We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy Tale Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8629 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #115 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fairy Tale Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My stay at Castle Hotel was an amazing experience that was a pleasure to my senses. When I first arrived I felt like I was a kid again walking into a Cinderella movie. The hotel first wowed me from the true white Castle look on the outside. However, my breath was taken away from the themed purple decor throughout the lobby and in the guest rooms. My favorite part of my stay was the smell of their passion fruit candle that greets you as soon as you walk in the lobby and as you go to your room. The hotel was quiet, the rooms carry the castle/Cinderella theme and the beds are very comfortable. Overall, I will recommend this hotel if you plan to visit Orlando.

The only negative I would point out is that they charge $15 to park in the open parking lot and it was hard to find parking on Saturday night, but I guess that is what valet is for. Other than that this is a 5 star hotel all the way!

Room Tip: Weekend parking is limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for your great review! We’re delighted that we immersed your senses in our art and culture. We hope you will return when your travels bring you to Orlando in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    64
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
44
48
3
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Let me preface by saying, we are from Orlando and stay in a local hotel without our kids for our anniversary every year for the last 19 years, so we've stayed at many including Gaylord Palms, Portofino, and Grand Bohemian. We love that when we stay at these places, they make us feel pampered and special.

Now on to our stay at the Castle Hotel. We checked in at 1:30 and headed to our room on the second floor. The rooms are small, it used to be a Holiday inn. The first thing we encountered was hair on the sheets, not one or two, the sheets were covered in hairs, gross!! The housekeeping manager did come quickly and verify. He sent up someone to change the sheets immediately. That was fine. Meanwhile we noticed it was cold, so we turned up the thermostat, turned it up again and again. It was at 80 and cold air was still blowing. We called again and they sent the maintenance engineer to look at it. He said he needed to put it back down to 74, then sit there 30-45 min to see if it warms up. We explained we already did that, but he insisted. It was 60 degrees in our room, 45 minutes later we called down again. This time my husband said, "look, should we go find another hotel, we've been trying to get ready for dinner for hours as it was now 5 o'clock." The receptionist said she would move us to another room. So we packed our things and moved. The room was much warmer. The bathtub was dirty, it had hair in it and some soap or suds still dried on the tiles. I really couldn't be bothered, I washed it myself.

We are people who complain. We've never had to move rooms before. We aren't picky people. I felt strange having to continue calling. Oh, that's because the first time I had to call, was not because of the hairs on the bed, it was the TV not working. It displayed a message that said call the front desk, when I did, the receptionist said, "oh yeah, we've been having trouble with the on demand movies, sorry you won't be able to watch movies in your room."

In the end, the bed and pillows were uncomfortable and I woke with a sore neck:/

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Feedback like yours allows us to continue to improve with the goal of providing a flawless guest experience for each person that comes through our doors. I apologize that the comfort level of the rooms wasn't up to your standards. I hope in the future you’ll revisit the hotel and we’ll be able to provide a more comfortable stay for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for something special in Orlando, at a reasonable price this is the place to stay.

I have been coming to Orlando for a couple decades. The Castle was recommended to me. Very friendly, very clean and great food and drink.

