uncommon taste. Evoking an air of creativity and artistry, the Castle Hotel offers elegant accommodations and amenities, inspired meeting space, gourmet cuisine and intuitive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando - The Castle Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.