A keeper.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you’ll revisit the Castle Hotel the next time your travels bring you to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The hotel is beautiful. But the hotel is hard to find. It's address is I-drive, but it's really off Austrian Row. It was hard to find considering we were looking for the wrong address. The hotel room was spacious with a work desk and ample lighting, which a lot of hotel rooms are missing. However, the rooms on the second floor are near the fitness center, and above the restaurant on the first floor. The room had the odors of the food from below. Breakfast was not included, but you can pay for breakfast.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I wanted to thank you for your review. While I’m glad you enjoyed your stay I apologize for the issue you experienced. We hope you’ll return as we strive to ensure each guest has a flawless stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
904 reviews 904 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 210 cities Reviews in 210 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The hotel itself was very pretty. Cool decor and nicely appointed rooms. Main lobby area is very small with only the check in area and a nice little bar. They do offer food in the bar but it's more of a lounge. Beds are nice and ac worked well.
Misses. The only vending machine is on 9, bar closed at 11pm, room service was soon to follow. Pool area is small with no services nor an easy way to get in and out of the bar area. At it's price point it's great for a romantic weekend but the kids will lose interest quickly. Compared to other autograph hotels we have stayed at this hotel falls short.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I apologize for the shortcomings you experienced. It is our goal to provide an extraordinary product and services. Your feedback will allow us to improve our services and I hope you will give us another chance to be our guests again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 2 of my girlfriends for a birthday weekend. We paid close to $200 for a room, which is pricey in this area filled with theme park hotels. This hotel was recently remodeled. The remodel was amazing, and reminded all of us of the Cosmopolitan in Las Vegas but at a smaller level. The location is great in relation to Universal, you can literally just take Universal Blvd straight down and arrive at the parking garage in less than 5 minutes. Check in was ok, the desk receptionist wasn't overly friendly but it wasn't a big deal. We had a Tower guest room and found it to be well equipped and very clean, but the windows were a little awkward and small in this room. The beds were very very very comfortable and the hotel was very quiet at night. The problem we had is that one of my girlfriends, for some reason, likes to sleep with a stuffed animal. The next morning, it got bunched up with the extensive bedding and she forgot it. Literally a couple of hours after check out, she called the hotel to alert them that she left her stuffed animal and they COULDN'T find our reservation anywhere under my name or our room number. How does that happen? She called back after double checking the reservation name with me and they said that they had found our reservation and were looking for her item but it wasn't located yet and they would call her back after checking with housekeeping. She called repeatedly for updates and never received a call back, and it wasn't until her fiance called and left a message that HE received a call back. After several messages left over several days with the front desk and NO CALLS back they have given up hope. This hotels service does NOT meet Marriott's or Kessler's hotel service policies. Make sure you don't forget anything if you stay at this hotel or consider it lost forever.

Room Tip: Tower rooms have small windows, the other rooms don't appear to have the same windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review your previous stay. I apologize that we were unable to locate the missing item. I understand your concern and I can assure we take these matters very seriously. We will contact you directly in the event that we have new information for you. Please contact me directly if you have any other questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The castle was great and really only had a couple of points that could have been improved.

Good points:
Staff lovely and polite
Great shuttle service
Beautiful Gardens
Great roof terrace
Comfortable rooms - huge beds which you need after the walking of the theme parks
Arcade was cute and great for kids
Nice size pool could be bigger but with the waterparks do you really need a massive swimming pool?!
Free ice tea - exactly what is needed after a long theme park day out!!
The BEST restaurant attached to it out the back Cafe TuTu Tango - returned to Florida again for this restaurant!!!
Free Parking
Great Location middle of I drive and close to Universal and not far from Disney

Slight disappointments:
Bar was a bit rubbish small and shut early
No on site restaurant to get food late or at set times so after long days if you fancied something on site you will meet the vending machine on many occasion!!
Breakfast expensive for what it is $20 not great

Defo would stay again!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Me184, General Manager at Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay. I’m glad you enjoyed the roof top terrace and our staff was memorable. We have since completed our multi-million dollar renovation and hope you visit the Castle Hotel for your next trip to Orlando.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection

Address: 8629 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#52 Business Hotel in Orlando
#122 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#159 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the newest work of art from The Kessler Collection. An enriching experience awaits at the Castle Hotel, located in the heart of Orlando’s attractions. Leisure guests, business travelers, and those seeking a distinctive venue for a wedding or social event will find a sophisticated and contemporary retreat in the only Autograph Collection Hotel on International Drive. The Four-Diamond Castle Hotel immerses guests in art, music, cuisine and culture within its Bavarian-inspired walls, providing an oasis to travelers with uncommon taste. Evoking an air of creativity and artistry, the Castle Hotel offers elegant accommodations and amenities, inspired meeting space, gourmet cuisine and intuitive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando - The Castle Hotel Orlando
Doubletree Orlando
Orlando Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Hotel, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.